We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly good for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stagecoach Hotel and Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Stagecoach Hotel and Casino to your Saves list
Stagecoach Hotel and Casino
Highway 95, Beatty, NV 89003   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Mojave, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“surprisingly good for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

It's not the fanciest place, it's the only place I found while passing through Beatty on my way to Death Valley, but it was affordable and comfortable.
After a full day of exploring and hiking it was a welcome sight to get a shower and a meal. There is a small restaurant and gambling casino on the premises.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    69
    43
    27
    14
See reviews for
27
70
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The showers do not work very well. Two other friends were in the same hotel and had the same problems. One friend had to get maintenance to come and get the temperature acceptable. It seem the maintenance guy doesn't like cold showers, so he sets the temperature to SCALDING. The only problem is that now you only choices are scalding or freezing. If you do finally get a temperature that doesn't kill you, it still gets warm, cold, warm, cold as you are showering. My guess is from all of the other guests trying to find an acceptable temperature.

The shower also had chipped surfaces, cracked tiles, and was not cleaned from the previous guest. Their used soap was still in there.

And speaking of water temperatures, the spa was maybe 78 degrees. I was really looking forward to it after a long dirt bike ride through Death Valley, but in cool weather, 78 is just plain cold to me for a spa. I passed.

Now for the 'Diner'. It is a Denny's. The best steaks in town according to the check-in personnel. I had dinner and breakfast there. And it was, well, Denny's.

Would I stay here again? From what I've heard of Beatty, I guess this is the best choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are clean. Newer rooms cost more and are HUGE. But these huge rooms are practically empty - bed, tv, one desk, one straightbacked chair. That's it. No decor. White walls and ceiling. WiFi didn't work all night but worked fine in the morning. Front desk person said that's how internet is in Beatty - it frequently goes out and affects the whole town. Bottom line- no matter where you stay don't count on the WiFi. Front desk staff were ok - not rude. Went to hot tub but it was not heated, at least not much.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templepatrick, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed here on a trip to death valley.
It is a small casino hotel and is great for staying for a night before or after visiting Death Valley. The rooms are basic but clean enough. The cafe is great for dinner and breakfast.
The casino has lots of slots but none of our party won anything despite putting quite a lot of dollars through them.
There is a few blackjack tables with a $2 minimum and we had a good nights craic with the friendly dealers.
The casino is also like an old peoples home with OAPs carrying their oxygen bottles around as they feed the slots.
We also found it starnge that a casino bar did not serve beer on tap - just bottles ??

All in all, its an ok place with reasonably friendly staff

Room Tip: Death Valley Candy and Nut is worth a visit too (next door)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

It's not a five star hotel. However given the choices in the area we could not complain. It was clean and there is a pool. Dinner is a Denny's. You have to walk through a cheesy casino to get to the Dennys. There is also a candy shop but we did not visit it. If you appreciate nature, go out back behind the hotel at dusk. We experienced more bats flying around than we could ever imagine, but the real treat was the pack of wild boros that came strolling by. I was quite suprised by them and we did keep a safe distance (they came to eat the vegetation and had no interest in us). We were told that they are decendants from the 20-Mule Team famous for mining borax in Death Valley back in the day. I tried getting pictures but my little camera wasn't prepared for evening pictures from that distance.
Done miss this: After dark on a clear night take the time to drive about 5 minutes down the road (in any direction). You will a night sky unlike any other. In July the milky way was just stunning. It was so amazing that we have been searching for another place to get to where we could experience such a night sky again. There are not too many dark places dry enough to have such a clear sky without haze.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Clean large room. Super close to Casino, gas and food. Would've loved to stay there on the way back home, but they were booked. The town well kept, is quaint, a alternative to staying on the outskirts, or within the Las Vegas strip. I recomend The Stagecoach to those who like to stay off the beaten path.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I actually enjoyed my stay at the Stagecoach.

The good:
-- $60 for a room is reasonable enough;
-- The room was clean;
-- The casino is right next door (and the Denny's they now have in the casino is a huge improvement over the restaurant that used to be there);
-- Parking is convenient;
-- The air conditioner worked (which is really, really important in Beatty, Nev.);
-- The beds were comfortable and I got a good's night sleep;
-- The location (near Rhyolite Ghost Town and the eastern entrance to Death Valley) is good

The bad:
-- The bathroom was kind of funky;
-- The sink emitted an odd odor;
-- The TV was full of static;
-- The check-in was not terrible, just kind of indifferent;
-- Bring you own shampoo because the only toiletries are two small bars of soap.

We decided our wives probably would not like the Stagecoach, but for guys travelling to Death Valley it's not bad. Considering a room in Stovepipe Wells would cost $160 and this one was $60 -- it's a chance to save a little money. I'd stay here again

Room Tip: You might want to request an upstairs room. If you are one the groundfloor you most likely wake up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stagecoach Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stagecoach Hotel and Casino

Address: Highway 95, Beatty, NV 89003
Location: United States > Nevada > Beatty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Beatty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Stagecoach Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stagecoach Hotel Beatty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stagecoach Hotel and Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.