We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Amerca's Best Motels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Palmer Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Palmer Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Palmer Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2426 S Lincoln Avenue, York, NE 68467 (Formerly Palmer Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in York
Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best Amerca's Best Motels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

This York America's Best Value Motel is operated with pride and great care. It is a tremendous value. Wired Internet in the rooms is good but wireless does not reach all rooms. Rooms are roomy and in like new condition. Staff is friendly and helpful. Prices are very, very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane32956, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Palmer Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We here at America's Best Value Inn Palmer Inn appreciate your kind words about our establishment. We look forward to your next visit to our area.
Thank you,
Betty Hatfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    28
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
24
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

I had made a reservation here based on reviews, but I almost cancelled after I stayed in an awful Americas Best Value where the service and attitude left me feeling pretty angry. But I didn't, and I'm glad. This one is good, with pleasant staff and a nice room. There's nothing too impressive from the outside, but we were quite happy with the room we had which was well equipped. The breakfast was fine, and some of the people we met at breakfast seem to stay here whenever they are in the area, which says a lot. Good value, too, and easy to get to.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane32956, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Palmer Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We here at the America's Best Value Inn Palmer Inn appreciate your patronage. We are please we met your needs and look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in our area.
Thank you,
Betty Hatfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

My husband and I have been driving 0ver 1000 miles and so bad wanted a nice clean quiet Motel to stay at so I searched the internet for reviews of Motels in York NE and this one had great reviews so we chose it. It surpassed all my expectations! Wendy at the front desk was so warm and friendly made me at ease already. (Im not real fond of Motels stays) Then the price was WONDERFUL and she even asked if we were members of AARP and it saved us even more money. We got our keys and when my husband unlocked the door, WOW, what a GREAT suprise! So nice, smelled so good and CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN! I usually bring in my own blanket and pillow but I left them in the truck as this was so clean I was totally comfortable with the bedding! We slept like babies and actually wish we had time to spend another night. Thanks Palmer Motel!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane32956, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Palmer Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We here at the Palmer Inn appreciate our ability to meet your needs. We look forward to showing you hospitality when you come through our area again.
Thank you,
Betty Hatfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST CHESTER
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

We chose this hotel because it seemed to have fewer complaints than most moderately priced hotels in York. The room itself was typical and adequate and included a microwave and refrigerator that we did not use. Our room opened onto an interior hallway that got little light, so it seemed dingy. We were next to the vending area and had the laundry room behind us, which accounted for some of the banging we heard in the morning before we were ready to get up. We stayed three nights and had no maid service the first day - we did the second day after I complained. Another annoying issue was that we had to have our room key cards reset three times. The included breakfast was better-than-expected, including waffles, cinnamon rolls, cereals, bananas, and more. Internet access in the room is via ethernet; fortunately, I had a cable. My computer detected a wifi after the ethernet was running, so maybe wifi is also available. There is also a computer terminal in the lobby.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane32956, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Palmer Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We appreciate your kind words and patronage at our Inn. We look forward to seeing you again on your trip through our area.
Thank you,
Betty Hatfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

My daughter and I stayed at the Palmer Inn (aka America's Best Value Inn) in York, Nebraska in August 2009. When we pulled up, I thought, uh-oh, this place doesn't look so great. The architecture is uninspired, at best - kind of a cell-block look. But when we entered the room, it was just fine - clean and nicely furnished.

Their internet access was via ethernet cable, which was fine with me, as I carry one with my laptop. If you don't have one, they have them at the front desk.

While they use key cards for room access, they re-use them from one guest to the next, so you have to remember to leave them in your room at the end of your stay.

The pool (which is in a fenced-off area of the parking lot) was worth a visit, if only to read the rules. Rule #1 states that anyone using the pool must take a shower, in the nude, using hot water and soap. Reasonable enough, but more detailed than most "you-gotta-shower" pool rules. It was Rule #2, however, that I particularly appreciated. I don't remember it verbatim, but there was an unintentional double negative in it, which resulted in the unusual requirement that you can only use the pool if you have a contagious disease. I wish I'd taken a picture of that sign.

The breakfast looked fine, but we didn't partake.

We'd stay there again, if only to take a photo of the pool rules sign.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane32956, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Palmer Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We appreciate your kind words about our establishment. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again on your trip through our area.
Thank you,
Betty Hatfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pittsburg
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

Very nice place for the money. Clean and neat. The morning breakfast looked good but the room where it is served is small so we just grabbed some fruit and coffee to go. Hard to go wrong by stopping here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane32956, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Palmer Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We appreciate your kind words about our establishment. We hope to see you again on your future trips through our area.
Thank you,
Betty Hatfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

On a recent road trip from Las Vegas NV to Alliance Ohio (8 fun filled days of road travel, an arduous undertaking at best) we discovered a little gem in of all places, York Nebraska. Traveling with my brother and husband, a total of 4500 miles, the second stay of our trip ended at The Palmer, a quaint motel off the I-70 interstate. We saw a coupon for the Best Western Palmer Inn in one of the free magazines you find at all the gas stations along the way and noted it was a Best Western. We assumed it would be a decent place, AAA registered and safe.
We called when we were about 30 minutes away and were told they had a vacancy. Upon arriving, we were greeted with warm friendly faces and they accepted the coupons, although they had not been a Best Western motel since December of 2007. The lobby was immaculate and homey; the decor had a country clean air about it. We were given two rooms around back (rooms 121 and 122). We had a view of a vast cornfield with a little farm house in the distance.
We always asked for Non-Smoking rooms, the smell of stale smoke is usually a downside for us, even though we smoke. Even so, I carry a can of Fabreez for those 'just in case the maid service lacks' moments. In this case, it was never needed. My brothers room had a HUGH king size bed, Fridge and Microwave, and a lazyboy chair! - rm #122. Ours had two of the most comfortable beds I had ever laid my head down. We opted for the two beds since we seemed to have spent WAY too much time in close quarters in! I admit it was nice to stretch out and sleep likes a baby.
The motel has a cute and convenient laundry facility, handy and safe, and also vending in the same room. We even decided to not set the alarm for 5 am to get out and on the road. That’s how comfortable this place was. It was just small enough to give you the feel of a retro motel, kind of like visiting your relatives without the usual drama associated with it!
In the morning we were surprised by the complimentary Breakfast bar, never have I had the pleasure of Biscuits and Gravy, along with a variety of cereals (hot and cold) fresh fruit and even peanut butter and jelly to make a snack with for later!
We had stayed at about 7 motels along our road trip, This one was by far the best...so much so that we even figured out a way that we could stay again on our way back to Las Vegas, It so happens the first time was not a fluke. The second stay was just as great.
To be sure, I am a very picky traveler. When it comes to being comfortable where I rest my head at night, I require a few things, clean, free of odor, friendly faces, local, and will I return factor. This place hit it on the nose, and then some.
If you are traveling east or west on I-70 through Nebraska, and want to stay at a really great motel, I fully recommend The Palmer Inn.
I was also told to try out the Chances R for dinner, just down the road in downtown York, we did on our return trip. Review to come. Hint: FANTASTIC! Who knew?

  • Liked — — the odor free clean safe rooms. The quaintness, the fact that it was not a crowded place, where you feel like a number, here you feels like a person.
  • Disliked — can't think of a thing!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane32956, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Palmer Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We appreciate all of your kind words and advertising for us. We hope to see you again in the future.
Thank you,
Betty Hatfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Palmer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Palmer Inn

Address: 2426 S Lincoln Avenue, York, NE 68467 (Formerly Palmer Inn)
Location: United States > Nebraska > York
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Palmer Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Palmer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Palmer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.