We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Steaks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chances R

Chances R
124 W 5th St., York, NE 68467
402-362-7755
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in York
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
New Port Richey, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I generally don't order steak as they are usually a disappointment. We were staying in Harvard Nebraska and taken to the Chances R in York for dinner. When you walk in the front door there is a very plain cafe type room to the right and a rather elegant room to the left. Fortunately we had reservations for the elegant side. The food and service was excellent. I had a New York strip steak and my wife had the top sirloin and they were the best steaks we had in a long time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    42
    14
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durand, IL
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Worth getting off the interstate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

A great place to find great food, especially Nebraska meats, is the Chances R Reataurant & Lounge in York, NE, about five miles off I-80. The menu is large, the portions adequate, and the food tastes great. My wife especially enjoy the pork tenderloin sandwich, which she claims is the best she ever has had. We stop there whenever we are passing through on the way out west or back east. Prices are reasonable, despite what some Internet sites rate it. Ask to sit in the dining room.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Heard it used to be great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Had dinner there, quite late. The rolls were good, as was a draft micro brew. Ordered the halibut, which was a substantial portion and looked fresh. Unfortunately it was cooked until medium well, which left it tough and mostly dried out. Quite a shame to ruin a good piece of fish by overcooking it. The mashed potatoes and gravy were salty and nothing special. Dinner salad was OK. Dessert was odd, as the server brought over the tray with samples, and then could not even describe what one of the cakes was. Another server helped her out and provided a moderately accurate description. When I chose that dessert she simply moved it from the dessert tray onto my table. Being a typical layer cake, which had been sliced very early that day (or maybe earlier) it was dried out on the edge and also cloyingly sweet. My Dad had told me that this was a great place and it was quite a disappointing dinner. Other reviews seem to indicate that the quality has gone was downhill. It's too bad, as the place itself is attractive and the menu seems interesting. Main problem is that neither the cooks nor servers appear interested in doing their job well and delivering a quality product or service. Or they are inadequately trained, and don't know how to do a good job.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great comformt food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had the pork chop dinner with "reallly real" mashed potatoes & gravy ~ talk about awesome comfort food! They also deliver to near by hotels.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Bluffs
2 reviews
“Quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Not sure what to say here, food quality is intermitant. Of the last 6 times I have ate food at Chances R, 4 times the chicken fried steak has been burnt on one side, and the hashbrowns have been over done on one side. Definatly not what I would tell my friends to eat. Have eaten at Chances R, off and on for 20 yrs. At this point I would not tell any one to eat here!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chances R also viewed

 

Been to Chances R? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chances R, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.