We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little food for the money...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Kitchen Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Kitchen Restaurant
3324 S Lincoln Ave, York, NE 68467-9484
402-362-3368
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 27 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Roy, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Little food for the money...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were traveling through Nebraska with my children and when I saw "The Kitchen", I thought good home cookin'. Instead it was small portions of decent food that is over priced. The restaurant is clean and the staff was friendly, however, that being said my opinion went down from there as we all walked away hungry. I ordered my son the mini corn dogs off the kids menu...we were charged over $5 (which is high for a kids menu item) and he received 5 mini corn dogs and a prepackaged "flavored" (which wasn't yummy) applesauce (the meal as a whole would have been worth $.40 retail). That would have been enough to fill a 4 year old, but not a 9 year old. The kid was starving when he was finished. So I shared my toast and then ordered a side of fries for him as well (which funny enough cost $.99 and had more to it than his entire meal). My 11 year old wanted fettuccine alfredo off the adult menu which cost us $7.99, and it was a kid portion, she was also still hungry and ate the additional fries as well. Her food and pita bread were yummy, she just didn't get enough to make a meal. I ordered a skillet (thinking I'm getting something like I would at Denny's)...mine was about 1/3 of a portion I would get there or Village Inn and I paid $8.99. Unless you want an overpriced snack, keep driving...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Solid "Home Cooking"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is good Midwest "home cooking." You get hearty portions and good honest food for a good price especially for families.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Eat someplace else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We ate here at night after a long travel day. We were all hungry and tired. Hubby and I had fried chicken, his with green beans and mashed potatoes; mine with broccoli and baked potato. Both kids had chicken strips, mac/cheese, green beans. My baked potato was kinda yellow and waxy inside and tasted like it had been baked several days ago and refrigerated.

Our chicken was fresh but not seasoned at all . . . we have never had such bland and tasteless chicken. The broccoli and green beans were both hard and raw. Kids' chicken strips looked and tasted frozen. None of us liked anything we ordered . . . and we are not picky eaters.

We were gone a week on vacation and we all agreed this was our worst meal.

Sandy (in Denton)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Very satisfying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed dinner so much we returned for breakfast. If you are looking for a place to have a good meal in York, give the Kitchen a try, The food was standard fair but well prepared, prices reasonable and the service excellent. This is a good value

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshaw WI
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“"The Kitchen" is the former Country Kitchen”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have stopped several times in the past for a late breakfast at the former Country Kitchen in York and have been very satisfied, This trip the timing offered a late lunch. My choice was a Philly sandwich with Swiss cheese and a side of onion rings. My wife ordered a burger plus a bowl of baked potato soup which she indicated was quite good though she indicated her burger was rather tasteless. Our waiter was very pleasant from the time we were seated and met the test when my sandwich was served without the cheese. He offered to bring me a new sandwich but for the sake of time, I simply asked for him to bring me some cheese which turned out to be two slices of very good tasting Swiss. The sandwich unfortunately was a bit greasy and the meat was too thin and overcooked. The onion rings were obviously freshly made and not frozen with a decent batter, The onions were very sweet and tasty but they need to make some adjustments on temp and frying time as the batter on one ring was not completely fried and they were also quite greasy. They offered a soup & salad bar with a choice of four soups and the salad offerings looked fresh. If we stop again, it will probably be for breakfast or a lighter lunch at the soup and salad bar. The place was clean and offered a pleasant setting for a meal while traveling but the stop was a disappointment considering we always have had a decent breakfast meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Kitchen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kitchen Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.