We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kings Head

The Kings Head
Ruan Lanihorne, Ruan Lanihorne TR2 5NX, England
01872 501263
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Just a few miles outside Truro & about 8 miles from St Mawes, deep in the beautiful countryside, you’ll find the Kings Head in the tiny hamlet of Ruan Lanihorne, this is a Country Pub with a warm welcome, great beers and an imaginative menu. Summer evenings on the Terrace, or in the sunken Beer Garden, winter time finds us with roaring log fires......why not come along and see for yourself..
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Beautiful setting and delicious food. Matches both a relaxed dinner for two and a smart family meal. Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    25
    4
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Kings Head, while a little off the beaten track, is definitely worth the effort for a visit, over and over again. Set in such a beautiful and quiet village, it is the perfect country pub for a delicious and memorable meal. They have mastered the perfect balance of warm and welcoming but unobtrusive customer service, making sure everyone is so well looked after at all times and it is very obvious that the staff are trained to have an eye for detail! The menu caters to all tastes with such great (and delicious) variety, from fresh and locally sourced seafood to amazing duck and wonderfully succulent steak, all of which are cooked to such a high standard and the pudding menu is equally irresistible. Such great value for priceless service and an excellent meal!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Sunday Roast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I am lucky enough that I can eat out when and where I like so I like the finer things in life. Last Sunday I took my father out for a Sunday roast and went to the the Kings Head. The first thing that greets you is a roaring log fire and a lovely smiley face from behind the bar. After deciding what to have over a beer next to the fire we were taken to our seats in the restaurant part of the pub. I had the scallops to start and Dad had the soup. The scallops served with a hint of garlic butter and the soup was tomato with a smidgen of basil to add to the taste. Both were superb. Being Sunday, being British and being men we both had the roast beef with all the trimmings. A topside goes it was one of the best topsides I have had because it was slow cooked which gave it its tenderness. The veggies were great although my own personal taste would be leave the red cabbage please and give me another load of the devine caulifour cheese. Too stuffed for puddings but I will be back to take them on. Lovely Meal and Great Service. Thank you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
“You Get What You Pay For.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have visited this pub on a number of occasions, as a couple and as a family with 2 small children. Its always delivered exactly what we enjoy when we go out, quality food cooked with respect. No snail porridge or any ridiculous swirls and foams, just good simple dishes. Another thing thats really nice is that children dont get offered turkey twizzlers or any other plastic 'kids' meals, its real food (smaller portions) or nothing! You dont have to order at the bar, or get your own drinks etc as you are looked after from arrival by a very able and helpful team. Its not cheap but it is good value for the service and what you get, there are more than enough cheap places fighting for £5 sunday roast trade etc. I go here because I know we will always leave happy and satisfied.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous! Just fab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

One of our favourite places to eat, always friendly, nothing ever too much trouble and we have to return often as we can never decide what to have.
The team are friendly and work well together and the landlady is a real character !
The chef cooks an amazing duck, his steak is second to none and the sea bass is one of our favourites.
This time of year the fire is lit so not only do we have a warm welcome from the staff, meet up with good friends over a bottle or two of Malbec - a truly great all round country pub .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Head also viewed

Portscatho, Roseland Peninsula
 
Tregony, Roseland Peninsula
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.