We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs maintenance” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel Raine

Motel Raine
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Motel Raine to your Saves list
Motel Raine
618 W Highway 20, Valentine, NE 69201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE $$, BOOK DIRECT!
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Valentine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philip, South Dakota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Needs maintenance”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I should start by saying the staff was friendly and helpful. The big disappointment was the condition of our room. We got a bigger room at the corner of the motel because we wanted three beds. The woodwork and furniture was shabby, the walls needed to have holes patched, our window looked out onto a ratty trailer house with a mattress thrown out in the yard. We had to unplug a lamp to find a free outlet to charge a phone. When we turned in, I found a dryer sheet in my bed and my son found a cocklebur stuck to his blanket. On the plus side, the wifi access was good. We traveled with another couple and their room was nicer.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    19
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
23
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Cloud, MN
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stopped here after driving for about 8 hours. We found it was hard to find a room on a Friday night, but the motel had a room. We were lucky enough to get a newly updated room. The carpet and paint were fresh, and the bedding was new. The bathroom had been updated too. The room was comfortable and quiet. They offer a small continental breakfast in the morning. There weren't many choices, but it was fine. There was a bar and restaurant but we didn't go in as we were tired from having been on the road. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We rolled in to town on our way back home and as usual we scouted the area for our hotel options. This place offered the best price and had the nicest rooms per $. The rooms aren't glorious, but they were clean and comfortable.

The staff was awesome. We got there pretty late and the workers/family was just hanging out in the restaurant. The guy fired up the grill specially for us and cooked us one of the best steaks we've ever had. Everyone was really friendly, making us feel welcome right away. Being the only "outsiders" in a restaurant can feel pretty awkward sometimes, but they made us feel like a part of the gang joking around with us and always stopping to include us in any conversation.

We ended up staying in the restaurant just chatting for a couple hours, which is rare for my wife and I.

If I was ever back in that little town, I'd seek out this place first.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Tim and staff made our experience very memorable. We were stranded by car trouble and the entire staff did everything to make our stay enjoyable. We were treated like family and every staff member we came in contact with tried to help us with hospitality and suggestions for eating and sites to see. The have some great suggestions including activities and history of the area. Tim made it possible for us to visit local sites while we waited for our vehicle to get repaired.

Great upscale bar and restaurant. The ribs were delicious and I would highly recommend trying them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

My two adult sons and I stayed one night at Motel Raine. We were on the road after a great vacation in South Dakota and needed to stop and recharge before continuing our trip home. When I called to make the reservation, I was pleased to speak with someone who sounded friendly and excited to have our business. I was also appreciative of the fact that when I mentioned there were three adults, she offered the room with three queen beds. It's always refreshing to talk to someone who knows the property inside and out. Sometimes when making a reservation I will ask questions about certain features of a room. It's disconcerting to be told. "I don't know." This experience was the opposite. The room was spacious and clean. It was not fancy but had everything we needed: ac that worked, flat screen tv, fridge and microwave, and three very comfortable beds. The bathroom was dated with pale green tile but it was very large, very clean, and very convenient for my son who uses a walker. There is a restaurant and bar on the property and we had a delicious meal out on the patio. The waitresses were very friendly and accommodating even though they were taking care of a large group hosting a birthday party in addition to restaurant patrons. This is a park -
-in-front of the room motel and I have come to realize there are perks to that. No traipsing down long halls or taking a long walk to retrieve something forgotten in the car. We had a peaceful, comfortable evening at Motel Raine and would stay there again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Easy to find, excellent place to dine. It's an older style, but it's a must if you want to stay a while. And true to its name, the night we stayed, well it rained! The room was updated, but the bathroom a bit outdated. However both very clean, and the owners far from mean. Our steaks were cooked to perfection, our waitress , the nicest in the Sioux Nation! Without a doubt, this small-town Nebraska jewel is a place to check out!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Sterling, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Conveniently located to many activities in the area. The room was a little outdated, but large, clean, and comfortable. No pol, but a very nice restaurant where they smoke their own meats, and a beautiful bar and lounge. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Free WiFi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel Raine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Raine

Address: 618 W Highway 20, Valentine, NE 69201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Valentine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Valentine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Motel Raine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel Raine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.