We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so good anymore” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Mar Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Matelot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Laguna Mar Lodge
Save
You added Laguna Mar Lodge to your Saves list
Mile Marker 65 | Paria Main Rd., Matelot, Trinidad   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Matelot
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not so good anymore”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

you can tell that the hotel used to be a good and nice one. But the owner has not succeed in maintaining the level of quality. Our room was not clean at all, smelt humidity and the equipment was not in a good state (broken window in the bathroom, no pressure in the shower,...).
Nevertheless, the tenant is nice and can arrange a hike to the Peria waterfalls for you (do not hesitate to insist).
But it does not compensate the general level of the hotel...
too bad it's the only hotel in Blanchisseuse. My advise: come here for the hike bu tstay in Maracas or Las Cuevas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Romain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Fred Zollna (Hotel's Manager/Owner) is the heart and soul of Laguna Mar. The hotel is nestled in the Northern Range mountains among lush tropical rainforests. Just waking up to the sound of the crashing surf and the orchestra of birds in the morning makes it worth the trip. Rooms are not five star, but are clean and comfortable. The food is very good and sometimes prepared by Fred himself. Their private beach and wading lagoon is pristine and just a minute's walk away from the hotel. We felt very safe during our stay. The small staff were very pleasant and we enjoyed learning of the history of the place. Will definitely revisit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viersen, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

The Lodge is a bit old but beautiful located. You can hike by yourselves to Yarra beach one hour or three hours one way to Paria Beach and Waterfall. Close to the lodge is the Marianne River where you can swim inside or take the sea. The water is very clear you can drink it. Ask for the way to Avocat Fall at Marianne River or take a guide like Emile Serrette (nature trekking tnt), he offers Paria,too. We slept great because of the fresh air from the sea. The food at breakfast and dinner was very good, try the homemade Portugal juice! and Fred from Germany is a very nice and helpful person.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad & Tobago
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

There is nothing remotely "resort-ish" about Laguna Mar. This is a third-rate guest house with a lot of shrubbery along dirty, slippery walkways. No one bothers to air the rooms for occupancy. The bed linens are thin and worn and so are the bath towels. Cracked wash basins and dripping shower heads do not spell resort to me either. The only means to some fresh air - the fan - was also broken and not even oscillating! Apart from all the above, there are so many mosquitoes in the rooms, one would think they are collecting blood for a blood bank. And, if your room is situated on the lower level, keep your door closed or else frogs will be your constant companions.

Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

This resort is a gem! The owner, Mr. Zollna, has a great staff and provides interesting insight on everything from local culture to food and current events. It was a joy to sit and relax with him after five crazy days of Carnival in the city and he was always available to grab a beer and play Rummikube (spelling?). The beach isn't like Mexico, but swimming in the freshwater river adjacent to the beach was enjoyable. We loved the hike to the pools, which is easy, especially if you don't mind walking through the middle of the river. The food was amazing, and the staff was attentive. I would recommend this place to anyone heading to Trinidad for Carnival--take a break afterwards at the Laguna Mar (you will need it!).

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2008

The Laguna Mar Lodge is located in Blanchisseuse, Trinidad. The road from Port of Spain to Blanchisseuse is lovely; so is the Lodge. The rooms are basic, simple and clean. The rooms are a bit humid.
The owner, Mr Zollna, is a fantastic host. He cooked a delicious meal for us and shared interesting stories with us. We even saw a leatherback turtle on the beach.
I would definitely return.

  • Liked — The owner, Mr Zollna, is very friendly
  • Disliked — The rooms are humid
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

We've been living in Trinidad for 4 years and we finally decided to go and check Blanchisseuse, when we arrived to Coco's Hut Restaurant, Mr. Fred welcomed us and showed us the path to the beach, we enjoyed the beach and back to the restaurant we asked to see the rooms, we liked them so we decided to go later, so after two weeks we went back and spent two nights at Laguna Mar. The experience is great, it's a cozy place and Mr. Zollna makes the stay an experience, he has too many thing to share and his young spirit gives life to the place. The food is great and, as the menu states, one have to wait a little while since the meal is prepared for you once you order. The surrounding are great, the hike to the river is a must-do and the balcony in front of our room was great to enjoy the birds, the view and the rain. We hope you enjoy the place as we did.

  • Liked — Ambiance, food, location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Mar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Mar Lodge

Address: Mile Marker 65 | Paria Main Rd., Matelot, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Matelot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Matelot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Laguna Mar Hotel Trinidad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Mar Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.