We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine guest house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand View Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand View Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 3 more sites!
Grand View Beach Hotel
Villa Point, Colonarie, St. Vincent   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Colonarie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fine guest house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed for one night on a business trip; upon arrival (late - 11pm?), I would have liked a drink/light meal but the entire hotel was shut down. In fact, there was no receptionist, rather two security guards who checked off my name, gave me a key, and told me to report back in the morning for a proper check-in.

The layout of the hotel is literally like a boarding house, with rooms scattered throughout. My room was on the second floor, and, like all the other unoccupied rooms, was wide open. The downside to this is that I spent the first half and hour chasing down moths, flies, etc. before I could settle in and catch some sleep.

The rooms are 'named', not numbered, and are styled in a style I suppose you could call 'contemporary victorian'. They've tried to stay 'vintage', but it goes a bit too far in the (spacious) bathroom with the mirror's silver backing falling off. Bed was comfortable and closet was large. TV was a 19" tube.

Morning breakfast was served in a quaint common room on the first floor overlooking the ocean; quite beautiful and the food was well-prepared. Coffee was hot and strong.

A couple hours later, bar service was in order and the two gentlemen at the bar were friendly and accomodating. Drink prices were reasonable and the beer was ice cold.

Checkout was easy; however I haven't seen a hand-written bill with carbon paper copies for quite some time now. I paid with my credit card in local currency since some quick math told me that the hotel was taking a few percentage points on the exchange when I was offered to pay in USD.

Overall, a good experience. Given the limited choices of quality hotels on the island, I would probably stay here agin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    29
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
27
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Grand View is a relaxing place: nice comfortable spacious rooms in a relaxing environment. There were plenty of staff around to sort drinks and show visitors around. There's an "old world" charm to the hotel that's lacking in chains or even boutique hotels: sash windows (that don't open!) and old-style flush loos.

Minor gripes? If you eat here note that a service charge is added to your bill automatically at the end of your stay if you charge food and drinks to your bill: you're not told this. Tea and coffee making facilities in-room were missing. And the path down to the Grand View Grill resuarant is steep and unlit with a shaky path.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavallette, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This place is decent. The management charged $2.00 to print out 2 airline boarding passes, which is absurd. I've stayed at many places where this was complimentary, so this automatically turns me off. The staff is pleasant although when I asked if the tip was included at one of the restaurants the waitress told me no, so I gave her a $12.00 tip. Next day I found out by another waitress that I would be charged a 10% service fee for all the waitress staff. There is no bar swim up bar. Rooms were so so mattresses need to be replaced. No hot water for showers. View was nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very friendly staff, average restaurant for pizza on property with reasonable prices and that is what the food tax is all about when you book over the internet - nothing gourmet. Rooms - older fixtures & plumbing but clean and comfy - great view and good US TV reception. We would go back as a very pleasant stay. Wireless internet only in outer lobby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myerstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The staff was most gracious arranging taxis and side trips. The view was outstanding, room was clean and the price was right. I noticed some other posters mentioned water pressure. Mine was fine. Unfortunately I wasn't there long enough to enjoy the pool. The grounds are beautiful and I spotted some hummingbirds at the flowers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usk, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were very spacious with great views. The staff were amazing, providing excellent service in a friendly and cheerful manner. The only minor comment was that the windows did not open and we found the ac a little overpowering. Opening windows and ceiling fans would have been nice. I believe some rooms did have this.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Grand View November 2012. It is a truly magnificent, historic property with (as the name says) amazing views. One of the things I really appreciate about the hotel is the true Caribbean flair it radiates! From the open courtyards, to the fun Caribbean colors, the hotel truly does this area and St. Vincent justice. The rooms are a bit dated, however they were charming, clean, and comfortable. I did not try the WiFi in the hotel. The staff was very friendly, pleasant, and helpful, while the staff in the restaurant by the beach were fun and cordial. Food was terrific! I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand View Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Beach Hotel

Address: Villa Point, Colonarie, St. Vincent
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > St. Vincent > Colonarie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Colonarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand View Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand View Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.