We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Waterton Park Hotel to your Saves list
Waterton Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Walton Hall, Walton, Wakefield WF2 6PW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Yarm, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful Surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Attended my niece's wedding at this lovely location. Hotel in the middle of a lake - very peaceful.
Made to feel very welcome by friendly staff. The food was excellent - well above average for this type of function. The room was very quiet, comfortable and clean. The breakfast the following morning was exceptional - one of the best I've had in both quality and service ! Only one downside for me - I felt the bar prices were a little excessive but overall I would recommend this hotel and location to anyone wishing to get away for a few day's peace and there is a golf course adjacent ! There is also an indoor swimming pool which looked very nice from Charlie's Bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateCloughPR, Guest Relations Manager at Waterton Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your great review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and breakfast! We hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    125
    61
    33
    18
See reviews for
109
216
11
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

From the web the hotel looks and sounds very nice, with its rather unique setting on the lake. But sadly it did not live up to the expectations of a four star hotel - I'd say two and a half, or three.
Note if booking most of the rooms are not on the island, but on the land-side directly opposite the bridge, which we did determined when booking is company a statement.
We had room 65, which check-in said was 'one of our best' - on the second floor [Note, the lift only goes to the first, not second floor]. It was large and spacious, but sort of reminded one of an old folks home (sorry people), and even had a slightly weird aroma, which persisted even on day two when the windows had been open since our arrival; it was not so bad you'd ask to move but enough that we did mention it.
There was rubbish and coffee/sugar packets the floor under the coffee table, and cobwebs around the windows which we asked to be cleaned. Later we noticed some thick sticky/soapy hand prints across the tiles above the bath; who knows what that was about.... but the room had not been properly cleaned … Again we asked for that to be cleaned also.
Dinner on the first night was in the main restaurant, meaning a short walk across the bridge to the main building. This is quaint but precarious. In fact had she not been holding my arm my wife would have sustained a nasty injury, as she her and almost fell on the very uneven path – that appears to me to be a personal injury claim waiting to happen.
Sadly, when we mentioned it to the receptionist in the in main building, we got stifled laugh and oh well - even in flat shoes the path is very difficult to walk on.
The evening meal was very good - compliments to the chef - and the waiting staff attentive and friendly.
Breakfast offered good selection, was served by friendly staff.
In my mind it's shame they decided to put the car park in front of the 'extension' between the main building and the bridge, it could have looked much better being nice garden area.
One of the duty managers who listened to our complaints did try to make amends and on check out we found that our bar bill, couple of cocktails with dinner, had been credited.
Such shame the reality didn't live up to the marketing pitch.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateCloughPR, Guest Relations Manager at Waterton Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I have noted your comments and I know the duty manager has discussed these with the relevant departments.
I pleased you enjoyed dinner and I have passed your kind compliments onto Head Chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Went to my sister in law's wedding here. First class venue and setting for a wedding. Staff very friendly, fantastic rooms, great food. I suspect that people do go here for weekends away, however it is predominantly a wedding venue. First class all the way.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateCloughPR, Guest Relations Manager at Waterton Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

There are 2 hotel venues and we were lucky to be allocated a room on picturesque "duck island." As title suggests, access gained by crossing an arched bridge which is decorated with ribbons for wedding parties, great idea. Room spacious and clean but incessant chatter from ducks and geese detracted from experience. There seem to be weddings booked every weekend so staff are often too busy to be attentive to non wedding guests. Food was nice without quite reaching value for money. Disappointing that glasses and debris from wedding guests was not cleared away from corridoors and tables the following morning. Overall we felt out of place and almost neglected. Shame we weren't getting married perhaps!

Room Tip: Ask for room on duck island
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateCloughPR, Guest Relations Manager at Waterton Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and share your feedback. We appreciate all feedback, positive and negative and I'm sorry on this occasion you didn't have a more memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We got married on Sunday 18th May 2014 at Waterton Park and we cannot praise it enough. From the start Pauline the Wedding Coordinator and the wonderful staff looked after us and made our 2 night stay and wedding day memorable. We stayed in 2 rooms, one prior to the Wedding, and the Bridal Suite on the night of the wedding. Both rooms were spacious and stunning with all the facilities you would expect in a top class hotel. Many of our guests booked overnight stays and all were complimentary about their rooms and service.
The food at the wedding and breakfast the morning after was excellent - we were even given heart shaped toast!
Waterton Park is a hidden gem - well worth a visit! Thanks again to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateCloughPR, Guest Relations Manager at Waterton Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Wow what a super review! We are delighted by your comments and lovely words (pleased you like the heart shaped toast too!) Our wedding coordinators and all the staff work very hard to ensure your wedding day is special from beginning to end! Our best wishes to you both and lots of happiness for your future's together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We got married here. All the staff were fantastic on the run-up, during and after the event. Food was really good. Hotel rooms are a really good size and beautifully decorated with spectacular views over the lake from the island. Our wedding guests have praised all aspects of the venue.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateCloughPR, Guest Relations Manager at Waterton Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for your great review and I will pass your comments on to all the staff. Congratulations to you both and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed for 1 night of a party at the golf club (a 5 minute walk up the drive). The hotel is in a beautiful location with excellent facilities (pool, sauna, bar etc.) The staff were all very helpful and friendly. We stayed in a std dbl (76) and the room was very generously sized with a comfy big bed. The rooms could perhaps do with a little bit of tlc here and there, things like towel rails hanging off the wall etc, but overall we would suggest this is a great hotel in a lovely location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateCloughPR, Guest Relations Manager at Waterton Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. (I will get that towel rail checked out, thank you for the heads up!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterton Park Hotel

Address: Walton Hall, Walton, Wakefield WF2 6PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Walton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterton Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Waterton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wakefield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterton Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.