We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterton Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Waterton Park Hotel to your Saves list
Waterton Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Walton Hall, Walton, Wakefield WF2 6PW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walton
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I had my wedding here at the beginning of September and I can not thank the staff enough everyone was so helpful and helped make our day so special I would highly recommend waterton park as a wedding venue, beautiful surroundings and top class service. The rooms are beautiful and the facilities are brilliant loved every minute.
I will defiantly be going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateCloughPR, Guest Relations Manager at Waterton Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so pleased you had a wonderful wedding, I will make sure our wedding co-ordinators see this and all the best for you and your husband.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    107
    57
    30
    18
See reviews for
97
196
11
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We were considering this as a wedding venue and went on a weekday evening to sample the food and service.
The food was disappointing given the cost and the service mediocre. Needless to say we are not getting married there!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateCloughPR, Guest Relations Manager at Waterton Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I will pass your comments onto the relevent department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Found this place on the net at the last minute. I was really pleased. Great value. Everything about it was good, food, accomodation, value, servuce and ambience. A challenging little golf course is very close to it and nice to play. Defiantely worth a visit.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateCloughPR, Guest Relations Manager at Waterton Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very pleased you found us and had great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

wow, what can i say. Firstly the staff who greeted us at reception were lovely and friendly, my son had told them it was our anniversary and they wished us happy anniversary! Then on entering our room, we found chocs and fizz to celebrate with,, the room was stunning over looking the lake up on the top floor. We went for a pre dinner drink in Charlies bar and again the stakk were very attentive, we ate in the resturant and was served the most delisous food, with good wine and vert attentive staff, Julie was great, she's fab at her job, Thank you id you're reading this Julie. Also Johny the manager could not do enough for us and after back in the bar, stakk served us coffes and gave us local info.
The next morning was lovely and we went off for a walk round newmiller dam, i didn't make it all the way round cos my walking is restricted, but after getting back to the hotel we had a fab relaxing afternoon in the pool and jacuzzi b4 getting ready for yet another fantastic meal!
I would definatly recomment this hotel, the grounds are stunning, the hotel is decorated lovely and abouve all the staff make it a lovely place to be, thanks to you all, we can't wait to come again, caz n steve xx

Room Tip: staying in the old building ia lovely, very romantic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateCloughPR, Guest Relations Manager at Waterton Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review, we are so pleased to hear your comments. The staff work very hard to ensure every guest has the best stay and Julie and Jonny will be thrilled with your comments. We hope to welcome you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tickhill, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute for a function we were going to in the area.
On arrival we were upgraded to a four poster room which was a nice surprise. It was a lovely large room with a huge bathroom. The breakfast was very good. The staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. The hotel in beautiful surroundings, the water sparkling around its island situation was quite stunning. Although our room was not on the island it was still well situated for the views.
We would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateCloughPR, Guest Relations Manager at Waterton Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write your great review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed at the weekend for a friends wedding, amazing setting. Our bedroom was on the island, with beautiful views over the lake. We didn't have time to use the pool but it looked really inviting. All the staff we met were really friendly. We live quite local and never knew it existed will definitely be back.

Room Tip: on the island have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateCloughPR, Guest Relations Manager at Waterton Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your super review, please do come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Was best man at a wedding here for my nephew lee recently, absolutely stunning location. Couldnt fault it in any way accomadation spot on, staff were super friendly-altogether a lovely weekend. Could imagine it being a lovely location all year round. Made the brides fairytale come true. Thanks again

Room Tip: Choose the hall it was lovely to wake up and sit and see the surrounding lake with a coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KateCloughPR, Guest Relations Manager at Waterton Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are delighted you had a good stay and you enjoyed the wedding. I hope we get to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterton Park Hotel

Address: Walton Hall, Walton, Wakefield WF2 6PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Walton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterton Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Waterton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wakefield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterton Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.