We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel allowed my dogs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Ogallala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Ogallala to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Ogallala
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   501 Stage Coach Drive, Ogallala, NE 69153   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ogallala
Meridian, Idaho
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel allowed my dogs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Can't say enough this was a great experience all around. Warm friendly and inviting. Charged $10 or so for two dogs to stay as well. Room was great and very well updated. Breakfast was awesome and the old ladies working the breakfast were absolutely fantastic. Without hesitation I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ogallala, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your input, my staff appreciates hearing your positive input as we strive to make your stay the best it can be in all departments. I know it can be a challenge to find hotels that accept pets and we are happy to make this possible for you. We look forward to serving your lodging needs again in the future when traveling to Ogallala, NE. If there's anything we can do to make your stay better the next time we value that input as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    60
    24
    7
    0
See reviews for
45
44
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here at the last minute after a very long day of driving. The room was very good. The only drawback would have been the interstate noise which could have been made better by a room not on the front side (request a room to the back), but I managed to sleep through most of it! The breakfast was good, the staff monitoring the breakfast room very cordial and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back side away from the Interstate 80.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ogallala, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us while traveling through Ogallala on I-80. I realize that many travelers don't have the distractions like road noise, or trains passing through in town where they live, so I understand how that was a concern for you. We are looking for ways to insulate the sound as a solution, possibly a sound proof curtain panel as one of the layers that can be closed to reduce outside noise. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again as we look forward to serving your lodging needs again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

stayed there a few times not bad probably the best place to say in Ogallala, NE ask for a room in the back so you wont have highway noise. Also every so often a train does pass at night and it sure makes some noise

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ogallala, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for staying with us. Unfortunately, the major franchises which are all on the I-80 corridor are near the Interstate making passing vehicle noise a challenge to avoid. We do offer ear plugs for anyone that might want to use them to block out outside noise if desired. Everyone seems to have a different sensitivity level regarding this concern. If available we will certainly accommodate requests for rooms on the North side of the motel which avoids the I-80 traffic noise. Again, thanks for your input as we are always looking for ways to make your stay better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Clean, convenient. Actual civilization in the middle of the middle of not much America.

If you are leaving Colorado Springs, CO. This is perfect.

Clean, friendly, comfortable.

I would ask for the top floor.

I say "yes"!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ogallala, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thanks for your review. We do offer "Western Hospitality". Our entry and lobby projects a Western theme appearance but is certainly a modern, up to date facility. For persons traveling through Nebraska I urge you to look through the racks of state and area attractions that represent a variety of things to see and do. Locally just north of Ogallala is Lake McConaughy that's over 20 mi. long and up to 2 1/2 miles wide with great fishing and recreational boating. We also have 2 great 18 hole golf courses for the golfing traveler. Thanks for staying, we look forward to serving your lodging needs again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

During our long drive on I-80, the stop at this inn was very pleasant. We stopped in Indiana to another Holiday Inn Express because this one was very enjoyable. Breakfast is rich and served early. Rooms are very clean. Location is perfect: exactly near the Interstate-80 freeway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ogallala, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Ogallala, NE. Your input is greatly appreciated and we look forward to serving your lodging needs again in the future. We pride ourselves in Western Hospitality and always strive to provide you with a clean, comfortable room in the great western town of Ogallala, Nebraska, Home of Lake McConaughy, and the Cowboy Capitol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Interior Decor: Average Holiday Inn Express in the room. Emphasis on woods and antlers in the lobby.
Exterior appearance: Average Holiday Inn Express
Outside view from the room: Front of the hotel and Interstate 80 highway
Room size: Approximately 55 square meters. Generously big.
Price value: A bit overpriced , considering the cost of living in the city. Still, acceptable accomodation on Christmas Day.
Service: Friendly staffs.
Bed: Firm - King
Room: A bit insufficient lighting. Surprisingly good noise insulation, considering how close the hotel is to Interstate 80 with trucks and trailers moving throughout the night.

Room Tip: Try King Suite Jacuzzi room (119)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ogallala, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you! Your input is greatly appreciated. We look forward to serving your lodging needs again in the future. You will see our rates have been lowered for the remainder of the winter season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Would recommend this hotel if you are staying in Ogallala. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. We stayed in a remodeled wing and the rooms were very quiet and nice. The hotel is conveniently located right off I80.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ogallala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ogallala

Address: 501 Stage Coach Drive, Ogallala, NE 69153
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Ogallala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Ogallala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ogallala 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express, Ogallala, NE, located 3 hours from Denver, 4 hours from Lincoln, and 4 1/2 hours from Omaha via Interstate 80,exit 126. We invite you to visit Nebraska's Cowboy Capitol and Recreational Capitol! Known for it's role as the end of the Texas Trail Drives in the late 1800's, Ogallala has been designated as Nebraska's Cowboy Capitol. Boot Hill, the town's first cemetery, is now a historic park and tombstone history of early Ogallala. As home of Nebraska's largest playground, Lake McConaughy, also reigns as Nebraska's Recreation Capital. It's a little bit of "Paradise" right here in Nebraska. A treasure that brings folks from all over to enjoy the serenity of the white sand beaches and the brilliant blue skies of Nebraska. Add Great hunting, fishing, bird watching, watersports, and plenty of crystal clear water - paradise! Hotel amenities include it's free signature complimentary Express Start hot breakfast. It includes biscuits and gravy, omelet or scrambled eggs, bacon or regular and turkey sausage, fruit, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll and a unique, one of a kind pancake machine. Visit Ogallala,and the western themed Holiday Inn Express Hotel. 2014 Certificate of Excellence Award from Trip Advisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ogallala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ogallala Hotel Ogallala
Holiday Inn Ogallala
Ogallala Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Ogallala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.