We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it once was” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn North Platte

Save Saved
You added Knights Inn North Platte to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Knights Inn North Platte
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Halligan Drive, North Platte, NE 69101 (Formerly Sands Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 hotels in North Platte
Minnesota
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Not what it once was”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had stayed here several times when it was the Hospitality Hotel. I have not been impressed with Knight's Inn hotels in the past but we gave it a try. We do not recommend it now. Pay more and be comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    7
    4
    10
See reviews for
7
13
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The interstate come-on was $55.00. Actually $65 for 2 people, plus roll-ups. The reported 20% discount for being a Wyndham Hotel Group Member was $3.00. Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't 20% of $65.00 actually $13.00? Check in staff was marginal. Room was filthy, including blood on the bedspread and grunge in the bathroom reaching well out from the corners, dirty window throughout, etc. I don't know where the pillows came from, maybe the 1950's. Breakfast......... Another unfriendly, disappointing experience. The only good point. It was quiet. Manager's card: Mr. Erik Martin.

Room Tip: Choose another motel. Whiskey Creek Restaurant had good food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stopped at this hotel after 12 hours on the road, we were exhausted. Waited in line for 20 minutes to get a room, it was a Saturday night, so that was not surprising. The first room we got was absolutely filthy. It had not been vacuumed, the toilet had dried urine on the seat, sticky stuff on the bedside tabletop, dust everywhere....half of the lights did not work. The sheets and towels were clean, but thats about it. Requested a different room. I asked outright if THAT room had been cleaned, and was told yes, of course. Well....the second one was vacuumed, at least. More lights not working, dried urine and other stuff on the toilet, and THICK dirty soap scum in the sink and bathtub - Have you people ever heard of Comet?? - and a tiny dead bug in the bedsheet...by the elastic...bedbug-? not sure but we did not stay long enough to find out. The really funny thing was each room had a large gratuity envelope on the bed in plain view. I have never witnessed this practice in any other hotel. Is that typical-? Anyway, NOT worth the $65 or so we were charged, and yes, I DID get our money back. All I require is clean. This hotel is NOT recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuttle, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had reservations for this hotel, upon arrival, at 5pm, the room was not ready! Plus, the rooms were disgusting and old. Erik Martin, the manager, didn't even take the time to try and help us with new accommodations. We gave back our keys, got our money back and went to the Oak Tree next door. I give the Oak Tree 5 stars for the same price!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The pool looks like it has not worked in a long time, the carpets are dirty in the common areas, the room was not very clean....could not take a bath. The door was missing the security lock and the other lock did not work. Spend a little more and choose a motel that is clean and has everything working, no one should have to put a chair in front of the door during the night for security.

Room Tip: Choose another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

They gave us 2 cards for room 109. Neither worked. They reprogrammed them. on 2nd try, one card worked, the other still didn’t. Got in but this room smelled gross. Musty and nasty. We went back a third time, reprogrammed again for room 118. Again, neither key card worked “We’ve really had a lot of problems with the system tonight.” she said. After 4th trip to the office, they finally worked.
#2 New room smelled better, but was way dirty. The vent looked like it hadn’t ever been cleaned. The bathroom heater light didn’t work, and years of grime.
# 3 Hotels.com “A Seasonal Outdoor Pool.” There isn’t one. It’s under construction “Sorry, and it’s so hot out today” desk said.
#4 Hotel.com “Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access” After several speed tests from this connection, it’s 200 KBS. That’s Super Super slow connection speeds. Not HIGH-Speed
#5 Pop machine “Out of order”
#6 The marquee says “Free Hot Waffle Breakfast” lobby sign says, “Sorry waffle iron doesn’t work.” Breakfast was a box of doughnuts, some cereal and 1/8 of a gallon of milk in the fridge. Probably expired. We didn’t stay to find out.
#7 Hotels.com “irons/ironing boards.” No iron or ironing board in room 118.
#8 Hotels.com “All units feature microwaves and refrigerators.” No fridge or microwave in room 109.

Please stay away!

Room Tip: Stay Away....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik M, Manager at Knights Inn North Platte, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thanks for your comments concerning our hotel. I apologize that the room and amenities were not up to your standards. We are constantly striving to improve our property and I do appreciate feedback to let us know where we need to focus our work and updates.
1. We have an older lock system and are currently looking for a new system for our property. We expect to have this in the fall.
2. Towards the end of June we had to let our head housekeeper go. Rooms were not being checked properly. We have recently hired a new head housekeeper who is responsible to ensure all housekeepers know their work and are able to complete their work up to the head housekeepers high standards.
3. The pool has been retired due to rising costs of daily operation and costs of new state pool requirements. To keep the pool going we would have to raise costs of the rooms and we've found most guests enjoy the low rates rather than the pool. Hotels.com was notified the pool was closed and I had not realized they had not changed their site. I appreciate you letting us know that was still on their site so that we can inform them.
4. Our current wi-fi speed is 1.5 mps and can be used if we have many people using the wi-fi at one time. We are switching internet and TV providers to a company that is in the process of moving into town. They use fiber optics and our wi-fi speed will be 10 mps. We will be switching to their service at the end of August. We are very excited for the increased speed and expanded TV selection they will provide.
5. We have a Coke machine in our breakfast area that works very well and is kept stocked with a good selection. For a short time we had a competing soda machine, however we had many problems with it that were not fixed properly. The machine has been removed.
6. Our waffle machine had gone down the morning at 7:30. One side of the machine had stopped heating and the waffles would not cook properly. We had a new machine the next day and it has been working great. I am confused about the comment concerning the milk being expired. We typically go through 1 to 2 gallons of milk per day.
7 and 8. Again, thank you for pointing out what Hotels.com states on their website so that we may have it corrected. Their site should read that irons and ironing boards are available and that microwaves and refrigerators are available. Most of our rooms have a microwave and refrigerator and we are able to accommodate a guest who requests them for their room. Iron and boards are available through the front desk and we are happy to bring them to a guest who requests them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The main reason we chose to stay at the Knights Inn was because we are traveling and we saw a sign for $53 a room per night. We arrived after midnight so the lack of cleanliness wasn't apparent until the next morning. From the parking lot you have to enter a vestibule area to get to the stairs, which was filthy! The carpets looked like they had never been cleaned and dead bugs covered the window sill. I doubt a power washer could have cleaned the dirt out of the vestibule floor. Once in the rooms, the sheets seemed clean and I slept okay on the mattress. When I walked over to the bathroom in the morning you could see the line of built up dust along the carpeted floor which obviously couldn't be reached by the vacuum. Either way it looked like the room hadn't had a spring clean in years. There was hair here and there on the sink and counter. I would not have taken a shower if I didn't have flip flops with me. The toilet and shower were in a separate room that was far less clean than the outer area with sink. You could see the water marks on the tiles in the shower and knew it hadn't been washed down between guests. Also, there was a layer of built up grime on the back of the toilet under the bowl which was also on the shower head. It looked like the metal of a ship that had been underwater for decades. The floor looked like it hadn't had a good scrub in months. The water pressure was fine and temperature, but the shower curtain was so long you had to partially stand on it while in the shower. Overall, the room wasn't the worst I've stayed in, but it would definitely be one of the last resorts.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik M, Manager at Knights Inn North Platte, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for the comments concerning your stay with us. The past few months have been quite busy and we've enjoyed having so many wonderful travelers staying with us. Our challenge is to have staff that up to the task of providing clean rooms. From checking rooms and hearing feedback from guests we realized our head housekeeper was not effectively providing for our guests and had to be let go. We have a new head housekeeper who has taken note of guest comments and is working with the staff to ensure each room is up to her high standards and ensure that work, such as shampooing carpets or replacing non-slip shower mats, is being done. The carpet in the stairwell is going to be replaced soon with vinyl tile. We had to special order the tile and we look forward to having it installed on the first of August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knights Inn North Platte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn North Platte

Address: 501 Halligan Drive, North Platte, NE 69101 (Formerly Sands Motor Inn)
Location: United States > Nebraska > North Platte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 hotels in North Platte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn North Platte 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Knights Inn North Platte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn North Platte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.