We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed early because they didn't want to be busy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Canteen Bar & Lounge

Canteen Bar & Lounge
2102 S Jeffers St, North Platte, NE 69101-9694
308 535 6168
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 73 Restaurants in North Platte
Price range: $10 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Closed early because they didn't want to be busy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Half of our party was in the restaurant and the other half was on the way to meet them. The group that was already in the lounge was told that the rest of the group could not join because they were closing early due to the fact that there were three wedding blocks booked at the hotel and they did not want to be busy.
Basically, they didn't want to make money that evening. You would think the manager who creates the schedule would have more than two people on a Saturday night when the hotel has three wedding groups staying there.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    38
    16
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Platte, Nebraska, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Flat rock”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Canteen is a great place to eat. It's a good sitdown meal in North Platte and is convenient to the Interstate. The food range is good also, sandwiches to steaks and prime rib. The seafood is also about as good as it gets in North Platte. It is a little loud on weekends as it can be a little sports bar-y.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Platte, NE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Favorite place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I have never had a bad meal here. The lunch menu offers some unusual selections that are fantastic. Make sure and order the garlic butter with your steak.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So so, but convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My companion and I chose to eat at the Canteen because we were staying at the Quality Inn, and, after over 12 hours on the road, we were just not in the mood for traveling any more. The restaurant is located in the motel, and there is a 10% discount for hotel guests.

We both ordered the chicken sandwich on a croissant. The chicken was reasonable, nothing special, but ok. The waitress was pleasant, but the kitchen was very slow. Serving the csandwich on a croissant was a mistake, since the croissant did not have the bulk to hold up a sandwich, so we abandoned the sandwich idea, and ate the chicken breast without the bread. That was fine, since the croissants were stale.

This restaurant appears to be a popular place with locals, as there were several large tables filled with people who appeared to know each other as well as the waitstaff.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, MT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Their lunch room is very reasonable. Their dinner items ate more expensive, but excellent steaks and other menu item.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canteen Bar & Lounge also viewed

North Platte, NE
 

Been to Canteen Bar & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canteen Bar & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.