We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK experience and food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Depot Restaurant

Depot Restaurant
520 N Jeffers St, North Platte, NE 69101
308-534-3900
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 71 restaurants in North Platte
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Vail, Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“OK experience and food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I never have high expectations of restaurants in smaller towns in midwest, and this was my experience at the Depot in North Platte. Service was OK, no excessive wait.
Ordered a French Dip sandwich, which was OK shredded beef on a mediocre bun.
Side salad was OK.

While food service was adequate, the restaurant did not seem to have a welcoming atmosphere. Some cleanliness issues.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    3
    13
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A Bit of a Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Depot Restaurant was highly recommended, but we were rather disappointed.

Part of the problem was the service. Our server acted as if we were in a rush--or maybe it was just she who was in a rush. Sometimes she brought what we needed in a timely manner, and sometimes not. She called us "honey" or "sweetie," which was annoying. We don't have an intimate relationship with her and have no desire for one.

The food was o.k. The salads were large and reasonably fresh. My wife had ribs, which had been parboiled and then thrown on the grill for a bit. Not a good way to prepare them. I had prime rib, which was just fine and was done just as I ordered. For some reason, however, the mashed potatoes came with a thick brown gravy rather than au jus. I should have asked Sweetie about them but decided to pass.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here coming back from the west coast. There were lots of people waiting to be seated and quite a few tables open. Finally a server came up to the first group and asked if they were waiting to be seated. She said it would be 20 minutes even though there were open tables because they were short staffed. She was quite rude and didn't offer other options like waiting at the bar. We left! Mostly because we were travelingand were already behind schedule but I also sure didn't want her waiting on us. I am not sure what the other people did but that was potential for a loss of a dozen people from one small interchange.
The decor was very neat and I was super excited about the special!
If we are through North Platte again, we would give it a second chance.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Get one of Diane's tables”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Ask to be seated at one of Diane's tables, and ask her anything about the property, the restaurant/menu, North Platte, etc. She's a gem! Dinner was just what we had in mind (very complete menu), moderate price, easy parking.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food, with overly poor service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have been to this restaurant on a few occasions and have found that if they don't know you you will get poor service, I have been in this establishment with local regulars and received excellent service, but never when on my own or with family. We stopped at an odd time, about 4:00 in the afternoon. Over half of the menu said availabe after 5:00. When we tried to get someones attention to ask about that policy our waitress skolded us and said we were asking the wrong person. Our waitress however was busy talking to other customers for another 5 minutes. She finally came over and took our order, but was distracted the whole time. They did let us order off of the entree menu before 5:00. It is worth the try, but be prepared for the worst.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Depot Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Depot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Depot Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.