We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so much the Fat Controller , but the Fat Visitor !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Spike Tower and Visitor Center

Golden Spike Tower and Visitor Center
1249 North Homestead Road, North Platte, NE 69101
+1 308-532-9920
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
581 reviews 581 reviews
335 attraction reviews
Reviews in 220 cities Reviews in 220 cities
371 helpful votes 371 helpful votes
“Not so much the Fat Controller , but the Fat Visitor !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

A mate of mine would still be in the Tower if he ever went here , train mad he is ! But I must admit it was a fascinating visit and we learnt a lot as it was us & the volunteer (ex-conductor) !! The old bloke lived and breathed trains and was a real treat to talk and listen too ! You will experience a Panoramic View of the largest railway yard in the World and it explains why you see so many Union Pacific Locos on your travels ! Also I got my first Senior Rate (over 55) and saved while the child bride had to pay full whack !! It's good to be getting old sometimes !!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    32
    9
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun at the switching yard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Indulge your inner geek and make a visit to the Union Pacific switching yard, the largest in the US. The new Golden Spike Tower gives you a great view, and tells the story of railroads in America.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“A must-see when in North Platte.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

You can't pass through North Platte, Nebraska without checking out the world’s largest railroad yard. The Golden Spike Tower was built to show visitors the yard from an aerial view, and also tell visitors what goes on in the yard during a 24-hour period. Movies, displays, and volunteers answer questions and explain what you are seeing. There is both an outdoor viewing deck, and an indoor viewing area. Elevator, bathroom, and a gift shop are all on site. For people that really enjoy trains, it’s easy to spend a good part of a day here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“An excellent educational experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I enjoyed learning about the railroad and seeing all of the trains being moved around. I had no idea there was a place like this and it gave me a new appreciation for what the railroads mean to our country.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“amazing place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

a must for railroad fans world wide...as it offers great views of the in famous Bailey yard (largest in the world) and a history of the UP.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Spike Tower and Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Golden Spike Tower and Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Spike Tower and Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.