We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time experience of chucking monkey nut shells on the floor....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill

Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill
311 Halligan Dr, North Platte, NE 69101
308-532-0660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 73 Restaurants in North Platte
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We feature wood-fired grilled steaks, award-winning BBQ and so much more cooked over full-sized logs of oak and ash.
Genneteil, France
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“First time experience of chucking monkey nut shells on the floor....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We were brought here by our tour guides and it didn't disappoint. Eating peanuts whilst we waited for our order made it entertaining. We were a large group...about 20 people and predominantly the waiting staff coped admirably, getting all meals out in a reasonable period at the same time as other meals.

Is a bit reminiscent of an old fashioned public bar in the uk with peanut shells on the floor instead of sawdust.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    74
    47
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
northplatte
1 review
“Worst ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

I don't know what happened to this place. Where to start, our waitress took forever to wait on us, we didn't get the bread until right before the meal. When we Sat down the peanut can wasn't even a 1/4 full, and the peanuts weren't even whole. When we placed our drink oder we ordered chips and spinach for, the chips were stale and the dip was cold we didn't even place our drink order till 20 minutes after we Sat down. So we get our food after waiting 45 minutes and upon arrival the baked beans had a hair in them. Chicken fried chicken was like eating a hockey puck. The baby back ribs were over cooked, sorry just wasn't impressed for the money we spent. Shoulda went to McDonalds.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor Man's Texas Roadhouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Everything about Whiskey Creek was average. The service, food, atmosphere, etc. After a long drive from Illinois, we enjoyed a sit-down, steak meal but we certainly wouldn't rave about anything about this place. It was solid but not spectacular.

We have never been to a Whiskey Creek, but this place reminded us a lot of a scaled-down Texas Roadhouse restaurant we have visited. There were peanut shells on the floor and it played up the Wild West.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Prime Rib Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stopped for dinner at 6:30 on a Friday and were seated within 20 minutes without a reservation. For a little less than $50.00 we each had 12 ounce wood-fired prime rib (I know too much, but we managed) with 2 sides. I chose medium for my prime which was perfect. The hubby chose medium-well which he felt was a little over. We had fire-grilled veggies which were coated in a sauce and brocolli which was perfect with the prime rib. The atmosphere was family friendly with western decor.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We wished this place was in our home town. The food was excellent as was the service. My wife had the potato soup that was fantastic except... someone spilled a can of pepper in it so that was exchanged for chili which was incredible. She is still talking about how great that chili was. I will go out of my way to eat here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill also viewed

North Platte, NE
 

Been to Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whiskey Creek Wood Fire Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.