We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG Amazing views... not disabled friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plodda Falls

Plodda Falls
Tomich, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Tomich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“OMG Amazing views... not disabled friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I walked the 300 m to see this as was going to come back for my husband as he is disabled and although doesnt use a wheelchair has walking difficulties... however none of the routes are suitable for disabled people with these difficulties which is a shame as its a spectacular site

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    31
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Need good legs but worth it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Beautiful area and if your looking for some Highland falls its a good place to go. Be aware that it is in the middle of no where and there is no food around. The road leading to Plodda falls raises your heart beat (worse than the Greek roads and muddy).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our GPS battery died so we ended up having to find Plodda Falls by following various signs (mostly from memory after looking on the internet that morning). It's really well hidden, and the drive was very bumpy and the car got dusty. However, it was totally worth it. It was beautiful!! We walked all the way down the hill, and then had to walk all the way back up again, which we enjoyed due to the wonderful views. There are a couple of different routes though so dont let that put you off. The parking ticket machine was out of order, so we didnt have to pay for parking. I think there is usually a charge of £2 (I might be wrong though). Again, its worth it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a stunning area with great views, the falls themselves are spectacular and the view points great. You need a fairly good head for heights for the upper viewing platform but the vista is worth it. The longer walk to the falls does require a little fitness but the shorter route (300m) is manageable. The last 3miles of road to the falls is quite rough for family saloons but still ok with care. There is a pay for parking machine in car park but it is currently covered with no fee.
All in all well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Hidden gem of a place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Getting to Plodda Falls is tricky and you would need good directions/GPS to get there. and be warned most cellphone signals disappear enroute.
But once you get there. it is a beautiful place for a hike. there are so many places for taking fantastic pictures and the falls themselves do not disappoint.
There are benches provided, but not a litter box, so carry your litter back to a place where you can dispose off it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plodda Falls also viewed

 
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
Beauly, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Plodda Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plodda Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.