We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Key Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Crystal Key Inn to your Saves list
Crystal Key Inn
314 S. 4th, Newman Grove, NE 68758-0369   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Newman Grove B&B and Inns
nebraska
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Wonderful Victorian inn in a peaceful town. Has five rooms decorated with antiques. Rooms had comfortable beds, nice bathrooms. Great breakfast. The hosts are very hospitable and know how to make you feel at home. We have stayed here three times and it was excellent each time. A good place to relax and unwind. We spent a little time getting to know the innkeepers and it was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rose room has a private bathroom. Also a main floor room so you won't have to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Pretty yellow Victorian inn about 2 hours from Omaha. The innkeepers are friendly and make a delicious breakfast. Just a few rooms - including one on the first floor for people who don't like to climb stairs. One on the top would be fun for people with kids as has turret area.Nice hot shower, comfortable bed, pitcher of ice water at night and lovely open air porch to enjoy. The common rooms feel like Grandma's house. Not alot of food options in town, but we enjoyed good bar-b-q and a rainbow at the ice cream take out in nearby Albion. Nice to meet local folks in town for their highschool reunion.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

A lovely stay in a small town complete with a sand green golf course. This is where you go to relax, read, and rest. Awesome food with wonderful innkeepers. We enjoyed our stay very, very much and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis MO
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

As a business traveler, this location is perfect. When I'm done with business in the Norfolk area and want to get started on the road back to Omaha, I use the Crystal Key Inn as my stopping place for the night. The hosts are so personable, the house so tastefully done and sparkling, and the breakfasts always so great, that I recommend them again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Helen and I stayed with Earl and Dianne Zeller at the Crystal Key Inn this past weekend. The countryside was bland, dry, and still screaming for spring, but our stay was divine.
It is truly God's country, and Newman Grove was a fine choice for a B & B. Northeast Nebraska is a true treasure waiting to be picked, and more people should venture there. Crystal Key Inn has a story of history and quilts, and a true story, and Newman Grove is a fine town, and known to be the Norweigan capital of Nebraska. Everything is close. Lots of golf courses to choose from if you like golf. Everything affordable, especially the Bed and Breakfast. Food was terrific, hospitality very special, rooms were very comfortable, and Earl and Dianne were available to visit with. We loved that, but know that they would pick up on it very soon, if we chose not to visit. Very nice people, nice town, nice location. Nice get-away to get a chance to shut your phones off, your computer traffic, and just catch your breath for another go at the world.
I'd recommend Crystal Key Inn in a heartbeat. Come to Nebraska. Tell your friends about the jewel on the prairrie, and find a value in the Heartland.

Room Tip: We had the garden view room. saw all the others. Loved them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska USA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed here recently while in town on business. There are no other lodging options in town. Was slightly pricey (I paid $119 for main floor large bedroom with private roomy bathroom and porch but upstairs rooms were charming and $99). I was happy to pay the price for the convenience of not having to stay 20-30 miles away in a shabby hotel. Owners Diane and Earl were a delight! Knowledgeable, gracious, helpful and excellent cooks!! I requested a healthy breakfast and they served up perfect coffee, flavorful frittata with fruit on the side. The house itself is a gorgeous Victorian in a quiet section of the small town. The decorating is outstanding. I definately recommend this property and will stay if I am in the area again---

Room Tip: Convenient to highway. Check all of the rooms out - they all have charming personalities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The Crystal Key Inn is charming in every way. The accommodations are lovely and we left so refreshed. We had a wonderful time. Earl and Diane are wonderful hosts. We highly recommend this B&B and will return as we have the opportunity. Norman and Stephanye, Omaha, NE

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crystal Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Key Inn

Address: 314 S. 4th, Newman Grove, NE 68758-0369
Location: United States > Nebraska > Newman Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newman Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crystal Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Key Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.