We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in charming Nebraska town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Key Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Crystal Key Inn to your Saves list
Crystal Key Inn
314 S. 4th, Newman Grove, NE 68758-0369   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Newman Grove B&B and Inns
Nebraska USA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Oasis in charming Nebraska town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed here recently while in town on business. There are no other lodging options in town. Was slightly pricey (I paid $119 for main floor large bedroom with private roomy bathroom and porch but upstairs rooms were charming and $99). I was happy to pay the price for the convenience of not having to stay 20-30 miles away in a shabby hotel. Owners Diane and Earl were a delight! Knowledgeable, gracious, helpful and excellent cooks!! I requested a healthy breakfast and they served up perfect coffee, flavorful frittata with fruit on the side. The house itself is a gorgeous Victorian in a quiet section of the small town. The decorating is outstanding. I definately recommend this property and will stay if I am in the area again---

Room Tip: Convenient to highway. Check all of the rooms out - they all have charming personalities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The Crystal Key Inn is charming in every way. The accommodations are lovely and we left so refreshed. We had a wonderful time. Earl and Diane are wonderful hosts. We highly recommend this B&B and will return as we have the opportunity. Norman and Stephanye, Omaha, NE

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, NE
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

What a great B&B! I had the opportunity to stay with Diane and Earl at their B&B on a business trip. From the moment I walked in, my gracious hosts shared their passion for hospitality. The Crystal Key Inn is comfortable and the innkeepers are accommodating. We held a meeting in the dining room and needed projection equipment - Earl was making sure everything worked and cords were safe, etc. A lovely snack had been prepared and served to the attendees, delicious and delightful! One of the best parts of my stay was connecting with the resident kitties....loved them! Purrrrfect companions to the visiting guests. :) I spent a very restful night in the Rose Room, located at the top of the stairway on the second floor. My bed was nestled in the bay window, part of the turret which makes the house exterior design so classic! WOW! The room was nicely decorated and in suite bath was perfect. So often in older B&Bs, the bathroom is shared and located down the hall...not so here...and the stall shower was perfect! I was able to continue working on my computer in my room and experienced a great night of rest! Diane and Earl are fabulous innkeepers and the Crystal Key Inn is a hidden gem located in a small town not too far from Norfolk and Columbus. Delightful! Delightful!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherland, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We called Earl and Diane late in the afternoon seeking lodging for the night. They graciously accepted our reservation on very short notice. Our room was the wonderful "Garden View" room on the main floor. It is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We had a great nights sleep in the very comfortable king-size bed, and awoke to a delicious cornmeal pancake and sausage breakfast. Afterward we were treated to a tour of the historic home and a tale of its history and restoration. The rooms on the second and third floor look like they make wonderful accommodations as well. I highly recommend the Crystal Key Inn for anyone exploring northeast Nebraska.

Room Tip: The Garden View room on the first floor means no steps and has a private bath. The second floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campo Bom, RS
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I fell in love with Crystal Key Inn as soon as I drove up and even more so as I entered and saw the beautiful and comfortable decorations. Earl and Diane made me feel welcome and provided for each of my needs. The breakfasts were amazing. The room was clean, homey and comfortable. Thanks for a good restful trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

At the Crystal Key Inn, you will find a very comfortable, relaxing, and welcoming home. You will find the peaceful atmosphere very calming and restful! The home itself has such wonderful character and charm. The beds are super comfortable!! If you like to read, make sure you bring a book so that you can sit by the toasty fireplace and read as you enjoy a fresh cup of coffee. What makes Crystal Key Inn so special? Diane and Earl - the owners! They are very kind, gracious hosts who make your stay so special. They are all about serving and satisfying their guests. We are always treated wonderfully when we stay at Crystal Key! To top off your stay, you will be amazed with a fantastic breakfast!! We have gone for the last several years for a girls getaway and we are never disappointed!

Room Tip: The suite on third floor is great! Sitting in a the sunny turret is so relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pryor, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My husband and other family members have stayed at this inn a few times when visiting family in Newman Grove. We have stayed in the rose room and also the suite on the top floor. All great rooms! This in the only B&B I have ever stayed in (I prefer hotel rooms) but you cannot beat the breakfast and service in the morning. If you stay here you will feel like you are staying at Grandmas! :)
Comfortable beds and they will assist you with anything you need. Also they have a code for the door to use so don't worry about being bothered if you come and go.

Room Tip: The rose room and the suite both have a private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crystal Key Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Key Inn

Address: 314 S. 4th, Newman Grove, NE 68758-0369
Location: United States > Nebraska > Newman Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newman Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crystal Key Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Key Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.