We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lied Lodge & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Lied Lodge & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lied Lodge & Conference Center
2700 Sylvan Road, Nebraska City, NE 68410   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Hayrack Cider & S'mores
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Nebraska City
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great for Families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Lied Lodge was a great setting for our family reunion in July 2014. All the attractions at Arbor Day Farm are within walking distance of the lodge and golf is close by as well. Nice, large, indoor pool. Park across the street had a covered pavilion, which served us well for a picnic in the park. Check in and check out was smooth and easy. The rooms are nothing fancy, but very comfortable. The staff was really great to us all weekend. The lobby provided free coffee in the mornings and fresh apples 24 hours a day. Everyone in our group enjoyed the lodge and grounds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. We love to hear from those who were part of a family reunion here. We are grateful you chose us to be a part of your family's memories. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    68
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
49
73
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

What a great surprise. Lovely grounds and very friendly staff. Highly recommend this stop. The tees are beautiful and loved the trails and the walk through the wooded areas. Missed the apple pie which we heard was terrific. Had a very enjoyable dinner in the restaurant as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We appreciate your comments. We are delighted to hear you stay was a great experience. We hope you will come again and get some of that delicious apple pie you missed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We spent two relaxing days at the beautiful Lieds Center. On a recommendation of a friend we went to a place that we knew little about. We found the hotel to be beautiful, with large wooden beams, a huge pool, and great restaurant. The attached tree farm made for hiking and more relaxation. The rates are low and the value is great. With a staff that is informed and accomodating.

Room Tip: The open terrace on the third level that overlooks the forest is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your telling us about your experience. You were able to see a lot of what we have to offer and we are happy to hear you had a good time. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osborn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

So beautiful with huge log beams all over the lodge. We felt like we were in a forest. Our room was wonderful with a vaulted ceiling. Comfy beds, clean, great pool/spa/sauna. Nice walking trails. We found out about "Hot" prices and took advantage of it, about half-price. Lots of fun things to do around this exceptional town--antiques, Lewis & Clark Center, golfing, and of course, the Arbor Day Farm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with vaulted ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate hearing from guests about their stay. We are hopeful you will stay with us again the next time you find yourself in Nebraska City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed at the Lied Lodge this weekend for a family reunion. The lodge itself is nice, but a bit run down. The rooms were large enough, but the pillows were terrible (soft and flat - bring your own). All the vending machines were out of soda, so the bar or the gift shop were the only options to grab a drink. Wine tasting from 5-7 each night is a nice option. The food is very ok - nothing great, but certainly nothing bad. The best thing about the property is the grounds. Beautiful views from the back patio where you can enjoy drinks and food if you'd like. The walking trails around the lodge are lovely as well. It worked nicely for a reunion.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you telling us some ways we can improve. We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newalla
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The positives: Very green & environmentally conscientious, especially relating to trees; hotel structured with magnificent tree trunks, creating an impressively soaring lobby; recycling provided for even in guestrooms; delightful staff (particularly Nina, Treva, Shelley, and Cindy in the Timber Dining Room, plus Amanda and the kindergarten teacher in the gift shop); the best apple pie anywhere outside of my mother’s kitchen (we also purchased three to take home), as well as a very superior chocolate cream pie; excellent coffee in the lobby; a small quiet space off the lobby for reading with one’s feet up; safer (more textured) surface in tub/shower than other hotels; beautiful grounds with walking paths; gorgeous glassware (self-described “clean glassmaking”) that we purchased in the gift shop, along with excellent popcorn.

But, alas, the negatives: Very disappointing dining (other than the desserts) compared to our stay in 2001 (the main reason for this return visit); bedding not updated/upgraded to duvets (they make a huge difference in sleep comfort); uncomfortable chair in room with no way to put feet up; no small table by chair to place coffee cup; strolling the beautiful grounds now quite limited, again as compared to 2001, by an admission-required adventure park.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry your stay wasn't as enjoyable as your previous visit. We do have a new dinner menu that is getting good reviews. It sounds like you were able to try our new dessert menu. We also thank you for your good reviews on the staff. We will be sure to pass that on. We are sorry you experienced some frustrations with the room as well. We do have a walking trail available from the Lied Lodge that don't cost anything. Our Tree Adventure has extra walking trails available, but it does cost admission to get into the Tree Adventure. We do hope you will give us a try again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Where do I start? The beds are very comfortable which was a very important factor in picking our hotel. After reading a variety of reviews of area hotels from Nebraska City to Omaha, I'm positive we picked the best place. The coffee in the lobby available at 6:00 was a great start to our day. Clean rooms, wonderful staff, enjoyable pool. My daughter and I had a room on the first floor and were a little concerned about "noise" that was reported in a previous review. In fact, we had the very room the reviewer complained about. I'm relieved to say we didn't have any issues. The location was perfect for just walking out of our room and onto the walking trails. Tranquil and calming experience. We ate breakfast in the restaurant and had a delicious buffet well worth the price. If we visit the area again, we would definitely stay here again. In fact, our friends who stayed at other hotels in the area wished they stayed here. I heartily endorse this location. In fact, they have a wine tasting on Friday and Saturday from 5 - 7 which is well worth a try too. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Pool is on the first floor. Third floor is the main level. Take this into consideration if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you telling your friends about us. We are happy to hear you had such a relaxing stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lied Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lied Lodge & Conference Center

Address: 2700 Sylvan Road, Nebraska City, NE 68410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Nebraska City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Nebraska City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Lied Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lied Lodge And Conference Center
Lied Hotel Nebraska City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lied Lodge & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.