We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Miss The 2001 Version” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lied Lodge & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Lied Lodge & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lied Lodge & Conference Center
2700 Sylvan Road, Nebraska City, NE 68410   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Hayrack Cider & S'mores
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Nebraska City
Newalla
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We Miss The 2001 Version”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The positives: Very green & environmentally conscientious, especially relating to trees; hotel structured with magnificent tree trunks, creating an impressively soaring lobby; recycling provided for even in guestrooms; delightful staff (particularly Nina, Treva, Shelley, and Cindy in the Timber Dining Room, plus Amanda and the kindergarten teacher in the gift shop); the best apple pie anywhere outside of my mother’s kitchen (we also purchased three to take home), as well as a very superior chocolate cream pie; excellent coffee in the lobby; a small quiet space off the lobby for reading with one’s feet up; safer (more textured) surface in tub/shower than other hotels; beautiful grounds with walking paths; gorgeous glassware (self-described “clean glassmaking”) that we purchased in the gift shop, along with excellent popcorn.

But, alas, the negatives: Very disappointing dining (other than the desserts) compared to our stay in 2001 (the main reason for this return visit); bedding not updated/upgraded to duvets (they make a huge difference in sleep comfort); uncomfortable chair in room with no way to put feet up; no small table by chair to place coffee cup; strolling the beautiful grounds now quite limited, again as compared to 2001, by an admission-required adventure park.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry your stay wasn't as enjoyable as your previous visit. We do have a new dinner menu that is getting good reviews. It sounds like you were able to try our new dessert menu. We also thank you for your good reviews on the staff. We will be sure to pass that on. We are sorry you experienced some frustrations with the room as well. We do have a walking trail available from the Lied Lodge that don't cost anything. Our Tree Adventure has extra walking trails available, but it does cost admission to get into the Tree Adventure. We do hope you will give us a try again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    68
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
49
73
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Where do I start? The beds are very comfortable which was a very important factor in picking our hotel. After reading a variety of reviews of area hotels from Nebraska City to Omaha, I'm positive we picked the best place. The coffee in the lobby available at 6:00 was a great start to our day. Clean rooms, wonderful staff, enjoyable pool. My daughter and I had a room on the first floor and were a little concerned about "noise" that was reported in a previous review. In fact, we had the very room the reviewer complained about. I'm relieved to say we didn't have any issues. The location was perfect for just walking out of our room and onto the walking trails. Tranquil and calming experience. We ate breakfast in the restaurant and had a delicious buffet well worth the price. If we visit the area again, we would definitely stay here again. In fact, our friends who stayed at other hotels in the area wished they stayed here. I heartily endorse this location. In fact, they have a wine tasting on Friday and Saturday from 5 - 7 which is well worth a try too. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Pool is on the first floor. Third floor is the main level. Take this into consideration if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you telling your friends about us. We are happy to hear you had such a relaxing stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus, Kansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our group of nearly 40 ranged in age from infant to over 70. Lied Lodge was central to a host of attractions. Kids enjoyed the Olympic size pool. We enjoyed being able to walk to where we wanted to go.

Our family, including two children age 17 and 21, enjoyed connecting rooms on the 4th floor overlooking the Hazelnut grove. You can add a small refrigerator and microwave for a nominal charge, which we did. You'll find the rooms quiet.

Take advantage of the low-cost extra activities. Wine tastings in the lobby cost $5 for four different selections, plus you have a souvenir wine glass to take home. I'm not a wine drinker, but still enjoyed this.

Room Tip: 4th-floor rooms feature vaulted ceilings and are cozy (which doesn't mean small). Others at our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate the nice words. We hope you will come again and let us be a part of your next family reunion's memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickerson, Nebraska, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Always love coming here. Staff is accommodating and pleasant. Beautiful surroundings and nice, clean rooms. We visit every opportunity we get and it's always nearly perfect! Plenty of activities that change with the seasons. We'll be back.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear you call us your place. We love to be a part of guests memories. We will see you again when you come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My sister is hosting a quilting convention at this facility so we wanted to stay here as "normal guests" to see what the rooms and service were like. We were pleased with the ease of booking the room, and the room was quite nice. If I were to stay again I'd ask for a room with a ground floor patio, as it looked quite pleasant for the guests in those rooms. We walked around the grounds and started down the walking path behind the hotel. There is nothing particularly outstanding about this facility, but we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Book a room with an outdoor patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We hope to have you here shortly for your sewing group. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at the Lied Lodge for 3 nights for a business meeting. Beautiful place. Grounds are spectacular. Hotel has open log format. Guest rooms even have log supports. Great meeting space. Many weddings are held there. We did eat at their restaurant and thought the quality did not justify their price. My $22 steak was extremely over cooked, I order medium rare and it arrived well done. After I sent it back they cooked another one and it was just barely pink or what I call medium well. By that time my wife had almost finished her meal so I made do. I would stay at the hotel but not eat in their restaurant again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We do apologize that your steak was not cooked the way you asked. We appreciate you letting us know. We are pleased that you did enjoy the rest of your stay. We hope you stay with us the next time you're in Nebraska City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enola, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Beautiful lodge, great food in their dining room, and quaint rooms. My only complaint is the timber log in the middle of the room to separate the bedroom area from the bathroom area. Anyone who has to get up at night could run into it if not careful. I asked if all rooms had it and was told, "yes."
we were there at a great time of year...the dining area was never crowded and the food choices were good. Both my dinner plates were really, really good.

would stay there again if had the chance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We enjoy hearing from our guests and appreciate you telling us what a pleasant stay you had. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lied Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lied Lodge & Conference Center

Address: 2700 Sylvan Road, Nebraska City, NE 68410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Nebraska City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Nebraska City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Lied Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lied Lodge And Conference Center
Lied Hotel Nebraska City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lied Lodge & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.