We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some hits, some misses” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lied Lodge & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lied Lodge & Conference Center to your Saves list
Lied Lodge & Conference Center
2700 Sylvan Road, Nebraska City, NE 68410   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Getaway Package
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Nebraska City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Some hits, some misses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We have been to the Lied Lodge many times, so we decided to bring the kids for a two-night stay over spring break. The hotel was fairly empty, so we were able to use the Olympic-sized pool in peace, as well as sit by the fire in the lobby without competing for the prime seats. Also, our room was comfortable and quiet. The orchards are lovely, and the lobby decor is beautiful. The staff was very accommodating. We were able to get a rate of $79 a night on the Lodge's website. However, upon returning to our room after being out all day, we saw that housekeeping had left the door open. Not cool at all. We have learned to eat in town, because although the menu looks good, the actual food has never been worth the price. It's just not good. The staff in the dining room is also not good, but I'm guessing that there aren't many people in town with this type of experience to choose from. I also agree with a previous poster that the rooms are too dim with the current lighting. If you want to get any work done without going blind, you have to go to the lobby. My last comment would be that the cushions on the gliders by the fireplace need to be replaced. They are old!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We appreciate your comments and your repeat business. Our housekeeping staff has been notified about the guest room door incident to assure that it does not happen again. Thanks, also, for the tip on the glider cushions. We'll see what we can do! Thanks for taking a moment to post; we hope you'll stay with us again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    73
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
56
83
7
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, Usa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice relaxing stay although the rooms and food were nothing special. For the price I expected much more for the room (small bathroom) and higher quality food. The trail behind the lodge is a nice little walk. Wifi was also quite good. Was a little noisy in the hallway late at night.

Room Tip: A room in back would be more scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thanks for taking a moment to post. We do appreciate your comments and hope you'll stay with us again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Lied Lodge is a well-appointed facility, with good quality dining in some beautiful, quiet surroundings. The facility includes a spacious full-service dining room that provided well prepared buffet meals. Rooms are not "five-star" fabulous, but offer a clean rustic charm, and are well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Wonderful! Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay. We look forward to hosting you again soon at Lied Lodge. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I've stayed here once before because this is really the only place to stay in Nebraska City. It is located across the street from my Client's Office. Rooms are spacious and clean. Very quiet hotel and comfortable bed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you! We love hearing from our guests and are pleased that your second visit to Lied Lodge was a very good one. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas city
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

A lot of confusion at check in. The dining room buffet was of poor quality,not hot at all, had to ask for things to be refilled. Paint in bathroom peeling off wall. Fairly clean, tv was old fashioned, no led,LCD tv. Also reserved online and problems with reservation upon arrival.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback, and we apologize that your Lied Lodge experience was not as smooth and enjoyable as it should have been. Your comments have been shared with our employees so we can correct what's wrong and move forward with better service, every time. Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I believe this is now our 5th time staying at Lied Lodge for a long weekend. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that the rooms are getting to point that they could use some updating. Our room was very clean, but in need of an upgrade

I must say this has been the best visit so far regarding customer service. We received a confirmation email (nice touch) a couple of days before our visit. i emailed back with a couple of questions, and had a response almost right away even though it was after normal business hours.

Our checkin was smooth, and the lady who helped us was awesome. I wish I had caught her name because she was warm, friendly and answered a couple of questions for us. After our first night, we met the gal cleaning up our room. She was also very friendly!

We love to come stay here because it gives us a couple of days of rest and relaxation. The lobby oozes of comfort and serenity. We typically like to sit behind the fireplace in the gliders, but they are on need of repair or replacement. Rather squeaky and don't glide as well as they did years ago. The weather has not been our typical cold weather, so that may be why, but the fireplaces weren't being stoked up as much, as we have experienced before.

No matter what, we will return again and again. We love the opportunity to lounge and relax. There is also plenty to keep you occupied around the area.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you! We love hearing from our guests -- especially those who've come back time and time again to enjoy the lodge. Thank you for sharing your feedback, and we'll make sure Maintenance takes a look at the gliders. We look forward to seeing you at Lied Lodge again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We made a swift drive to Omaha for my husband's 93 year old Grandmother's final hours. I know, personal, but it does have something to do with this review. We live just a few hours from Omaha and visit family often. On our way back home we decided we needed another night away from home. Our web search led us to this lodging facility in Nebraska City. It is beautiful with a lodging look. It is centered around trees and the Arbor Day Foundation, which is who handled Grandma's cremation. A tree will be planted in her memory. We plan to come back to visit lots of the neat touristy places in the area. The food in the restaurant could use some improvement to match the price. Pricey! A nice surprise in Nebraska City!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiedLodgeMgr, Guest Relations Manager at Lied Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We're very sorry for your loss, but glad you could find some respite at Lied Lodge and Arbor Day Farm. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lied Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lied Lodge & Conference Center

Address: 2700 Sylvan Road, Nebraska City, NE 68410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Nebraska City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Nebraska City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Lied Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lied Lodge And Conference Center
Lied Hotel Nebraska City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lied Lodge & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.