We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practical, Efficient and Spotless” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Lincoln

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Lincoln to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Lincoln
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3400 NW 12th St., Lincoln, NE 68521 (Formerly Sleep Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #35 of 53 hotels in Lincoln
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Practical, Efficient and Spotless”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2007

We were very pleased with the motel. The rooms were efficiently planned and furnished. There is no bathtub, but a very large and comfortable shower in the room. Everything was clean as a whistle and the beds were very firm yet comfortable. The linens were just fine (I'm surprised by the reaction of a previous reviewer...) and the entire family loved the pool. It is large and warm. The pool is outside, which we prefer in the summertime.
We ordered out pizza and had a nice little party by the pool. Speaking of food, the breakfast was very good. There were hard boiled eggs, waffles you can make yourself, oranges, bananas, cereals, juice, coffee, bagels, etc. The hotel was full but there was no line yet plenty of empty tables at 8 in the morning.
Furthermore, all staff members were very pleasant and friendly.
The hotels in this area form a somewhat strange neighborhood - just hotels, gas stations, and a couple of fast food places spawned by the nearby airport. We took a walk around the area at night and it seemed very safe.

  • Liked — clean and affordable
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    48
    26
    17
    11
See reviews for
52
19
13
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, CO
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 181 cities Reviews in 181 cities
814 helpful votes 814 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2007

We stayed at this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. One person said on their trip from San Fran to Chicago that it was one of their top stays. My husband and I wonder how awful their other hotels must have been to rate this Sleep Inn #1 ??

The hotel is located on the edge of town near warehouses with several other hotels and right in the middle of all the hotels is a store open 24 hrs which advertises that it sells adult novetly toys. This store is located right in front of you when you exit the highway. We were really concerned about staying in this area with two young children.

There are no restaurants anywhere near this hotel except a McDonald's and one other restaurant that is a combo restaurant of several fast foods inside - subs, chinese food, etc. No place for a sit down relaxing dinner.

The front desk man was eating a snack when I arrived and not interested in checking us in. I asked him where the pool was since the hotel website said they had a pool. He said "No pool". No explaination, nothing. The next morning, we noticed that they DO have a pool, it is outdoors and not yet filled for the summer. I wish he would have told us they had a seasonal outdoor pool instead of just saying "No pool".

The lobby was small and smelled heavily of fragant floral air freshner. Way too strong.

Our room was incredibly small. Very basic with two beds. One bed was 6 inches from the wall - that is how small the rooms are. We were disappointed that our room only had a shower - no tub! We needed a tub also for the kids.

The linen on the beds were so thin that you could see through them to the stains on the mattress pad and they did not stay fitted on the bed! There was hair on one of the bed linens also.

And then there was the noise.....you could hear the highway, you could hear the person below you slide their window open and shut, you could hear people walking in the hallways, etc. We had to turn on the AC fan to keep out the outside noise. The AC fan made a rattle noise but at least it was a consistant constant noise other than the hallway, neighbor, and highway noise.

The breakfast was very, very basic. They had lots of donuts, do it yourself waffles (which was a long wait due to a softball team staying there also) - they only had 1 waffle maker which took 3 min a waffle to cook, milk, juice, hard boiled eggs, only two types of cereal, plain oatmeal only. But they did have nice oranges and bananas. And the morning staff lady was very, very nice. But she was also very busy as she had to stock both the breakfast area and check people out at the front desk.

Based on the above comments, I wouldn't stay here again unless I had to.

  • Liked — It was just OK
  • Disliked — the front desk check in man, the lobby smell, the small room, no tub, the NOISE, no pool to use
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

We stayed here on a road trip from San Fran to Chicago and it was definately one of the top places we stopped at. The price was great, the room was clean, and the free breakfast would have been good, but it was a Sat. morning and there were so many people in the dining room that there was a line for the waffle maker, which I did not wait for. The hotel is close to the interstate, so this created a bit of noise with the window open, but I still slept through most of it.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2006

My wife and I stayed here on our second night of a cross-country move along I-80, and we were pleased with our stay at the Sleep Inn. This was a hotel with the expected standard amenities of the Sleep Inn chain, it has easy access to the interstate, and had clean and safe rooms with friendly service. This is a great hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Lincoln

Address: 3400 NW 12th St., Lincoln, NE 68521 (Formerly Sleep Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Lincoln
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 53 hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Lincoln 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% Non Smoking Hotel, Free Wifi in all rooms, Continental Breakfast, news paper etc........Pet friendly, fitness center, business center. Half mile from Municipal airport. Two miles from UNL, state, federal, city office buildings. I80 location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Lincoln
Lincoln Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Lincoln, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.