We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Lincoln - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Lincoln - Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Lincoln - Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   141 North 9th Street, Lincoln, NE 68508   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Lincoln
eugene
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great hotel !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

This hotel is so close to everything downtown and if you need to go anywhere else , the shuttle may be able to take you ! I loved the service there ! Rooms were so clean and big. Great Flat screen TVs and the restaurant/bar was great !
I didn't get a chance to get in the pool because it was closed for service I think but it looked really nice and clean.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    83
    26
    15
    8
See reviews for
34
24
11
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, MD
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Nothing remarkable one way or the other about this hotel. It was fine. It is within walking distance of the campus, stadium, and many restaurants. The morning breakfast buffet is the weakest point. In addition to cereal, pastries, and yogurt, It does include scrambled eggs, sausage, and bacon, but none of it is particularly tasty. The "fresh" fruit is canned. I had to make a real effort to get a refill on my coffee, and never did get the creamer I asked for.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for business during July, August, and September. During this time, I was there for about 32 nights. I really liked the swimming pool, and the fitness center was not bad. The swimming pool was large enough that I felt comfortable doing laps while other people were in the pool. The parking garage is a little difficult to drive in if you have a larger car, but it is not impossible. The hotel is conveniently located downtown, and we were able to walk to dinner every night that we were there. The breakfast buffet was good, but it is not included with your room. Some of the servers in the breakfast area were a little rude in the beginning, but they improved while we were there. Most of the servers were fine though. There were a couple of times when we were there that the hotel was overbooked, and they did not have rooms for my coworkers. I also had a difficult time with some of the housekeeping staff on one of my visits. I tried to explain it to management, but they were very unresponsive. After several weeks, I finally heard from the general manager who thanked me and let me know that things would change. In general, I liked the place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

After a 14 hour road trip, this was the worst welcome ever!

1. They have no valet service (which doesn't mean much to me) but when the parking garage has a separate elevator with NO ramps, using the dolly seems harder than carrying the luggage myself.

2. They have an entire choir in the front lobby which is nice except that there are about 50 people that you have to say "excuse me" as you bring the dolly by and the elevator is completely blocked, when you ask the people to move they give you a very mean stare.

3. Then while trying to watch TV the OPC (Optical Picture Control) shows up every second and the quote "engineer" says it is "IMPOSSIBLE" to disable this setting. Little did he know I have an app on my phone that will allow me to control TVs. I turned the feature off in a second. Every body else in this 15 story hotel is pretty much screwed.

I just cant wait to see how many problems I have in the morning.

P.S. I signed up for Trip Adviser just so I could warn people about this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tterwilliger, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln - Downtown, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Thank you for your response and be assured your concerns do not fall on deaf ears.

Although we do not have a valet parking service we have tried to make our garage as accessible as possible through adding a new garage elevator. Hopefully, that will eliminate some of the frustration of trying to haul luggage from different levels of the garage.

We also apologize for the inconvenience of the choir singing in the lobby. This was during the Christmas season and we do let local choirs come and share their music in our hotel during that time but we will be very mindful of the their location next year. If they were blocking the elevators and clogging the lobby area we need to move them to another location. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

And you are correct on the televisions. We are currently working with all our engineers on the process needed to fix that problem. We apologize for not being able to fix the problem that night as there is a solution.

Please accept our sincere apology for the frustration of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

This was an overnight stop on our back to the east coast from the west coast. The hotel was in the middle of downtown and was worth coming into town. This is a huge Holiday Inn. Our room overlooked the main street and gave us a great view of the city. There was a great restaurant across the street from the hotel. I would liked to have had more time to explore Lincoln.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunfish Lake, MN
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

This facility is within walking distance of the U's Memorial Stadium, which makes it great for seeing the Huskers. But its price on game days is exorbitant. One might better find a less convenient facility and then find some other way to get to the game. Other than that, it's a pretty good Holiday. Breakfast, while not great (and not free), was edible. The exercise facility was barely OK, with two good treadmills, some OK elliptical machines, some free weights, and one of those all-in-one machines that are difficult to use. Nice, large swimming pool. One problem, Accordingly to speedtest.net, the broadband internet (which was free) had up- and downloads at 0.5 ms/sec, and a ping of 100 ms. The former number is terrible and the ping is marginally acceptable. In short, forget using the internet for more than emails and basic browsing. Even then, expect a slow experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tterwilliger, Manager at Holiday Inn Lincoln - Downtown, responded to this review, January 18, 2011
Thank you for your response and just to let you know we have recently changed internet companies and have had much better luck with internet speed as of late. Hopefully the next time you are in town you will stay with us again and let us know if you notice the difference.

Thanks again for staying with us and taking the time to complete a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, IA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

This Holiday Inn offers everything which you can expect from the chain, in a very convenient downtown Lincoln location. The rooms are about average for a hotel of this price and location. The beds are comfortable, rooms on the higher floors offer pleasant views of the city, and the elevators are fast.

As is the case at the other downtown hotels, parking is less than ideal. The Holiday Inn's ramp is directly adjacent to the hotel, which is more convenient than the Marriott's ramp, but the small and cramped spaces were difficult to fit into.

You cannot beat the Haymarket location for its offering of downtown restaurants. I would definitely stay here again if I could get a bargain rate.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Lincoln - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lincoln - Downtown

Address: 141 North 9th Street, Lincoln, NE 68508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Lincoln - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***Newly renovated interior and exterior!*** 100% non-smoking!The Holiday Inn Hotel - Lincoln Downtown is nestled in the heart of Lincoln s Historic Haymarket District and within walking distance to many of the finest restaurants and shops Lincoln has to offer. We are conveniently located near Nebraska's State Capitol, the University of Nebraska Lincoln, (home to the Cornhusker s), Wells Fargo, BNSF, State Farm, NelNet, Tenneco, Kriz Davis, Concord and the recently opened multi screen theater, The Grand. The Holiday Inn Lincoln Downtown offers all of our guests complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, an indoor pool and workout facility, and a newly opened business center. Enjoy dining in the Red Onion Restaurant and Lounge, which offers an extensive menu featuring our signature 'Stone Oven Pizza'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Lincoln - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lincoln - Downtown Hotel Lincoln
Lincoln Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Lincoln - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.