We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Gateau

The Green Gateau
330 S 10th St, Suite 110, Lincoln, NE 68508 (Formerly The Green Gatteau)
402-477-0330
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 552 Restaurants in Lincoln
Price range: $8 - $50
Cuisines: American, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Castle Rock, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The Green Gateau isn't just the best restaurant in Lincoln, it's one of the best anywhere! My husband and I are here in Lincoln for a family wedding, and this was this morning's breakfast restaurant for the family and this evening's late dinner place as well. It has a widely varied menu and everyone has absolutely enjoyed every meal. Service is extremely friendly and efficient and the restaurant layout is such that the noise level stays at a pleasantly low level. We're all going there again tomorrow for brunch and we're all looking forward to the experience. Don't miss this gem if you're in the area!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    52
    16
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere, great food, great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Consistently one of the best places to eat in Lincoln. The food never disappoints! Lovely place for weekend brunch with the ladies, date night or a business lunch. One of Lincoln's hidden gems that will stand out against Haymarket competition.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Nebraska
2 reviews
“OUTSTANDING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The atmosphere is wonderful, fantastic food, little pricey. Service was slow. It wasn't just relaxed, but we had been seated, received drinks , but didn't have menus. 10 in our group so tip was added, plus some occupational tip for the city of Lincoln. House iced tea, lobster bisque and carrot cake are worth the trip. Definitely will make a point of returning.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“never disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The four of us went on a Saturday morning. I had been there once before and had a great meal. This time was no different. I had the traditional breakfast and it came out perfect. My only complaint and it's not really a complaint, but it felt a little too formal for breakfast on game day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A rather disappointing breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We were excited to try breakfast this morning having heard good things from friends. We arrived on a football Saturday around 10:50 and they were busy but there was no wait. We had a very nice server, Blake. We ordered the biscuits and gravy and the chefs breakfast which was scrambled eggs on a croissant. We waited almost 45 minutes for our food. The food was okay, but nothing special. The biscuits and gravy were very different. I could place the flavor in the gravy, not bad just different. $9.00 for one biscuit and a small side of hash browns seemed very, very pricey to me. The croissant with egg was fine but very skimpy on the ham an cheese that was to be in it. Overall would not go back for breakfast.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Gateau also viewed

 

Been to The Green Gateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Gateau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.