We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best brisket in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skeeter Barnes - CLOSED

Skeeter Barnes
5800 S 58th St, Ste A, Lincoln, NE 68516-6401
402-421-3340
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Midwest USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best brisket in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Beef brisket is a dry rub method and is excellent. I've not found a better brisket anywhere. The roasted chicken is also very good.

Prices are reasonable and the decor makes you feel right at home in cattle country!

We love this Nebraska original!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Way better than Famous Daves!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This place needs way more traffic than it's getting. Famous Dave's has nothing on this! I always get the loaded baked potato with pulled pork. Their bbq sauces are also much more tasty than other bbq places. Would highly recommend!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Had a great experience at Skeeter Barnes tonight! Food was great, the ribs were very tender, and the mashed sweet potates are a must try! Service was excellent. Would definitly go again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

the food was great. the service was great. I enjoyed myself here. they have some good steaks yet they are kind of pricey, but very good. I had a real good steak there, and the service was very good. I will return again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tried twice in 2012, but not again.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We hadn't eaten there for years, so tried it in August. The food was tasteless. I filled out a comment card, and a week later in the mail we got 2 coupons for $10 off. So we went again. No better the second time. If you are looking for this type of meal in Lincoln, go to Famous Daves or the other steak house farther East on Highway 2. The only advantage to Skeeter Barnes is both times there were fewer than 5 other groups there. No waiting, and no problem finding a parking spot.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skeeter Barnes also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skeeter Barnes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.