We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there at least once a year.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skeeter Barnes - CLOSED

Skeeter Barnes
5800 S 58th St, Ste A, Lincoln, NE 68516-6401
402-421-3340
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Go there at least once a year.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Large servings, good prices, and good BBQ. WOuld take Skeeter Barnes over Famous Daves anyday. Unusual sides...but so delicious!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, NE
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“once in 6 years.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We've only eaten here one time. Service was slow. Seating was terrible. Didn't feel like we got what we paid for. Some other local bbq joints do a better job.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska/cabo rojo
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good food in a cowboy setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The first thing one notices is that two seats at the bar consist of saddles on a rack. Yep, pretty western. It had been years since I had been to Skeeter Barnes and my wife had never eaten there. Due to other commitments we were dining pretty late. In Lincoln that means after 8 PM!
My wife had a combo of pulled pork and brisket. She liked both. I tried the brisket and it was wonderful. The next day I tried the pulled pork that was supplied at a luncheon I attended and it also was good. The best part of the dinner was the waiter. He was very attentive and friendly. Being so late they were not busy and after dining we spent time talking with him about his education and plans to enter the business himself. He was a nice bright young man who certainly added to the quality of the evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nebraska-style hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I hadn't planned to eat here, but took a chance on the strength of a recommendation and was pleasantly surprised. Dry-rubbed smoked meat is their specialty. I like my meat that way and was pleased with their ribs, brisket, and pulled pork, none of which were overcooked. The house mild and sweet sauces are on your table, but the house hot sauce has to be cooled in the refrigerator, obliging you to ask for it. It's tangy but not overwhelmingly so, and bursting with flavor. I also tried the smoked sausage, imported all the way from Snook, Texas, and found it delightfully peppery. Leroy, our attentive server, exemplified the warm hospitality that makes a visit to Nebraska such a pleasure. This Lincoln establishment is one of four Skeeter Barnes restaurants, all in the Cornhusker State. This is a fine barbecue restaurant that I wish were closer to where I live!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ok but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Hubby craving beef, grabbed phone to check T.Advisor. This rated as best steak according to reviews. The smoked prime rib was pretty good, side of peanut cole slaw was interesting but not what I expected. Service was fabulous and waitress was very good.

All in all I would not seek it out again.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skeeter Barnes also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skeeter Barnes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.