We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Lincoln Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Lincoln Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Lincoln Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   808 R Street, Lincoln, NE 68508   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Lincoln
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very happy with our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband, daughter, and I spent a night and had a great stay. Was a great location. Easy walking to shops, restaurants, Childrens Museum etc. The hotel is very clean and modern. Rooms are great. We had a great view of Memorial stadium out our window. Would be a fun place to stay for a Husker weekend. Our daughter loved the swimming pool. Didn't think the parking situation was bad at all. Just a short walk across the street and not much traffic etc. on kind of a quiet street. We weren't bothered by the construction across the street at all. Maybe because it was a Saturday?? The hotel was nice and quiet. The only halfway negative was that they were out of a lot of the breakfast options by 830am, but still had a few options available. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lincoln Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We are so pleased with your review and look forward to serving you again! We agree that our location is perfect and our new, modern hotel offers so many great amenities for our guests. Thank you for your business! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    35
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
18
3
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is just off the highway from the airport as you come into town and adjacent to the Haymarket district with lots of restaurants and interesting buildings. It is a long walk or short drive to the centre of town, Capitol Building, etc. Parking is provided for a fee in a parking building over the road. The room was attractive and quiet with a separate bedroom. The breakfast voucher allows a limited choice from a cafe area on the ground floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lincoln Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We appreciate your review! We agree that our location is perfectly situated to many of Lincoln's attractions - including the University of Nebraska, Historic Haymarket District, Pinnacle Bank Arena and near the Capitol Building! We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were enthusiastic about the hotel until our breakfast. New ordering system that doesn't work. Breakfast requires a ticket. Order at counter and then wait and wait and wait. Food came out at different times. Spouse was done before kids got their food.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lincoln Downtown, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is essential to our ability to improve services by obtaining feedback from our guests. We are discussing ways to continue to expedite Bistro service especially during high-demand time frames. We hope you'll join us on a future trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here in June of 2013.

Here are the pros:
1. Great location. In Lincoln's Haymarket district. Tons of restaurants, walking distance to the campus and heart of downtown.

2. Relatively new property. Virtually no signs of wear and tear. Very clean.

3. Reasonable rates, especially compared to other downtown hotels.

Now, the issues:
1. Major construction directly across the street. The resulting street closure makes it inconvenient to drive up to the hotel. Lots of construction noise that permeates the rooms. And worst of all for me--Tons of construction dust when you walk outside of the hotel. If the wind picks up and you're outside the hotel--you'll get a mouthful (and an earful and specs of debris on your clothing).

2. Parking is inconvenient. Overnight in-and-out parking is located across the street in a garage. Among the issues--Garage can be full, making it difficult to find a space. (Hotel claims there are reserved spaces for hotel guests, but I didn't see them.) And when you walk outside back to the hotel--you walk right by and right into the construction dust.

3. Staff needs further training. Hotel staff is young and friendly, but many that I encountered could definitely use further training. For example--When my key stopped working in the garage--causing me to walk back over to the hotel in my suit through the construction dust zone--the young lady at the desk proceeded to try and instruct me on proper use of the swiping mechanism at the garage and told me how strange it was that the key would stop working. All I wanted was a smile and a new key so I could walk back through the dust and get my car out of the garage. On another occasion, when I asked a person at the coffee bar when they open for breakfast, her answer was: "7:00 or 7:30, I'm not sure." Really? Unsure of the opening time? There were other incidences where the staff interaction was rough or inadequate--but let's just say that more training is in order.

All in all, the hotel has potential. However--I definitely would avoid staying there until the construction across the street is completed.

Room Tip: If you must stay there during construction--Ask to see the room so you can sample the noise level be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lincoln Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
First, thank you for taking time to review our property. It is our utmost priority to work on achieving the highest in guest satisfaction. We agree that our property is situated in a new, exciting development as a part of the Haymarket district. While the new arena, retail shops and restaurants will ultimately be incredible amenities for our guests to enjoy, it has created some unique circumstances during the building phase and has prompted additional discussion on ways we can create memorable guest experiences. As a result of these discussions, we are happy to let you know that valet parking will be offered in the coming months. We appreciate the feedback you've provided and continue to make strides in having an educated and service-oriented team. It is feedback such as yours that allows us to improve. Should you wish to discuss any of your concerns in greater detail, please feel free to contact me at your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontiac, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice motel. Parking is self parking across street in inconvenient, narrow parking garage.that is very full. No valet parking. Prices are not inexpensive. As mentioned, they do have Starbucks and you can certainly buy breakfast, but at many similar motels a breakfast buffet is included, and at these prices it would have been reasonable. Rooms are standard, but nice and new, and beds are very comfortable. Service was friendly and fine, though we did have to wait ten minutes for someone to come to the front desk to check us in. I would stay here again, but would rather look for a better bargain.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lincoln Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We truly strive to offer top-notch service along with the newest accommodations and amenities. Many of our guests have commented on the comfort of our beds - which we believe to be an incredibly important part of a hotel stay! You'll also be pleased to hear our property will be introducing valet service in the coming months. We hope you'll join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We like hotels like this. It is a great combination of value-pricing with for-sale amenities (like Starbucks coffee and breakfast items in the lobby). We actually booked many rooms at this property for our daughter's wedding (for our very large family). We were very happy. Nice property. Accommodating staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lincoln Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thanks for choosing the Courtyard Marriott Lincoln Downtown to be a part of your family’s special wedding weekend. We appreciate your business and enjoyed the opportunity to serve you. We love to receive positive feedback and strive to ensure each guest of our hotel leaves satisfied and wanting to return. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband, who was not on the trip, booked this hotel as our first night's stay on a drive from Colorado to New York, and we were impressed from the moment we entered the very new lobby until check-out.

We pulled into the loading/check-in area, which could probably accomodate 6 cars at a time, and saw people enjoying the outside lobby area around firepits. At the front desk, we checked-in in no time. He knew we drove from Colorado, said our reservation had been upgraded to two queens and gave us a choice of the parking garage directly across the street with unlimited in and out for an extra $11/day or at on-the-street meters. Since our car was packed full, I chose the garage. He then suggested that I unload whatever I wanted at the hotel's curbside, since the garage had only stairs facing the hotel (using garage elevator adds a block of walking).

We went up to the room with our stuff. The room was very large with 2 queens and a sitting area, lots of outlets, lots of lights and a good-sized, empty refrigerator. Then we went back down to park the car in the garage (I did a u-turn) above the first floor, which was very easy (just swipe your room key) though the spaces were a tiny bit on the narrow side. We went back to the front desk to ask for dining recommendations and picked Italian a block and a half away in the Haymarket. By the time we got back, we vetoed any exercise, though the machines and small pool looked good.

The next morning our final bill had been slipped under the door. We grabbed breakfast at the bistro (oatmeal and egg sandwich), then got the car from the garage (another room key swipe) and loaded up at curbside. Getting back on I-80 was a breeze. I had just spent a week at a Residence Inn in Seattle, and though it had a small kitchen (with useless 2-burner and pots), I liked this Courtyard better. And after the next night in a Courtyard in OH, I liked this Lincoln Courtyard better.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John K, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lincoln Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We work very hard to ensure our guests leave satisfied with both our property’s amenities and our service. We really agree with your assessment of the hotel and are so thrilled that you left impressed with your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back should you pass through Lincoln again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Lincoln Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Lincoln Downtown

Address: 808 R Street, Lincoln, NE 68508
Location: United States > Nebraska > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Lincoln Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Lincoln Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Lincoln Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.