We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much information!!”
Review of Museum of American Speed

599 Oak Creek Drive, Lincoln, NE
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 32 attractions in Lincoln
Type: Museums
16 visitor photos
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    3
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Museum of American Speed
See the most recent reviews
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Too much information!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We enjoy watching motor sports on TV and thought that this would be a really interesting place to visit. As we paid our $10 admission fee we were told the tour would take 2 hours - we thought this was quite long and would have preferred a self guided tour - unfortunately this was not an option. Our guide Duane was extremely knowledgeable and very enthusiastic. There are lots of very interesting exhibits - regrettably we did not wish to know the specifications of ALL the engines....and there were lots. The tour took 3 hours not 2. By the end we had lost the will to live! My recommendation would be to visit this huge museum if you are a real motor/engine enthusiast if you are not then think again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseumAmericanSpeed, Guest Relations Manager at Museum of American Speed, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
The Museum of American Speed would like to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. While preparing for our standard two and a half tours our docents will usually talk with many of you to get a feel for your interest. This in turn helps them tailor the tour a bit since its too hard to talk about everything. Some groups get many racing enthusiast who are excited to hear about all the details and interact during the tours. Sometimes that interaction with the group gets detailed when you have a group that is really enthusiastic about the sport and want to share details back and fourth with the docents. As with all of our docents doing tours, they are very knowledgable in the sport and share the same enthusiasm for the sport as many of our guests do. With that in mind we hope your tour was still enjoyable and we hope you will give us the opportunity to have you back to the museum in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
“Amazing Collection & Helpful Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you are anywhere near Lincoln, Nebraska and have even a passing interest in cars you have to visit this museum. It is an amazing collection of cars, car toys, engines, and more! I've been too the museum 3 times now and every visit has something new. The staff is also extremely helpful and very knowledgeable! Speedway Motors has some of the best customer service I've ever experienced. The museum, Speedway, and the town go out of their way to make visitors feel welcome. Don't miss it!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papillion
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Museum of American Speed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is truly the most comprehensive collection of automotive racing history in the world. It dwarfs the Indy version now at 130,000 sq ft and they plan to add 90,000sq ft shortly. Bill Smith is the founder and major contributor. There is a $10.00 tour admission fee and except for special occasions not open to the public without a guide. There are hundreds of cars, engines, collection displayed. Some of the other collections include peddle cars, hood ornaments, radiator caps, dolls, lunch boxes, and model cars. Tours leave promptly at 2 PM week days and are 3 hours in length or longer. There are placards posted at each display with a very thorough history of each item. The guides are incredibly knowledgeable about all the items on display. A must see for racing buffs and engine afficionados.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC
1 review
“Holy cow! It's more than I dreamed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I wish there were 10 spaces to click instead of just five. I had waited many years, with great anticipation, to visit the Museum of American Speed. And we finally made it this past August 26.It was so much more than I hoped for. Every corner was loaded with history. I had heard so much about the facility, but no words can adequately describe the collection "Speedy Bill" and his wonderful staff has put together. This place is for anyone who has fond memories of the past, or anyone who has ever even sat in a car. Not to be missed!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great stuff inside but a poor tour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This place has an incredible collection of cars and engines mostly related to American oval track racing. Unfortunately, the tour format in which a guide takes you around the museum for about 2-1/2 hours leaves no time to explore anything on one's own.

As a former racer and automotive engineer, I would have loved to spend the whole time examining the race cars and especially the historic engines. But we were always being herded along to other rooms with things that I had absolutely no interest in such as pedal cars, toy cars, and various personal object collections of the owner and his family. He has every right to put whatever he wants into his museum, but I felt it to be a waste of my limited time to have to look at it all.

What was even worse is that the collection of sprint cars was one of the things that I wanted to see the most, but we got to them only at the very end and then our guide had to call "time's up" as we were led to the exit. Maybe if he'd spent less time extolling the careers of various local dirt-track racers? Needless to say, it was overall a disappointing experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuseumAmericanSpeed, Guest Relations Manager at Museum of American Speed, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Doug,

We try to give a great tour that will appeal to all of our guests. With so many neat things to see and share on our guided tours its hard to focus on one category without shorting guests of seeing the whole collection. The guided tours are a great way to share the history and nostalgia of each category for folks who aren't as up to speed as you are in specific categories such as Sprint Cars etc. We personally welcome you back to the museum to see if we can spend some more time sharing this great collection with you. I think our reputation precedes us on Trip Advisor and we go the extra mile to make our guests feel welcome. So, if you get back into the area give us a call and schedule a new tour day with us by leaving a message at 402-323-3166 or by emailing us at museumofamericanspeed@gmail.com and I promise you will be ready to share a new review with everyone that we can all be proud of. Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you back to the Museum of American Speed Smith Collection very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of American Speed also viewed

 

Been to Museum of American Speed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of American Speed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.