We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small natural history museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University of Nebraska State Museum

University of Nebraska State Museum
307 Morrill Hall, University of Nebraska- Lincoln, Lincoln, NE
402-472-2642
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 24 Attractions in Lincoln
Type: Natural History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum with exhibits about life on the plains.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent small natural history museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This museum has a fairly small collection -- it's no Smithsonian -- but what is there is presented well, clearly explained, and interesting. I've never understood why only children are supposed to be interested in dinosaurs and other fossils, so I welcomed the material that was presented at an adult level.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    20
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lots to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Also called Morrill Hall and located on the U of Nebraska-Lincoln, this museum has a solid series of displays for anyone interested in archeology especially discovered in Nebraska. It is on several floors and also has good exhibits of the life on the prairie. There are military weapons and American Indian exhibits. There is a small section of gemology and meteorites.

If you are in the area and need something to do for a few hours, visit Morrill Hall. Adult admission was only $6 per person.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln NE
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Exhibits are well presented, interesting and educational. Wonderful place for children and adults as well.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Tx
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not just another boring fossil museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

There are so many dinosaur museums these days,they all seem alike. But, the exhibits here are really well presented and actually interesting. Really liked the mammoth exhibits and information. There is a limited amount of parking places. Could be an issue when school is in. Well worth going to.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Iowa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfect Museum for us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We met my college friend and her family here on a Monday. It was not overcrowded and we were able to get in free with my Perot Museum pass. The museum is all about fossils and focuses on the local area the most. It was exactly was we were looking to see with an avid fossil fan in the family. The displays were very kid friendly, we had a 10, 6, 6, and 3 year old in the group and there was stuff for all of them to do. Parking is limited but since we were with a family familiar with the area, they were able to direct us to another parking location. There was also a rock and mineral temporary display which was enjoyed by the group as well.

We appreciated the thought and focus of the displays and it seemed easy to absorb the information. It had a nice flow and was a favorite museum among the group. Thanks.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of Nebraska State Museum also viewed

 

Been to University of Nebraska State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University of Nebraska State Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.