We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University of Nebraska State Museum

University of Nebraska State Museum
307 Morrill Hall, University of Nebraska- Lincoln, Lincoln, NE
402-472-2642
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 91 things to do in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum with exhibits about life on the plains.
Lincoln NE
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Exhibits are well presented, interesting and educational. Wonderful place for children and adults as well.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    21
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Tx
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not just another boring fossil museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

There are so many dinosaur museums these days,they all seem alike. But, the exhibits here are really well presented and actually interesting. Really liked the mammoth exhibits and information. There is a limited amount of parking places. Could be an issue when school is in. Well worth going to.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Iowa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Perfect Museum for us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We met my college friend and her family here on a Monday. It was not overcrowded and we were able to get in free with my Perot Museum pass. The museum is all about fossils and focuses on the local area the most. It was exactly was we were looking to see with an avid fossil fan in the family. The displays were very kid friendly, we had a 10, 6, 6, and 3 year old in the group and there was stuff for all of them to do. Parking is limited but since we were with a family familiar with the area, they were able to direct us to another parking location. There was also a rock and mineral temporary display which was enjoyed by the group as well.

We appreciated the thought and focus of the displays and it seemed easy to absorb the information. It had a nice flow and was a favorite museum among the group. Thanks.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Solid fossil musuem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Went on a Monday morning. Not very busy. Which is good because they don't have much parking. The museum is speared out nicely. I really liked that it focused on Nebraska natural history. I learned quite a bit. We were there for about 2 hours and saw everything. Reasonable price.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“elephant and dinosaur skeletons and more...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The museum has something for everyone. Nebraska wildlife, skeletons of dinosaurs and elephants, rock and mineral displays and so much more. Museum.unl.edu is the web site to get more info. Has a very nice gift shop to visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of Nebraska State Museum also viewed

 

Been to University of Nebraska State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University of Nebraska State Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.