We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“roller skating everything you always wanted to know” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum of Roller Skating

National Museum of Roller Skating
4730 South Street, Suite 2, Lincoln, NE 68506
402-483-7551 ext. 16
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 34 Attractions in Lincoln
Type: Specialty Museums
Attraction Details
Tonganoxie, Kansas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“roller skating everything you always wanted to know”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

the history was so informative. Many items on display. Info included professional as well as just plain roller skating

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Unique, and interesting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

If you're looking for LCD interactive displays, this is not the place for you. But if you like learning about something you had little too no knowledge of then, you can't miss this place. I could not believe how much I didn't know about roller skating. The museum is inside the offices for the Roller Skating assoc, so at first you may feel like you're intruding. But the museum is in the back. No frills here. Just a lot of memorabilia and printed placards of stories of roller skating's golden past. We really enjoyed it. We were there about just over an hour. Oh and it's free

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“This is interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We didn't know too much about roller skating until going through this museum. It's very interesting and the displays are well done. Lots of neat stuff going back to the 1800's! "Rinking" was a pretty big social event back then! You can go through it pretty quick. The other reviews are correct that it is kind of unusual going through the work spaces but it was pretty quiet when we were there. This is the kind of place you can tell your friends about and they won't have any idea it existed! Free, just donations accepted.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Interesting trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

It's a small museum and it's FREE. There's not a whole lot there and we did not spend much time there since small children are not apt to read a lot, looking at exhibits. What I enjoyed the most was the video they had going in the museum. It was pieces of various programs. Really fun to watch.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“small but interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The museum is in the building with the offices of the roller skating governing body so it felt a little like you were in somebody's workspace. There were a lot of interesting facts and displays about roller skating and it was free!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Roller Skating also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Roller Skating? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of Roller Skating, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.