We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and deli” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greta's Gourmet

Greta's Gourmet
5560 S 48th St, Ste 2, Lincoln, NE 68516-4108
402-420-6328
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 515 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, German
Restaurant details
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and deli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Love this place! Very friendly staff, the owners are around frequently and chat with everyone. The take home meat selection is great. The brisket sandwich is wonderful, as well as the burgers and chicken salad sandwich. Great little gourmet deli.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, Owner at Greta's Gourmet, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We'd love to chat more with you in person the next time you come in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    11
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, NE
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Top Notch Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband have been here twice to eat and once to pick up some snacks in the past 3 weeks. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the food is to-die-for delicious! Our first time, we ate in and each had a sandwich (which comes with a side and a pickle). My husband loves their baked beans, calling it a "summer chili." I am all about their Italian pasta salad: it is super fresh with broccoli, artichokes, and tomatoes, in a refreshingly light vinaigrette. Today we got our order to go, and I can't stop thinking about the cheddar-jalapeno burger. It had just the right amount of spice for me, and the cheese is mixed into the patty, so it's not sloppy or messy.
The only reason I gave Greta's a 4* instead of a 5* rating, is because some might think the prices are a bit high ($20 for the 2 of us without drinks or tip), but the price is worth it for us, because the food is of such high quality. Definitely a must-try in Lincoln, NE!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Read about this place, then go eat there. Seriously.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I know the hamburger is an American staple, but I feel odd reviewing and going totally crazy over what many people think of as just a "drive-thru" item. That said, my hamburger featuring bleu cheese inside the patty with balsamic reduction was just really awesome. It was tough just choosing the burger in the first place, as there are several other menu options that were just as enticing. Try the baked beans. Look around at the offerings in this place. I was so shocked that this small shop had such a powerhouse of gourmet offerings to go! I cannot wait for my next trip back to Lincoln. I'll make sure I get up there at lunch time and I'll be stopping at Greta's.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

this place really pushes there hot dog sausage products and burgers for Lunch menu these baby's are good and on a lunch special, the price is right. they do have some other foods that are good, too. service is very good, too. they are a little tricky to find, but that has got better as they put up a little more signage. they have a limited, but good selection on the burgers. the hot dogs and sausages are in a vast selection. I like this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Wyoming
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stopped by while passing through Lincoln. Right on way if you are going from I-80 to South I-29. Had a variety of sandwiches in our group, all good. Well run , good food, nice staff, wish they could cater for us out in Wyoming!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greta's Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to Greta's Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greta's Gourmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.