We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, love the Lincoln Children's Zoo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lincoln Children's Zoo

Lincoln Children's Zoo
1222 South 27th Street, Lincoln, NE 68502
+1 402-475-6741
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 33 Attractions in Lincoln
Type: Zoos
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Lincoln Children's Zoo is rated among the best zoos for children by Parent Magazine and is home to over 400 animals, including the world's smallest monkeys (pygmy marmosets), ring-tailed lemurs, dromedary camels, red pandas, meerkats, and more!. Over 40 of our animals are endangered, including the Humboldt Penguin, Amur leopard and Matschie's tree kangaroo. Featuring interactive Zoofari stations with Larry the Cable Guy, up-close animal encounters and the historic ZO&O Railroad, the Zoo is the perfect destination for the entire family. Lincoln Children's Zoo's mission is "to enrich lives through firsthand interaction with living things."
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Love, love, love the Lincoln Children's Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our family has had a zoo membership for as long as I can remember (my parents' had one when I was growing up too). We love going to the zoo. Every year they add something new to the mix. They are very family friendly and have lots of great animals, beautiful gardens, and a wonderful butterfly pavilion. Don't hesitate to visit! Great for all! I sometimes go at lunch time and just take a quick walk around.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    33
    16
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great 1/2 day zoo.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great zoo. My family bought a year membership pass since we live close. Great for small children. Lots of opportunities to get up and personal with animals. A previous review made it seem like the gibbons can interact (look inside purses or backpacks) with visitors. This is not the case as they are behind glass. They can be entertained and shown the contents of your bag through the glass. Always a favorite spot for my kids. The extra activities (train ride, feed the goats, pony rides) are all extra, separate from the entrance fee. The zoo caters toward young children.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Let the Monkeys look in your bag.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

A little fun tip, the Gibbons love to look inside of backpacks, purses, or at cell phone photos. Your kids will think this is really a neat thing to do. Also does not hurt to male a little hoo hoo sound to get them to come to the glass.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Childrens' Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

If you have children ages 2-10, they will love this place. Very interesting exhibits, friendly & enthusiastic staff, and a very enjoyable atmosphere. Adults can have fun too, but it's a must for kids; hence the name.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great zoo for small children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great zoo for small children. Lots of opportunities to explore, but all the extras get pricey quick so bring cash for goat and llama feeding, pony rides, camel feeding, camel rides and train ride! When my children were little we used to go at least once a week but once each of them turned about 7 or 8 they quickly became bored with it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lincoln Children's Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Lincoln Children's Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lincoln Children's Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.