We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 S. 13th St., Lincoln, NE 68508   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Parker, Colorado
1 review
“Great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I am in Lincoln quite frequently and stay at the Cornhusker on a very regular basis. Sheila Poppe the current Assistant Front Office Manager is fantastic and quite frankly the main reason why I stay there vs the Courtyard down the street. As a regular Sheila makes it feel more like a home and less like a hotel which is why I choose to stay there. Always pleasant to speak with, she does a great job. If you're going to be in Lincoln, I'd recommend you stay there.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    69
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
39
33
9
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Being in Lincoln for the marathon we stayed 4 nights at this property. It has a free airport shuttle which made it easy for us since there are no places to park a rent car without being charged for it at or near the hotel. We stayed on the top floor in room 1008. It had a frig (albeit you had to be careful where you placed soft drinks or they had a tendency to freeze!). The view we had was toward the east which included the state capitol building.

The room had two comfy beds with separate reading lights, one bright and the other smaller which made it possible for one person to read in bed without disturbing the other. There was one robe in the closet and no safe in the room. Plenty of hangers but minimum drawer space for two people. Coffee maker and teas, cable TV but the wifi was not free. There is no sitting chair except for one at the desk so if you eat something in the room it is rather inconvenient.

The pub restaurant in the lobby is loud and the food not very good. We had nachos and onion rings to take away and it was definitely NOT worth it. There are 3 elevators and all of them seemed to be running properly. Breakfast in the cafe was really good, especially the omelet station. I highly recommend it.

Air conditioning: you can try to control the temeprature but no matter what we could never warm up the room beyond about 70 deg F. Another irritant: you cannot find Coke products in the hotel or most places around town. Pepsi has a monopoly. The executive lounge is closed on Friday and does not reopen until Sunday night.

The attitude of the staff was universally positive and it was a pleasure to deal with them. I would recommend a stay here any time.

The hotel is an easy 2 to 4 block walk from the main restaurant area and stores so it is conveniently located from all respects.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. When not full, this should not be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy (Houston), TX
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was in Lincoln to attend the 100th anniversary of my sorority chapter and stayed at the Cornhusker. They didn't even mention that I was too early to check in - they just checked me in. They have a valet but you can self-park in a nice clean garage attached. The hotel is just a few blocks from the student union and closer to all sorts of businesses and an Old Market-like area of bars and restaurants. Being from Houston, I don't get a chance to walk much (we drive everywhere) so I really loved the opportunity. The room was very clean and the bed was very, very comfortable. I forgot to take my sleeping pill but I slept the whole night anyway because of the great bed. The bathroom was very clean, too. Had all the usual luxuries including a refrigerator. The staff always greeted us with a smile and they even put up with the whole chapter posing for photos in their beautiful lobby. Very reasonable cost. We didn't eat there so I can't discuss the food. There was a prom in the ballroom and the winning basketball team was staying in this hotel but I never heard a peep out of anyone. I'll definitely stay there again. If you book there directly, you get free wi-fi. Otherwise, it's either $4.95 or $7.95 a day. I got it free.

Room Tip: The north side high up would probably get a great view of the capitol and the university.
See more room tips
Green Features: They do the usual towel thing. Leave them on the floor if you want them replaced.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey A, Public Relations Manager at The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We appreciate your wonderful review of our hotel. Glad you and your sorority sisters had a great time during the stay, and we look forward to having you with us on your next visit to Lincoln!

Safe travels,
Casey Adams
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You are so close to the stadium and action. We loved walking the blocks around the hotel and trying out the different restaurants. The hotel is clean, comfortable, and welcoming. They have an onsite restaurant which is reasonable. Free wifi, the best beds Ive ever slept in. I look forward to staying there again next time Im in town.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The room was great....the staff was friendly and very helpful.... The room was great...clean ...quiet...Just an all around great stay in Lincoln..... Cant say enough good things about this place... Have only found three other places in Lincoln I like staying at... This one is tied for first place...

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey A, Public Relations Manager at The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It's great to see we provided you exemplary service during your most recent stay in Lincoln. Your kind words are truly appreciated, and we look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to our city.

Safe travels,
Casey Adams
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel update, timeless. The staff, exemplary. The location, convenient. And the food, impressive.

For the first time in years I overslept -- very quiet room with a very comfortable king size bed. Needed to hurry not to miss my appointment.

I had enough time to stop at the Concierge Lounge for waffles, smoked salmon and all of the trimmings and a great cup of freshly brewed coffee. Just out of the oven baked pastries, scrambled eggs, bacon/sausage, cereal and fresh fruit were very tempting but I had to run.

Wish I could put The Cornhusker in my pocket and take it with me everywhere.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey A, Public Relations Manager at The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for the shining review, Tranda! We're glad to hear you had such a comfortable stay on our Concierge Level. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Lincoln!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

We were here for a conference and the place was packed, so the check in process took a little longer than expected, the front desk was very helpful and friendly despite being swamped. The valet parkers were nice and prompt with my car. Our room was very comfortable, and had nice appointments and amenities. Great in-room coffee and well-functioning A/C/furnace. A couple of blocks from the nightlife/restaurant district so located conveniently. would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey A, Public Relations Manager at The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We genuinely appreciate your review, Misterjag. It's great to see that our hotel made your stay in Lincoln a comfortable and enjoyable one. We hope to host you again, if ever your travels bring you back to our city.

Thank you,
Casey Adams
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel

Address: 333 S. 13th St., Lincoln, NE 68508
Location: United States > Nebraska > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Lincoln
#17 Family Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 300 guest rooms and over 46,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel can accommodate the largest of functions while still maintaining the personalized service and attention to detail that you would expect from a grand hotel. Nestled snugly in the heart of downtown Lincoln the hotel is within walking distance of dozens of restaurants and entertainment venues, and just blocks from the University of Nebraska campus, the State Capitol, the Pershing Center and State and Federal Buildings. Our convenient location is exceeded only by our ability to make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Lincoln
Marriott Hotel Cornhusker
Marriott Lincoln
Lincoln Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.