We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 S. 13th St., Lincoln, NE 68508   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Lincoln
Topeka, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We usually stay in Marriott hotels, they are always a choice you cant go wrong with. My only complaint is that all of them seem to be really similar, so it gets kind of boring after so many times. This hotel was definitely different and way better! The lobby is beautiful ( I think they are going to remodel it though, too bad, its really charming right now). The staff was very attentive and friendly. Great Customer Service! We got a free upgrade to an executive room, with access to the nice lounge, with a really yummy breakfast, complimentary drinks, beautiful view of the Capitol...
The room was very roomy, beautiful bathroom, comfortable bed.... I will definitely stay there again when we go back to Lincoln.

Room Tip: Executive Floor with Lounge, great views , great breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, General Manager at The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
We really appreciate the positive feedback. Yes we will renovate the lobby and hope you fell it will still provide the charm you mentioned. Please spread the good word and comeback and visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    64
    19
    7
    7
See reviews for
36
32
9
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This popular downtown Lincoln, NE hotel has recently remodeled its sleeping rooms and concierge lounge. Next, it will be remodeling the convention center and lobby. Remodeled sleeping rooms are nice, not outstanding. Remodeled concierge lounge also nice. What makes this hotel exceptional is the staff. First, as a Marriott Gold client, they always remember my preferences, such as extra pillow. Second, the staff at the front desk and in the concierge lounge could not be nicer. The morning concierge lounge staff member, Tom, does whatever he can to please guests without being intrusive. The evening concierge lounge staff are young women from the University - all pleasant and service-oriented. Finally, although the Marriott does not own the parking garage, it is connected and you always can find a spot close to the hotel entrance in self-park for $9 a day. Why very good, rather than excellent? Only one restaurant and the evening appetizers in the concierge lounge are mediocre to poor as compared to downtown area Marriott hotels in other cities.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, General Manager at The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thanks for sharing. I was pleased to read you stay with us often and our team takes good care of you. I will followup with my culinary team regarding the evening food offerings and see what we can do to improve that for you. Thanks for giving us this feedback as it is critical information to help us improve the service we provide our guests and key business travelers like yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I had a wonderful stay while attending the 2014 Nebraska Business Hall of Fame Dinner in January. As a Marriott Platinum Awards Member, the automatic upgrade to the Concierge level was a huge benefit. Even though the hotel is undergoing a major renovation that appears to be near completion, there was not one amenity that was missing. The staff, especially the gentlemen that managed the breakfast on the Concierge level, was prompt and courteous.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I have been traveling to Lincoln for over a decade and have been a long time Cornhusker patron. Their recent renovation (rooms, lounge, restaurant, bar, etc.) have made it a premier hotel of choice for the downtown stayer. Although these new, first class renovations have added to the comfort and ambience of the hotel, the staff continues to be this patron's most compelling motivation for returns visits. Friendly, courteous, and always willing to assist, the staff at the Cornhusker is second to none. For one of many Marriott hotels, it continues to stand out with their Nebraska-nice service and attention to detail. Kudos to the Cornhusker and its staff.

Room Tip: As a platium member, the 10th floor offers access to the concierge room. Morning breakfast with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at the Cornhusker on January 31. The stay was excellent for our party. Our grandchild and parents took advantage of the pool and we all enjoyed food from the pub. Our rooms were clean and quiet. We were within walking distance of our activity. This is a class hotel in a great location in the city of Lincoln.

Room Tip: Tell the front desk (reservations) what you need and they will recommend a room that will fit your e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, General Manager at The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
I was pleased to read you had a great stay with us. Hope you will come back and visit again soon. All the best!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Cornhusker on 2/17. I had a issue that needed to be resolved and I approached the front desk to voice my concern. I am pleased to report that I was greeted with professionalism and and in a manner that far exceeded my expectations. The front desk supervisor is Camille DeBose. I am impressed with her attitude and how quickly she handled and resolved the situation. Thanks Marriott, examples like this are the reason I stay so many nights a year in your hotels!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, General Manager at The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to share with me your stay experience. Camille Dubose is one of our best assocaites and was recently promoted to front desk supervisor based on her professionalism and her disire to please our guests. Thanks again for sharing and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The rooms are clean though somewhat dated. Heater did not work in my room on my last stay (I've been there several times) so maintenance had to come fix it (they're old, he said, so the valves get stuck). Shower drain was slow so had water up to my ankles. Dinner in the restaurant (more like pub food) was very poor. I ordered fish tacos, and what little fish there was (if any) was luke warm at best...hardly 'grilled' as described on the menu. The rest of the taco was filled with cold fillers, so overall it was pretty bad. The waiter and service were good though, so kudos for that. I looked at the pool, but the chlorine smell was so strong there was no way I was going to use it. Hotel options are pretty limited in Lincoln, but I'm trying a Courtyard on my next stay. I travel a lot and I think this place tries, but it just falls short.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles H, General Manager at The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Let me begin by apologizing for what you experienced during your stay. I have reviewed all your comments and I will share with my team. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Unfortunately with social website feedback I cannot obtain room numbers to check the issues relating to heat and the drains and hope you reported it during your stay. I will look over the dates that you stayed to see if similar issue was reported. I will meet with our Executive Chef regarding your comments with the fish tacos. We have been receiving great reviews on the Miller Time Pub and Grill menu and quality, so not sure what happened here, but we will dig into it. We value the feedback our guest give us so again thank you for sharing and please come back soon and try us again as this is not typical based on the feedback we continue to recieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel

Address: 333 S. 13th St., Lincoln, NE 68508
Location: United States > Nebraska > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 300 guest rooms and over 46,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel can accommodate the largest of functions while still maintaining the personalized service and attention to detail that you would expect from a grand hotel. Nestled snugly in the heart of downtown Lincoln the hotel is within walking distance of dozens of restaurants and entertainment venues, and just blocks from the University of Nebraska campus, the State Capitol, the Pershing Center and State and Federal Buildings. Our convenient location is exceeded only by our ability to make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Lincoln
Marriott Hotel Cornhusker
Marriott Lincoln
Lincoln Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cornhusker, A Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.