We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Central Nebraska Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Kearney

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Kearney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com IHG
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kearney
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Second Avenue, Kearney, NE 68847   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 22 hotels in Kearney
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good Central Nebraska Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were in town on business & stayed in room 235.
-Nice hotel selection for central Nebraska.
-Some areas of the hotel seemed dated, i.e. guest rooms.
-Bathroom floor too slippery.
-Tub drain was clogged/slow to drain.
-Good water pressure.
-Good working WiFi in guest rooms & meeting space. No trouble logging on.
-Good restaurant. Good food. Staff very attentive.
-Friendly desk staff.
-Housekeeper knocked on the door twice-we were a late check out of 2pm.
-Good variety of meeting space. Good selection of breakout space.
-Gift shop sale signs posted all over the hotel looks tacky.
-Nice workout facility.
-Nice pool area.
-Family friendly.
-Good room amenities.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kearney, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Meeting Broker,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Kearney's Holiday Inn and for writing an extensive review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the feedback you've provided about many areas of the hotel. We will address those areas that need improvement and those that should get praised. We hope to see you again soon - if you need anything please call us at 308-237-5971.

Thank you,
Heather
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    37
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
44
6
3
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lloydminster, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed for 5 days at the HI, and I am very happy with the experience I had. The room was awesome, big and spacious. I do agree with another review, there is a lack of windows in the room.

The front desk staff are awesome. Very friendly and helpful and super nice. The one fellow suggested to go shopping at Buckles and even gave me a ride there in the shuttle van!

I ate at the restaurant three times, all meals and service was A++.

I had several Teas from the coffee nook and they were super yummy!

The gift store in the hotel is excellent!

I like the family feel of this hotel. Very comfortable and inviting.

Special thanks to everyone, even the fellow doing maintenance who offered to help me with my luggage.

This hotel is led by a great team leader and it shows in all of the staff.

Only one suggestion - you need a free breakfast like other hotels. :)

Room Tip: Ask for the King Hot Tub Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIKRNY, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kearney, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear RodeoFoto,
It is so nice to hear all of your positive comments regarding your extended stay with us, and on behalf of myself and the entire staff we would like to say THANK YOU for choosing our hotel! Please let us know if you plan on visiting us again in the future, because you already are aware that we love to be your Kearney "family" while traveling! Again, thanks so much for the kind words, they are very much appreciated!
Regards,
Tye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Planned a mini vacation and picked this hotel because of the pool. It has slides but no real swimming area. Food and drinks are not allowed in swimming area or the room located off of the pool area. So not sure of the purpose of that room! Bottled water wasn't even allowed! The pool staff was being paid to sit and read magazines while they drank from their water bottles! The pool was a total disappointment. The restaurant was very good though. That is why I gave it 2 stars. We will not be coming back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIKRNY, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kearney, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about the issues you had during your stay with us. I'm very sorry that our water center was not quite what you had expected, but hope that your family did find some enjoyment in either of the two 30-feet water slides or the kiddie splash pool area. Be assured that I will definitely discuss your comments with the Water Center Manager to be certain that all staff is first and foremost taking care of our most valuable asset--the guest! I'm happy to hear that you did enjoy our fantastic Sozo restaraunt, and that you will give us another try in the future. Again, your review has definitely helped show us some areas of the hotel that improvements need to be addressed, and it is appreciated very mucn.
Regards,
Tye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Great Hotel stay. Our 4yr old son loved the water slide and pool area. Fantastic value for what we paid (about$100). Staff was pleasant and hotel was modern. Only thing could have been better was if breakfast was inlcuded.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIKRNY, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kearney, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Traveling_Fam,
Thank you very much for taking the time to fill out such a positive review of your recent stay with us. I'm happy that you were all able to enjoy our indoor water center. I do hope that the Front Desk staff explained that all children 12 years and younger eat for free in our restaurant when accompanied by a paying adult, and we are also currently offering a breakfast rate that includes breakfast for 2 adults. I apologize greatly if these were not explained to you at any time during your stay, but wanted you to keep it in mind for a future stay at the hotel! Again, thanks so much for your encouraging review, and we hope to see you again very soon!
Regards,
Tye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everywhere
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I spend a lot of time in Kearney, but this was my first stay at the Holiday Inn. We were impressed from the moment we checked in! The room was extremely clean with new-looking carpet, a huge tv, and a lot of space to unpack. The best part of this stay was the outrageously comfortable bed. Check-out time was at noon, so we had a lot of time to enjoy it!

We were in town for a wedding at the Younes Conference Center, which I would also highly recommend. The food was delicious, and the service was out of this world. I would like to recognize J. Paul, who made sure the event ran smoothly, Mary who did a great job greeting guests and keeping the public spaces in tip-top shape, and two bartenders who provided exemplary service: Kiersten and Josh H.

I will never stay anywhere else in Kearney!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIKRNY, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kearney, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Nielsenka,
What a fantastic review of our hotel and nearby Younes Conference Center! It is so nice to hear the positive comments about the service and particularly individual staff members who made your time with us such a memorable one! Be assured that I will pass your positive comments on to each and every one of them individually! If you are ever in the area again, please remember that you always have a comfortable bed awaiting you at Kearney's Holiday Inn!
Regards,
Tye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska City, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is by far the worst Holiday Inn I have ever stayed in.The WiFi is terrible, I had to constantly switch between the guest and meeting internet stream to stay connected. There are no outside windows in the room.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Kearney, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear rainbow_lizard,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate you bringing the problem that you had with our internet service to our attention. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Thank you again for your review and we look forwarded to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, MN
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Attended a conference and stayed at the Holiday Inn in Kearney. Conference rooms were fine with good AV help available and location was close to the freeway and many eating choices nearby. The accommodations were typical Holiday Inn (clean and comfortable) but the outstanding part of this motel is the pool area. The hot tub was fine but the pool wasn't a typical motel pool. Instead there was a nice children's pool - large enough with a cute slide. The main pool had two different ceiling to water curved slides that kids would love. Wish we lived closer - we'd schedule a family weekend!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Kearney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kearney

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kearney Hotel
Holiday Inn Kearney Hotel Kearney
Kearney Holiday Inn
Address: 110 Second Avenue, Kearney, NE 68847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Kearney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kearney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kearney 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are coming to Kearney s Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center, for business or just for fun you will find all of the comforts of home at the most convenient location in the Midwest with easy access to I-80 and just minutes away from The Great Platte River Road Archway Monument. We are central Nebraska's only indoor water recreation center with two 30 ft. high water slides and kids fun pool with two additional slides. Exercise in our fitness center or polish that presentation in the business center. Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center - Kearney, Nebraska, offers free high-speed wireless Internet in all guest rooms, and public areas as well as meeting rooms. All guest rooms feature voice mail, data ports, two phone lines, irons/ironing boards, hairdryers, 25' color TVs with cable and free HBO. All guest rooms have microwave and refrigerators. The Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center - Kearney, Nebraska , offers more than 20,000 sq. ft. of meeting space with general session theater style seating for up to 900 and banquet seating for up to 700. Twelve meeting rooms with state of the art audio/visual equipment available. The hotel's new restaurant, 'The Venue' is a unique, elegant, and affordable dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Kearney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Kearney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.