We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good chain type mexican food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlos O'Kellys Mexican Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Carlos O'Kellys Mexican Cafe
119 3rd Ave, Kearney, NE 68845-7856
308-238-0100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good chain type mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

For a chain type restaurant the food has good flavor and reasonable priced. Good Variety. Drink specials were good. Help was friendly, and food was delivered in reasonable time frame.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great value and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We drove all through town before deciding to eat next to the hotel at Carlos O'Kelly's. It was very good and very reasonable. We didn't plan on drinks but they have a drink special every night, and we were there on half price margarita night, so for $2.50 we couldn't resist. The guac and queso combo was very good, and the entrees were good and filling. Our server was very pleasant and visited with us quite a bit. A good find that we will visit again!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ordinary Mexican restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Food was OK, but nothing special. Our waitress was pretty disinterested and inattentive. Plus is that it is located right next to the Quality Inn where we were staying, so we could walk to it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lite options--Food and Margaritas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great food, drinks and service--despite our late arrival on a Sunday night when several staff shifts were over. Kudos for serving us quickly.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esparto, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Ordered fish tacos. One was only partially cooked. Our sever had the dish deducted from bill . Hubby and and his brother were very pleased with their food. Overall I would give them a second chance. I appreciated our servers concern.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlos O'Kellys Mexican Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlos O'Kellys Mexican Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.