We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great diamond in the rough!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boarders Inn and Suites Kearney, NE

Save Saved
You added Boarders Inn and Suites Kearney, NE to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boarders Inn and Suites Kearney, NE
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1010 Third Ave, Kearney, NE 68845-0967 (Formerly Days Inn Kearney)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 hotels in Kearney
Rock Springs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great diamond in the rough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Kearney was sold out the night we weary travelers needed a rest. I had never heard of Boarders before and didn't have many expectations. What a pleasant surprise! Nice room, very clean and fairly comfy. Nice continental breakfast with waffles, yogurt, eggs, toast, juice. Wonderful surprise with reasonable rates.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas J, Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites Kearney, NE, responded to this review, 1 week ago
The management and staff of the Boarders Inn and Suites in Kearney, Nebraska would like to thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We recently joined Cobblestone Hotels as a Boarders Inn and Suites and strive to continually exceed the expectations of our guests. We were extremly pleased that your expectations were exceeded. We hope that you return on your next trip to the Kearney area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Independence
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

They only complaint is the bathroom was very small. It was very clean though. They except corporate lodging. They also provided a free continental breakfast, which consisted of Belgian waffled, cereal, juice, and coffee. They also had a nice pool, hot tub, sauna, and a couple of treadmills.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas J, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites Kearney, NE, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
The management and staff of the Boarders Inn and Suites in Kearney, Nebraska would like to thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of the fitness room and pool as well as the free breakfast. The placement of the vanity area outside the main bathroom was designed to give the bathroom area a larger feel as well as permitting the guests within the room to share the use of the area at the same time. We hope to have you return to our hotel on your next visit to the Kearney area. Again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Point
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were just traveling through after a cross-country camping trip and needed a room for the night. We were shut out of less expensive options due to a local event that had filled up many of the hotels (we couldn't even get the Ramada Inn clerk to answer our inquiry). Blake at the front desk could not have been more welcoming and friendly.

We opened the door to find a huge room, very comfortable and well-appointed, including a fridge and microwave, which allowed us to skip going out and use up some of our leftover food from camping. It was clean and quiet, with the exception of the a/c unit; it's too bad a quieter unit wasn't installed during their renovation, but such noisy equipment is more often the rule in less expensive hotels.

We slept well in the very comfortable bed and went to investigate what had been described as a continental breakfast. We were very pleasantly surprised to find a hot waffle maker, eggs and other things that made this much more than just a continental breakfast. The attendant was friendly and everything was well-stocked.

The front desk clerk on check-out was just as friendly and efficient as during check-in. This turned out to be a great place to stay -- I'm glad I couldn't get in at those other places!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas J, Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites Kearney, NE, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
The management and staff of the Boarders Inn and Suites in Kearney, Nebraska would like to thank you for allowing us to prove to you that we provide our guests with a clean, comfortable, and friendly experience. Recent renovations did not include replacement of all the a/c units; however, more are coming soon. I will be sharing your comments on Tripadvisor with the owners and staff as we all appeciate hearing that we are moving in a positive direction and meeting travelers needs. We all hope that you will again select our hotel the next time you are in the area. Again, thank you for your Tripadvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Never stayed here before bit I found the room very spacious compared to most and it accommodated my family of 3 adults and 2 small dogs very nicely. Plenty of parking for my 16'trailer behind my long bed truck too. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas J, Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites Kearney, NE, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
The management and staff of the Boarders Inn and Suites in Kearney, Nebraska would like to thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We strive daily to provide all our guests, including pets, with clean rooms in a friendly atmosphere. Our parking is specifically designed to accommodate large vehicles such as yours. We look forward to your return stay and will focus on providing you and your pets with a clean and friendly experience. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here on our way through Nebraska with two little kids and two dogs. This is the perfect hotel. Clean pool for the kids, dogs are allowed, service is amazing and the price is low. Clean, newly updated.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas J, Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites Kearney, NE, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
The management and staff of the Boarders Inn and Suites in Kearney, Nebraska would like to thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to hear that your family experienced amazing service in a clean hotel. We strive daily to provide all our guests, including pets, with clean rooms in a friendly atmosphere. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again, on your next trip through Nebraska. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska City, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Good pricing looks recently renovated. They let me out a day early when I had to cut my trip sure even when the days inn in lexington, ne would not. did not have enough time to check out the breakfast

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas J, Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites Kearney, NE, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor! More impotantly, thank your for choosing Boarders Inn and Suites in Kearney, Nebraska as we know there are many wonderful choices in Kearney. Recently renovated and under new ownership and management, we strive to please each and every guest with the best lodging experience possible. We regret that you had to cut your trip short; however, hope that your you again choose Boarders Inn and Suites when next traveling to or through Kearney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalgate, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I stumbled on Boarders by chance. I was towing a 30 ft. horse trailer and also transporting 2 caged birds. Not every hotel has parking for an outfit that size, nor will they take pets, but Boarders did both. What was additionally amazing to me was that I got checked into my room at 8:45 and their restaurant, Sydney's, was only open until 9. The desk clerk told me to pop in and ask if they would serve me still, as I did not want to have to drive anywhere else and try to find parking at another restaurant. In addition it was storming like crazy, lightening, wind, and a downpour. The girls in the restaurant stayed open until 9:30 just to serve me! Not only that, but the grilled salmon salad was fantastic. Their wine list was far better than I would have expected, and I enjoyed a really nice glass of wine with dinner. Never did they try to rush me to eat and leave. I couldn't believe how accommodating they were!
Now for the room: spacious, modern, CLEAN, ...all in all the BEST value I have had in a motel room for ages. Did I mention that it was the least expensive room on my whole trip, yet the nicest??? I can't think of a thing that this place lacked in hospitality. I will DEFINITELY stay there again on my next trip north!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas J, General Manager at Boarders Inn and Suites Kearney, NE, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor! Recently renovated and under new ownership and management, we strive to please each and every guest with the unbelievable great service you found at our hotel. We look forward to your return visit, when you next visit Kearney, Nebraska.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boarders Inn and Suites Kearney, NE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boarders Inn and Suites Kearney, NE

Address: 1010 Third Ave, Kearney, NE 68845-0967 (Formerly Days Inn Kearney)
Location: United States > Nebraska > Kearney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 hotels in Kearney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boarders Inn and Suites Kearney, NE 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Boarders Inn and Suites in Kearney where relaxation and value go hand in hand in the heart of the Sandhill Crane Capital of the World. Our Central Nebraska non-smoking hotel is located only one mile north of Interstate 80, in Kearney, NE home to museums, vineyards, local breweries, and family attractions. The University of Nebraska Kearney is less than three miles from our pet-friendly Kearney, NE hotel.Begin your morning with a complimentary breakfast, enjoy a workout in our fitness facility, or plan your day using our free high speed wireless internet access. Go for a swim in our indoor pool or relax in our hot tub and sauna. For your convenience each of our rooms are equipped with a flat screen TV, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, microwave and refrigerator. Enjoy the comforts of home with our "Big City Quality, Small Town Values…" hotel in Kearney, Nebraska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Boarders Inn and Suites Kearney, NE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kearney
Kearney Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boarders Inn and Suites Kearney, NE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.