We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice return Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kearney

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kearney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kearney
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Talmadge Road, Kearney, NE 68847   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 22 hotels in Kearney
Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice return Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We always stay here when in Kearney :) They give a nice government discount plus the rooms are nice and clean , comfy and quiet. Large desk for your computer . Breakfast was great ...sausage & eggs , fresh fruit , oatmeal ...lots of other choices ... cereal , bagels . Many places to eat nearby. We will be back again on our next vacation !

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kearney, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear theakitty,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you for staying with us. We strive as hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Kearney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    43
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
39
29
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairbury
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I was told my confirmation number was not valid. My name for reservation was spelled wrong. I was to have direct billing which I was told they didn't have any record/information for that. I was also to be tax exempt which they had no record of either. They had to call the agency to get the tax exempt number. The front desk girl was rather rude during the whole check in process. I was also surprised that I had to give a credit card so they could hold $25 in funds for incidentials. I will certainly think twice before staying here again. If you do stay, get all details in writing! It could save you a lot of hassle when checking in!

Room Tip: Request confirmation of your reservation in writing. Make sure your name is spelled correctly &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

After requesting a room away from the vending machines, we were given a room across the hall from them. Even with the door closed, you could hear them run. We requested a room on the other end of the hall, and after some haggling, were given a quieter room (they were not full). The included wine/beer and snacks in the dining room were most welcome after being on the road for 11 hours. There is a wonderful hike/bike trail not far from the hotel that we made good use of. Breakfast was varied and plentiful enough we did not need to find a restaurant for breakfast as we usually do when faced with a hotel "included" breakfast!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the vending machines. They are the noisiest I've ever heard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kearney, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Karen D,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are sorry for your first room assignment. We are so glad that we could accommodate you with another room. We are sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused you. Thank you for mentioning our breakfast service. We are always trying to find better ways to make the service better.

Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Kearney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our room was comfortable. I liked the fact that we could leave the fan on the A/C on continually to keep the air circulating. The hotel was clean. When we checked in, we had a coupon from the visitors bureau, but was told we couldn't use as we had gotten such a good rate deal online. (It really wasn't that great of a deal) Breakfast was excellent. There were many things to choose from and ample seating. The breakfast would be what would bring me back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel offers the perfect location. It's right off of the interstate, but you don't hear any of the traffic. The manager's reception with the free beer was exactly what I needed after driving all day. The breakfast in the morning was a LOT more than expected. I was expecting rolls, bagels, and cereal. They had fritatas, potatoes, biquits and gravy, waffles, fresh fruit, juices, 3 different kinds of coffees!! Even though the breakfast room was a little crowded (which seems to be the case in EVERY hotel), the real dishes and silverware made you feel more at home and so I didn't care anyway. The rooms very spacious. The rooms weren't perfect but with 200 hotel nights stays a year, for me this is one of my top picks and I will definitly be back!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder, co
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a very good night's sleep here and a wonderful breakfast in the morning after all the driving we'd been doing. I found a coupon in the hotelcoupons.com booklet which was at a rest stop, but I believe you can access this online. This was a large discount from the phone quote I was given; a big help. We checked in with Judy at the desk who was wearing several hats in addition to front desk (housekeeping, maintenance) but she was as nice as could be! The room was pleasant, but the carpet and stuffed chair were getting pretty badly stained. The bed was very comfortable and the a/c nice and quiet. My husband slept well which is saying a lot. The bathrooms had new granite countertops, but the towels were pretty thin.

The breakfast was a nice surprise because everything was very good: hot oatmeal, fresh bananas, egg frittattas, waffles, potatoes, juice, and good coffee including two varieties of regular: medium and dark!! There were also other items like several kinds of non-sugary cereals, biscuits, fruit, 2% and skim milk and yogurt. This was all served on nice plates in a pleasant dining area.

Room Tip: Third floor was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kearney, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear landlockedincol,

Thank you so much for completing this review. We appreciate all of your comments about your stay. We will pass them on to our staff. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We take guest feedback very seriously. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and for future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Kearney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The location is great if you're traveling through Nebraska - right off the interstate with lots of restaurants within walking distance (Red Lobster is across the parking lot). The breakfast was good with lots of choices - waffles, biscuits and gravy, eggs and sausage, fruit, cereal, toast, pastries, oatmeal, etc. The pool was too chlorinated and in a cramped room. When we turned on the jets in the hot tub it burned our eyes and noses. Fairly quiet but you can always count on rude people slamming their doors at all hours. We turned on the bathroom fan all night to drown out any door noise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kearney, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear laewagne,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your thoughts and concerns. We apologize for your concerns with the pool area. We are very sorry for any inconvenience that this caused you. We appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to our hotel to make it better for you, and for future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for staying with us. We apologize for your stay. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will stay with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Kearney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kearney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kearney

Address: 105 Talmadge Road, Kearney, NE 68847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Kearney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kearney
#7 Business Hotel in Kearney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kearney 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Carlson, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kearney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Kearney
Kearney Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kearney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.