We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice stop along the highway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn and Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   510 Talmadge Road, Kearney, NE 68845   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Kearney
Illinois US
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice stop along the highway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is a newer Fairfield with a newer attitude too. The room was nice, large and quiet. Exactly what we wanted after a long day of highway travel. We were able to walk to a nearby restaurant for dinner and the free breakfast was an upgrade over previous Fairfield breakfasts. Staff was outstanding. This stop was much nicer than one we made a few years ago in Grand Island on a similar road trip. This will be the new stop.

Room Tip: The "suite" was not much than a regular room, we feel the extra $ was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger Y, General Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Fairfield Inn & Suites Kearney was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,

ROGER YOUNES
General Manager
Kearney Marriott
ffkrny@younes.com
308-236-4200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    29
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
25
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Had a Marriot rewards certificate to use up and chose this hotel for 2 nights during the 2014 spring sandhill crane migration. Hotel is easy to find right off freeway I-80 and staff is friendly and helpful to learn of dining options in the area. We were involved in a crane blind tour which starts at 6 a.m. and meant we could not atttend the buffet breakfast until after our tour (close to closing time of tour). We were able to grab some coffee as we left the building at 5:15 am but based on frequency of visitors to area for this same reason it would be nice it the management would consider starting breakfast (at least in simple form) early enough for some of us early risers.
Room was fine, a bit warm but we didn't fuss with the temperature controls. Bedding great, rooms quiet except my wife heard a loud snorer in room above ours one of the nights. This kept her awake. The bath tub drain was very slow to drain, told management.
We usually stay at Hilton properties like Hampton Inns and find them very similar in style and fit/finish in the rooms. Even the breakfast layout and offerings are very similar to that of Hilton chain.
Recommend Thunderhead Brewpub downtown for fun time and great beer selection.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan Y, Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dean,
First we would like to say thank you for choosing to stay with our hotel. Your feedback is valuable and will help us better serve you and other Crane viewers.
Thank You again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel seems to cater to kids sports teams. Every night I was there, kids where running up and down the hallways all night. Lobby was full of kids and their toys all over on the floor. Floors were wet all over from kids walking out of the pool dripping wet. I have nothing against kids, but the hotel needs to manage things.

Hotel gym is very very very basic.

Otherwise everything was fine.

Room Tip: Try not to break your neck walking through the chaos of kids from the sports teams this hotel caters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan Y, Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
MZ-TravelGuy,
Thank you for taking the time to bring such matters to our attention. We value your patronage and certainly want to know if you are dissatisfied in anyway. During the spring months Kearney frequently has large basketball tournaments. I apologize your stay was anything but great, in the future we will make sure to inform guests at check-in about the special event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This Marriott was great! We spent 2 nights there last weekend as we were in Kearney to see the sand hill cranes migration.

This hotel is off the highway and near a lot of restaurants.

Breakfast was great with some hot and cold items and fruits and the people at the front desk very helpful.

Our room was great and comfortable. When we first got there and got our room we realized it was facing the highway and might be noisy. We asked if we could have a room on the opposite side of the hotel and they answered our request right away, and we got another room which was nice.

Overall this is a great hotel and we would stay there again while in this area.

Room Tip: Get a room not facing the highway (it could be noisy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan Y, Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
NatC100,
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We appreciate your patronage and can't wait to see you again.
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

A 4 star hotel in my opinion usually not found in this neck of the woods. This a hotel one finds in Denver or even London. The owner desires a high five for design and function. After 6 to 8 hours driving on I-80 this was heaven. Check out the 530 to 7pm free happy hour in the lobby/lounge.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan Y, Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
garywyo,
We are very happy to hear you liked our hotel! Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have stayed in a lot of Fairfield Inn's all over the Midwest and this was probably the nicest one I've ever stayed in. The rooms are huge and have very comfortable beds. The pool is very big as is the hot tub. Both were very clean. The front desk staff was beyond nice and helpful. Breakfast area is extremely large so you're not tripping over other guests getting to your table. They have a bookshelf with books and games for the kids in the lobby.

We stayed at the Fairfield in North Platte on our way out to Colorado and it isn't nearly as nice as this one. We will make Kearney our stopping point from now on. Plus, this hotel is 5000 less Marriott points than North Platte for a much nicer room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan Y, Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
lynettemo,
Thank you for your review! It's great that you were able to use our recreational facilities. We appreciate you staying with us and being a Marriott Rewards member.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just needed a place to sleep on an intense cross-country trip. Quiet, clean, comfortable; easy check-in and check-out. Convenient to interstate. Just wish that breakfast started earlier (7AM on weekend). ( Didn't use restaurant - mistakenly clicked rating bar, couldn't back out of it. )

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan Y, Manager at Fairfield Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
garyabbeykoutnik,
Thank you for your review, I'm very glad that our hotel was just what you are looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn and Suites

Address: 510 Talmadge Road, Kearney, NE 68845
Location: United States > Nebraska > Kearney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Kearney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.