We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Car show weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Kearney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Kearney to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Kearney
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   508 2nd Ave. South, P.O. Box 2558, Kearney, NE 68848   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Kearney
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Car show weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Holiday Inn Express with in Kearney for a car show. We arrived early, before noon and the clerk was very helpful to get us a room well before check in time. The accommodations are very nice. Newer hotel with spacious rooms and comfortable beds. Breakfast in the morning. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kearney, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express, Kearney. Our staff works very hard to ensure that you have a clean and comfortable room no matter when you arrive at our hotel. Thank you again for your wonderful comments and if you are back next year for the car show, we would love to have another opportunity to serve you as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    29
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
42
16
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waverly, IA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel on the road when we were three hours away and fortunately found a room here! We were extremely happy with our stay! The pictures here perfectly depict this hotel. It's very new and clean. We were so impressed with our room- there was plenty of room, with an HD tv and DVD player. Breakfast was excellent with fresh pancakes, eggs, sausage, cinnamon rolls, cereal, yogurt, fruit, and lots more. The breakfast area in general was so nice with high tables and booths. The pool was a perfect size and very clean. The staff was great, both over the phone and in person. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kearney, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express, Kearney for your recent trip. I am glad to hear that you found our online images helpful in choosing a hotel for lodging. Our staff is dedicated to ensuring that what you see is truly what you get when you arrive. I appreciate the comments about our property, especially your room and the experience you had in breakfast. Thank you again for choosing our property and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great hotel. Very clean and I enjoy the free breakfast. I stay here every time I come to Kearney now, which is every other month. Fully remodeled and great location. Best hotel in Kearney. Skeeter Barnes right across the parking lot for food. I need to be able to work every night and the wi-fi is great and seems to be pretty fast as I have no problems with VPN. Quiet too! If you are into Thai food check out Suwanee on the north side of Kearney. It's awesome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kearney, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs. Our staff enjoys the GREAT comments from our guests. I am happy to hear that you have made our hotel your only choice when staying in Kearney! Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Arkansas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We arrived at this hotel at 9 pm with no reservations and were greeted by 2 very friendly and helpful staffers. We had a great room on the 4th floor. Room was large and very clean with comfortable seating. I particularly liked the reading lights on the bed headboards as I like to read to unwind after a long day of traveling and my spouse prefers to go right to sleep. Hot breakfast was a good start for another day of travel.

Room Tip: 4th floor is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kearney, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel. Our staff members appreciate the wonderful comments about our property especially our reading lamps. This amenity is one our guest’s favorites and has continued to be a successful addition to our hotel. Furthermore we are pleased to hear that you had a great start to your day with our breakfast. Thank you again for your review of our hotel and I hope you will think of us again on your next trip through Kearney!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Arrived late at the motel - went up to the room (yes there is a lift) but the keycards didn't work. Returned to front desk got another set, still didn't work. Got assigned another room - all was fine.

We were in a King room and it was fairly spacious - the bathroom was a good size too. It was all very clean. There was an interesting blend of furnishing - a stripy chair, wavy red carpet, a circular pattern on the curtains - all very colourful but not quite going together - perhaps this was the idea?! There was a massive flat screen TV probably around 48 inch maybe - bigger than the 27 inches it says on the website anyway!

Had a good nights sleep - would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kearney, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for the constructive criticism on our new décor. We are very sorry to hear about your keys not working on your room. However, we are happy to hear the issue was resolved. Although we have a unique outlook on the décor, our renovation has given us new upgrades, such as the TV’s. Thank you again for your comments, we truly hope to see you again when you’re traveling through Kearney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were pleasaantly surprisewd that this hotel has a welcome on Mon thru Thurs. serving free beer and wine along with snacks. This certainly made the stay much more enjoyable and we felt helped defray the cost of the room which we thought was a little high for this area. Overall we would consider staying again.

Room Tip: Room on third floor was okay but was across from vending machine and ice machine, not the most prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kearney, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comment regarding our Manager’s Reception. We feel it is a great benefit to our guests as well as to our hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Kearney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Kearney as a mid-way pit stop in our Chicago-to-Aspen ski vacation road trip. Wow, never in my life would I have realized that Nebraska is such a long and flat state! Anyway, we found ourselves in dire need of a good night's sleep, and Kearney proved to have a multitude of venerable options. Having stayed at several Holiday Inn Express hotels in the past, I had come to trust the reliability and overall cleanliness of their properties. The location in Kearney was no exception. Very conveniently located from Interstate 80, pulling into the parking lot and checking in was a breeze. Despite it being very late at night (2:30 AM), the gentleman working the front desk was extremely friendly. After several minutes of paperwork we were granted our room key. The AAA rate we paid was $105. I must admit that I feel this was a little high as we checked in so late at night -- I fail to understand why customers checking in this late aren't given a courtesy break on standard room rates. I digress...

While we admittedly didn't explore much of the hotel, the lobby, hallway and guest room was extremely clean. The property is fairly new, so furnishings throughout the hotel had a clean, modern vibe. Our room was very spacious and featured a flat-panel TV, small sitting area, refrigerator and 2 queen beds. The bathroom was basic but large enough for my wife and I. One complaint I have about the Holiday Inn Express brand in general is their bathroom products, particularly their body lotion. They tend to have a "cinnamon roll-esque" smell. Having notably dry skin (especially in the winter), I like to slather on lotion immediately after exiting the shower. The last thing I want to feel like is a greasy frosted cinnamon roll. Oh well.

The included wi-fi was fast and the continental breakfast was basic but good. Overall we had a great (albeit brief) stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Kearney. The beds were comfortable, the service was friendly and the entire property was extremely clean. I simply wish that we had been given a break on the standard room rate as we checked-in at 2:30 AM.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kearney, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent trip to Colorado. We are very fortunate to be located just off I-80 as this does allow us to be very accessible. Along with our recent renovation, our diligent staff works hard to maintain a clean, comfortable, and pleasing environment for our guests. With respect to our bathroom amenities, our line of personal care items such as shampoo, lotion, conditioner are in the process of being updated. Our staff would have loved to have you stay longer, but know the importance of reaching your destination. On behalf of all of us here at the Holiday Inn Express, Kearney, we appreciate your feedback. Thank you again for selecting our hotel for your lodging needs and we hope to see you again on your return trip. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kearney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kearney

Address: 508 2nd Ave. South, P.O. Box 2558, Kearney, NE 68848
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Kearney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kearney
#7 Business Hotel in Kearney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kearney 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are coming to Kearney s Holiday Inn Express on business or just for fun you will find all the comforts of home, at one of the most convenient locations in the Midwest. We offer easy access to I-80 and are just minutes away from The Great Platte River Road Archway Monument. Holiday Inn Express Hotel Kearney has 89 over sized rooms, of which, 9 are suites with sitting areas. We have 6 hot tub suites and one meeting room. Exercise in our fitness center, go for a swim in our pool, polish that presentation in the business center or relax with a cold beer at our managers reception. All of Kearney s Holiday Inn Express guest rooms feature the following: free high-speed wireless Internet, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee-makers, large work desks, desk lamps, and 42' flat panel TV with HBO. We have a heated indoor pool and whirlpool. Free hot breakfast is available everyday with eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausage or bacon, fruit as well as many other items! If you re staying during the week make sure to enjoy our managers reception (Monday through Thursday 5:30 PM to 7 PM) which includes: free beer, wine and hors d'oeuvres and a Priority Club point drawing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kearney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kearney Hotel Kearney
Holiday Inn Kearney
Kearney Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Kearney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.