We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Beds Badly in need of Replacement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   224 2nd Avenue South, Kearney, NE 68847   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #3 of 22 hotels in Kearney
Bettendorf, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Beds Badly in need of Replacement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here in mid May on our way out to Utah, got in around 9pm, desk clerk was okay, polite. Starting with the positives, we had a quiet and clean 2-queen bed room on 2nd floor on the south side away from I-80. With not many staying here our room was very quiet. In spite of the quiet and my husband and I each having a separate queen bed, neither of us could sleep much, had a terrible night's sleep because the BEDS WERE SO SOFT, WORN OUT, SAGGING, providing no back support. How this place is getting #1 reviews is a mystery. Needless to say, on our way back thru Nebraska we stayed elsewhere and will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with newer beds, if they have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyk123, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
I'm so sorry that you had a bad experience due to our beds. We usually get compliments on our beds from guests. Again, I appologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    46
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
76
58
19
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kearney, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

After driving all day from Kentucky trying to get to Wyoming, me and the family decided to get off the road early and get some much needed Rand R. We chose Kearny and decided to use our BW rewards along with a little guidance from my trusted travel advisor app. Called the reservation center and was informed that the BW plus was fully booked, so we decided to give the less prominent BW in the same town a try. Upon arrival we were informed that the BW plus had the king bed we originally wanted after all, score. The hotel was all everyone said it was and more, the room was nice,clean and spacious. The internet worked like a charm, the pool and spa area was pristine and so relaxing. I have to say this is by far the nicest BW we've stayed at so far.If you plan to stay book early because there rep is no secret. I haven't had the breakfast yet but I'm already sold.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyk123, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
I'm glad we had the king room for you afterall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Iowa
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here becasue I had best western credit card points and it was a good deal. I'm glad- it was the nicer BW in town. Newly remodeled about 5 years ago. Pool and spa are 24hr access. Like other reviews- we also missed breakfast on Monday morning thinking it would go until 10 am, but it was over at 10am. (weekends go until 10 though) But the breakfast was decent- good waffle maker and a the regualr cereals and bagels. THey also had sausage and bacon one day and biscuits with gravy although hotel biscuits are never like home made. We had a comfy bed and clean room. My only complaint which I addressed for cleanliness was the bed skirt that had stuff on it. Nice cleaning staff- brought us extras when we needed things and informed us that if there are personal belongings on the bed they cannot make it (good to know). Side note- we were close to service door which was annoying in the morning to here clanging around. Front desk staff was very helpful when I wanted to use points to pay, and when our car needed a new wheel bearing our one night turned into 3 which was no problem. Got good recommendatiosn for the brewery in town. Good shampoo and lotion too! Pantene and Vaseline name brands.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the first floor rooms near the service door area. I was 144
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyk123, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Arn't Reward Points awesome?!? Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

After traveling to the west coast and back we found ourselves staying at this hotel. We were very pleased with the rooms, work-out room and the general feeling of contentment. The only thing we did not like was missing breakfast...it ends at 9:00 am to our surprise. Not everyone wakes up at the crack of dawn folks! Most hotels know this and extend their breakfast hours to 10:00 am for road weary sleepy heads like us.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyk123, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
I'm sorry about you not getting breakfast. Our hours are 6 a.m. to 9 am. on the weekdays and 7 p.m. to 10 p.m. on the weekends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark,Delaware
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

On our 3,000 mile trip this was the funnest hotel and went the most out of their way to please their guests. I'd also say these were the friendliest guests in a hotel that we came across. They had a social 2 hours and gave us wine and beer galore, every one met and talked, they had a great pool and hot tub though we didn't have time to use it. Our room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. The hotel was quiet so we got a great night sleep. In the morning they served us a fantastic breakfast, and I must say serve because their workers asked us if we wanted any more before they put things away. We give them a gold star for hospitality!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyk123, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
What a nice review...thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat rock,mi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

On a road trip just stopped in we were able to get a nice room.It was cleaned and updated.The breakfast was very good with hot food.It was close to town.The rooms were quite and clean,Area around hotel was nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, Iowa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This Best Western delivers the typical pleasant amenities and service one expects from a newer location. Breakfast was good. Staff was pleasant. The pool and exercise room was nice. The only complaint was that the beds could have been better (our was sunken in the middle). The price was good but not great, but we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyk123, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We hope to see you back soon. Our beds were new in 2010 but I will check your room to determine if the mattress needs replaced. Thank you for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites

Address: 224 2nd Avenue South, Kearney, NE 68847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Kearney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 hotels in Kearney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Mid Nebraska Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.