We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for family staycation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Desaru Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lotus Desaru Beach Resort to your Saves list
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Lot 1854, Jalan Desaru | Bandar Penawar, Bandar Penawar 81930, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great for family staycation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

They offered apartments from studio size to big family size. The rooms are old and things are breaking apart, so don't expect any five star living standard. The rooms are filthy and water heaters were broken. Power tripped a few times on first day of stay.

One thing good are their staff services, fast on calls and they were helpful. That really made up for the lousy rooms.

The resort is big, walking from reception to your apartment seems impossible. Thank god they provide in-resort shuttle buses that go round trip, save you the effort for walking.

The swimming pool is awesome! My children loved it!

Room Tip: Don't go during peak period, they will serve lousy breakfast on busy days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    219
    228
    58
    34
See reviews for
321
80
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I spent my Deepavali public holiday weekend with my family at this resort, it was less than an hour drive from JB, so the traveling process is not really tiring (for those from JB) using the Senai-Desaru expressway.

The resort was huge with many blocks within the compound. I booked a one bedroom suite for my family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids) with an extra bed. The room is designed with bedroom at higher floor and lower floor is the living room with a small dining table and a kitchenette. A microwave and mini fridge are available. The furniture looks a little aged but overall the room is clean and cosy with air conditioner at both upper and lower floors. My room is at the highest floor, the view was good with a little seaview from the balcony. TV channels are acceptable with CNN, Nat Geo, Carton Network and a few other cable stations, plus all local and Singapore channels. However, there is NO WIFI in the room, wifi is only available free for hotel guest at hotel lobby area. Also, another drawback is the low pressure in the water shower in the bathroom resulting longer time for shower and unsatisfying shower experience though the water temperature is all right.

The beach is long with a number of activities offered by the resort. The sand is not that white and fine, due to it long and wide beach area, it is good for sandcastle building by the children. My kids enjoyed it most! However, the water is not crystal clear and dirty, don't ever let your kids play with the water.

The breakfast experience was terrible...perhaps due to the large crowd during the public holiday weekend, long queue everywhere for food. I believe due to mass cooking for the crowd, the food quality is not up to a 4-star resort standard. The beverage i.e. coffee and juices are very diluted.

If you wish to have seafood dinner, I suggest you drive to Sungai Rengit (or Pangerang) area for very good, fresh and reasonable priced seafood dinner, which is about 25-30 km away down south from the resort.

There is a gym, 2 swimming pools and a water theme park in the resort specially for the kids. You need to purchase entry ticket (RM5/person) for the additional heads in your room (free for 2 adults per room only). Kids would enjoy very much at the water park, but water is not clean as many tends to jump into the water with clothes on.

Overall, this is resort is good for family vacation with kids for a weekend breakawy. The town itself has no other activities and entertainment. It is a quiet and sleep town!

Room Tip: If you book 1 bedroom suite, choose room at high floor and avoid the blocks facing water park if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a big resort, but it was only 40% full when we were there so it wasn't too busy. The accommodation is very cheap and there are all types of rooms to suit everyone. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with separate living room and 2 bathrooms, which was perfect for our family of 4. The room was very clean, spacious and fairly well equipped. I think it was very good considering the price (we got a 2 nights for the price of 1, so it was quite cheap).

The swimming pools are quite nice although not really up to modern 'resort' standard, but they are wet, cold and clean which is the main thing.

The waterpark is fairly small but perfect for our kids aged 3 to 6. I think kids up to age about 8 or 10 would be very happy there. It is not for thrill seekers but fun for the young and young at heart. There is an area full of small slides etc for little kids, a larger slide and the 'lazy' river, which is so lazy in parts you need to get up and walk!!

The beach is OK, not as nice as it looks in the pictures but it is fine. The waves are small so good for small kids and there is plenty of sand for playing in.

We didn't do it but there are many water activities available (eg jet-ski, parasailing etc) but it was very pricey.

The breakfast buffet was very good with a decent selection of Asian (Indian, Chinese and Malay) and western (croissant, bread, cereal, baked beans, sausage) dishes.

The dinner buffet was also good and well priced but is not available every night.

Eating a la carte was quite expensive, especially at the Rhu Bar. The Teratai Coffeehouse was cheaper although had a smaller range.

Other activities are paintball, massage and other spa treatments, amusement arcade etc which all cost extra.

Overall, a good getaway with small kids.

Room Tip: Block 'S' is closest to the pool, beach and restaurants. It was also pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Selangor, Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The kids loved it. Waterpark, beach, the night activity and crowd. However, since the price is considered cheap and the number of rooms were massive, we had to endure the crowd. Not a quiet peaceful holiday at all. It was like going to some theme park, but no complains from the kids so hubby and me are happy.

The bad was... Didn't manage to find our room the first time (very minor). The room has stairs leading up to the bedroom. Very dangerous if you have very small kids playing or running up down the stairs. Hubby almost tripped! (This was major).
Check out was horrendous. Line was too long so we decided to go for a drive first n come back to check out later i.e. at 2pm. But no late checkout charges were incurred.

We will come back though, with a safety baby gate at the bottom of the stairs! Couples, please stay away. Unless you want a preview of what a married life with children looks like!

Room Tip: Higher floors and not facing the water park. Too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JB
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed from 13/Oct to 15/Oct. The rooms were on promo and we paid RM280 for 2 night for the 1 bedroom apartment. It was a good deal and we had great time.

We had 3 small boys with us and they did fine with the mezanine stairs. We watch over our kids of course when they go up and down. The bedroom and bathroom are located on the mezanine.

The apartment is clean. All appliances worked well and our towels are clean. Some stain but it is clean. It was spacious. Enough for 3 adults and 3 children.

So far, we've been to a couple of resort around Desaru and Lotus is still the best in term of value for money and cleanliness.

The food spread is good for breakfast. Local delicacy and mamak style cooking. We enjoyed breakfast. Just pick your favourite.

As for cleanliness, over our 3 days stay, we saw workers cleaning the pool every morning, room cleaning daily and there are workers even sweeping sand at the Teratai restaurant...

We enjoyed our stay...and I am thinking of our next outing there...

Room Tip: Choose block G as it is nearer to a larger parking lot, closer to the beach and reastaurent. The 1 r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel has given the word "LOTUS" a bad name.
We stayed at the apartments and the bedroom is on the upper floor.The staircase leading up is really dangerous.It is constructed at a very awkward angle and at some points you have to literally tip-toe because the wooden planks on the staircase are too close together. The towels in the bathroom are heavily stained.The room phones are on the lower floor,if you receive a phone call you have to come down the treacherous stairs to answer the call.I tried to remove the phone,to bring it up to the bedroom,the line on the wall cannot be removed.(there is a jet available on the wall in the bedroom)The water in the water park is very cloudy.The reason is guests are allowed into the waters fully clothed.We saw ladies fully clothed from head to ankles and gents with tee-shirts and long pants in the waters in the water park.We were served buffet dinner which they (Lotus Desaru) call it international dinner.I must say that the dinner is far from International.The food is tasteless.After dinner came back to our apartment and could not open the main door after tapping the card key on the door.(funny sound coming from door mechanism).Could not find a soul anywhere.Fifteen minutes later found a hotel staff and he called the maintenance guy on the walkie-talkie.The maintenance guy arrived in about 15mins time with a couple of "A A" batteries. He said that is is common practise that the door mechanism has a funny sound due to weak batteries.According to him,The Lotus only uses poor quality batteries in its doors.Depending on usage(opening the door)the batteries needs to be replaced in 2 to 3 weeks time.Imagine being stranded outside your room door(after paying top dollar) for half an hour because the Lotus wants to save money on inferior batteries.
The buffet breakfast is another so-called international breakfast.Asked for coffee creamer and was told they only supply milk.Ordered half boiled eggs in the egg station and was given sunny side up eggs.I asked the waiter and he told me, that is half boiled eggs.I was afraid to ask for local breakfast after seeing their international standard.I think i don't need to elaborate on the taste of the breakfast.On the beach which belongs to The Lotus,you cannot find One beach chair which leads to all the Guests sitting on the sand. Lotus claims that Wifi is only available at the front desk and you guessed it. Wifi does not work at all at the front desk.
With all this unpleasant happenings we endured during our stay in Lotus.Do you think we will go back there.
I DON'T THINK SO.

Room Tip: Cover yourself with a good insurance plan if you are going to stay in the apartments. (The wooden s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bandar Penawar hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed in this resort for 2 times and I want to go again. It is a nice place to relax and spend time with family. There a lot of activities for children. Swimming pools are good. Most of the rooms are clean. Though there is not much view of sea directly, still I would like to consider it as excellent because of the price and facilities they have.

Room Tip: Try to take the high floor rooms as those are more cleans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Penawar
1.1 mi away
Pulai Desaru Beach Resort and Spa
22.3 mi away
Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality
23.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
#21 of 300 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
TS Hotel (Scientex)
TS Hotel (Scientex)
#2 of 3 in Pasir Gudang
3.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
22.9 mi away
Changi Cove
Changi Cove
#129 of 300 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
22.8 mi away
Raintr33 Hotel Singapore
Raintr33 Hotel Singapore
#253 of 300 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Desaru Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Desaru Beach Resort

Address: Lot 1854, Jalan Desaru | Bandar Penawar, Bandar Penawar 81930, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Kota Tinggi District > Bandar Penawar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Desaru Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort invites guests to design the vacation of their choice in a tropical seaside setting - whether they fancy an activity-filled holiday, a relaxing retreat, or even a mix of a little business with pleasure on the side. It's not just a resort that you can relax and unwind, it's also a place where you can have fun with your kids and loved one. Try our 'splashtacular' Water Park specially designed for fun and excitement with your family and friends, don't miss to enjoy our Water Park that features Giant Coconut Fall, Lazy River, Aqua Play, Stone Bridge, Tipping Coconut with Kiddy Slide, Poolside Grotto, and Relaxation Gazebos. Aside from this, we have expanded our facilities to create more fun and activities for the guest. The 14 acres of Team Building Park, enjoy an all-out fun full of adventure and education. Our team specializes in organising team building activities such as water rafting, survivor experience, obstacle course, explorace, treasure hunt, paintball and more. Experience the nature of the forest with your friends with different activities such as bird watching, camping, jungle trekking and lake fishing. Be relaxed and unwind with our newly opened "Lotus Suria Ayurveda Spa", rejuvenate your body, mind and soul. Our Spa offers a unique blend of various treatments for the preservation of health and cure of diseases in a natural way that Ayurveda proposes. Of all those places you've been which attempted to blend nature with modern convenience, most could not live up to Desaru and the other remoteness along Malaysia's eastern coast. Yes, nearly the entire length of the Malay peninsular is pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lotus Desaru Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Desaru Beach Hotel Kota Tinggi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Desaru Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.