We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Desaru Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lotus Desaru Beach Resort to your Saves list
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Lot 1854, Jalan Desaru | Bandar Penawar, Bandar Penawar 81930, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great for a family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a big resort, but it was only 40% full when we were there so it wasn't too busy. The accommodation is very cheap and there are all types of rooms to suit everyone. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with separate living room and 2 bathrooms, which was perfect for our family of 4. The room was very clean, spacious and fairly well equipped. I think it was very good considering the price (we got a 2 nights for the price of 1, so it was quite cheap).

The swimming pools are quite nice although not really up to modern 'resort' standard, but they are wet, cold and clean which is the main thing.

The waterpark is fairly small but perfect for our kids aged 3 to 6. I think kids up to age about 8 or 10 would be very happy there. It is not for thrill seekers but fun for the young and young at heart. There is an area full of small slides etc for little kids, a larger slide and the 'lazy' river, which is so lazy in parts you need to get up and walk!!

The beach is OK, not as nice as it looks in the pictures but it is fine. The waves are small so good for small kids and there is plenty of sand for playing in.

We didn't do it but there are many water activities available (eg jet-ski, parasailing etc) but it was very pricey.

The breakfast buffet was very good with a decent selection of Asian (Indian, Chinese and Malay) and western (croissant, bread, cereal, baked beans, sausage) dishes.

The dinner buffet was also good and well priced but is not available every night.

Eating a la carte was quite expensive, especially at the Rhu Bar. The Teratai Coffeehouse was cheaper although had a smaller range.

Other activities are paintball, massage and other spa treatments, amusement arcade etc which all cost extra.

Overall, a good getaway with small kids.

Room Tip: Block 'S' is closest to the pool, beach and restaurants. It was also pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    203
    213
    56
    34
See reviews for
302
75
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Selangor, Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The kids loved it. Waterpark, beach, the night activity and crowd. However, since the price is considered cheap and the number of rooms were massive, we had to endure the crowd. Not a quiet peaceful holiday at all. It was like going to some theme park, but no complains from the kids so hubby and me are happy.

The bad was... Didn't manage to find our room the first time (very minor). The room has stairs leading up to the bedroom. Very dangerous if you have very small kids playing or running up down the stairs. Hubby almost tripped! (This was major).
Check out was horrendous. Line was too long so we decided to go for a drive first n come back to check out later i.e. at 2pm. But no late checkout charges were incurred.

We will come back though, with a safety baby gate at the bottom of the stairs! Couples, please stay away. Unless you want a preview of what a married life with children looks like!

Room Tip: Higher floors and not facing the water park. Too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JB
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed from 13/Oct to 15/Oct. The rooms were on promo and we paid RM280 for 2 night for the 1 bedroom apartment. It was a good deal and we had great time.

We had 3 small boys with us and they did fine with the mezanine stairs. We watch over our kids of course when they go up and down. The bedroom and bathroom are located on the mezanine.

The apartment is clean. All appliances worked well and our towels are clean. Some stain but it is clean. It was spacious. Enough for 3 adults and 3 children.

So far, we've been to a couple of resort around Desaru and Lotus is still the best in term of value for money and cleanliness.

The food spread is good for breakfast. Local delicacy and mamak style cooking. We enjoyed breakfast. Just pick your favourite.

As for cleanliness, over our 3 days stay, we saw workers cleaning the pool every morning, room cleaning daily and there are workers even sweeping sand at the Teratai restaurant...

We enjoyed our stay...and I am thinking of our next outing there...

Room Tip: Choose block G as it is nearer to a larger parking lot, closer to the beach and reastaurent. The 1 r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel has given the word "LOTUS" a bad name.
We stayed at the apartments and the bedroom is on the upper floor.The staircase leading up is really dangerous.It is constructed at a very awkward angle and at some points you have to literally tip-toe because the wooden planks on the staircase are too close together. The towels in the bathroom are heavily stained.The room phones are on the lower floor,if you receive a phone call you have to come down the treacherous stairs to answer the call.I tried to remove the phone,to bring it up to the bedroom,the line on the wall cannot be removed.(there is a jet available on the wall in the bedroom)The water in the water park is very cloudy.The reason is guests are allowed into the waters fully clothed.We saw ladies fully clothed from head to ankles and gents with tee-shirts and long pants in the waters in the water park.We were served buffet dinner which they (Lotus Desaru) call it international dinner.I must say that the dinner is far from International.The food is tasteless.After dinner came back to our apartment and could not open the main door after tapping the card key on the door.(funny sound coming from door mechanism).Could not find a soul anywhere.Fifteen minutes later found a hotel staff and he called the maintenance guy on the walkie-talkie.The maintenance guy arrived in about 15mins time with a couple of "A A" batteries. He said that is is common practise that the door mechanism has a funny sound due to weak batteries.According to him,The Lotus only uses poor quality batteries in its doors.Depending on usage(opening the door)the batteries needs to be replaced in 2 to 3 weeks time.Imagine being stranded outside your room door(after paying top dollar) for half an hour because the Lotus wants to save money on inferior batteries.
The buffet breakfast is another so-called international breakfast.Asked for coffee creamer and was told they only supply milk.Ordered half boiled eggs in the egg station and was given sunny side up eggs.I asked the waiter and he told me, that is half boiled eggs.I was afraid to ask for local breakfast after seeing their international standard.I think i don't need to elaborate on the taste of the breakfast.On the beach which belongs to The Lotus,you cannot find One beach chair which leads to all the Guests sitting on the sand. Lotus claims that Wifi is only available at the front desk and you guessed it. Wifi does not work at all at the front desk.
With all this unpleasant happenings we endured during our stay in Lotus.Do you think we will go back there.
I DON'T THINK SO.

Room Tip: Cover yourself with a good insurance plan if you are going to stay in the apartments. (The wooden s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bandar Penawar hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed in this resort for 2 times and I want to go again. It is a nice place to relax and spend time with family. There a lot of activities for children. Swimming pools are good. Most of the rooms are clean. Though there is not much view of sea directly, still I would like to consider it as excellent because of the price and facilities they have.

Room Tip: Try to take the high floor rooms as those are more cleans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

An average place to stay. Room is old and flooring needs care and cause safety concerns of loose tiles.The upper bedroom is a novelty with winding stairs but not good for seniors & very young kids.Breakfast has local variety but tasteless.Main highlight is the kids water park with the water slide.My kids did the slide countless times for 2 hrs causing me to have leg cramps after that. The coconut is also cool.Shot the paintball targets with kids & they enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Good for family vacation. Nice beach and few activity. Any activity need to pay even indoor. Hope this will be considered.family suit need maintenance such toilet flooded. Internet need pay but one device only allowed furthermore very very slow connection and advice do not subscripe.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotus Desaru Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Desaru Beach Resort

Address: Lot 1854, Jalan Desaru | Bandar Penawar, Bandar Penawar 81930, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Kota Tinggi District > Bandar Penawar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Desaru Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort invites guests to design the vacation of their choice in a tropical seaside setting - whether they fancy an activity-filled holiday, a relaxing retreat, or even a mix of a little business with pleasure on the side. It's not just a resort that you can relax and unwind, it's also a place where you can have fun with your kids and loved one. Try our 'splashtacular' Water Park specially designed for fun and excitement with your family and friends, don't miss to enjoy our Water Park that features Giant Coconut Fall, Lazy River, Aqua Play, Stone Bridge, Tipping Coconut with Kiddy Slide, Poolside Grotto, and Relaxation Gazebos. Aside from this, we have expanded our facilities to create more fun and activities for the guest. The 14 acres of Team Building Park, enjoy an all-out fun full of adventure and education. Our team specializes in organising team building activities such as water rafting, survivor experience, obstacle course, explorace, treasure hunt, paintball and more. Experience the nature of the forest with your friends with different activities such as bird watching, camping, jungle trekking and lake fishing. Be relaxed and unwind with our newly opened "Lotus Suria Ayurveda Spa", rejuvenate your body, mind and soul. Our Spa offers a unique blend of various treatments for the preservation of health and cure of diseases in a natural way that Ayurveda proposes. Of all those places you've been which attempted to blend nature with modern convenience, most could not live up to Desaru and the other remoteness along Malaysia's eastern coast. Yes, nearly the entire length of the Malay peninsular is pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Lotus Desaru Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Desaru Beach Hotel Kota Tinggi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Desaru Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.