We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort for family stay and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Desaru Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lotus Desaru Beach Resort to your Saves list
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Lot 1854, Jalan Desaru | Bandar Penawar, Bandar Penawar 81930, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great resort for family stay and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed in this resort for 2 times and I want to go again. It is a nice place to relax and spend time with family. There a lot of activities for children. Swimming pools are good. Most of the rooms are clean. Though there is not much view of sea directly, still I would like to consider it as excellent because of the price and facilities they have.

Room Tip: Try to take the high floor rooms as those are more cleans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    168
    186
    44
    28
See reviews for
254
57
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

An average place to stay. Room is old and flooring needs care and cause safety concerns of loose tiles.The upper bedroom is a novelty with winding stairs but not good for seniors & very young kids.Breakfast has local variety but tasteless.Main highlight is the kids water park with the water slide.My kids did the slide countless times for 2 hrs causing me to have leg cramps after that. The coconut is also cool.Shot the paintball targets with kids & they enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Good for family vacation. Nice beach and few activity. Any activity need to pay even indoor. Hope this will be considered.family suit need maintenance such toilet flooded. Internet need pay but one device only allowed furthermore very very slow connection and advice do not subscripe.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Room are quite old however still quite well maintain. If you are looking for a huge water park, your will be disappointed. The water park is quite a small one however definitely bigger than swimming pool. We check in on Sunday so the crowd is not so many. The buffet breakfast is a no no. The Chinese restaurant standard consider not too bad. Price a bit steep though. They have transport sending you around the resort. Good for retreat with big group of friend. If only one family is going then it can be quite boring.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Was meant to be a short getaway for my kids. Checked-in on Monday was smooth and quick. There were many blocks of building there. We stayed in the 3-bedroom suite. Overall was pleased with the cleanliness. The water Park was the only place where the kids enjoyed most.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My family of 4 adults and 2 kids stayed for 1 night in 2 1BR suites.

As it was an off-peak weekend, the crowd was ok. Check-in was quite smooth except for a printer breakdown. The customer service officer explained everything clearly on where to park, breakfast, the water park and stuff.

The rooms are old as the was a mild stench when we first entered. The wooden parquet floors creaked when stepped on. The taps are so stiff that makes it difficult to turn. The TV is still a 20" CRT... well, that explains it all.

The water park was great as my kids enjoyed themselves tremendously at the kampung slide and the colorful water playground. My wife commented that the water park is quite well maintained which I agree.

I tried the lazy river (operating hours 0900-1200 & 1500-1800hrs) with the rented buoy (RM7/day) and felt that the staff should provide some instructions on the correct usage. The buoy is quite small and therefore unstable. I flipped twice in the tube on my first try. Didn't inflict much self damage except for a few bumps which I brought back home. Of course subsequent rides were smoother.

Breakfast at the Teratai was... messy. Perhaps it was due to the size of the resort, the Teratai was very crowded like a market.

I may return for the Water Park but not sure if I will stay over again, unless there is a very good rate for returning customers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, Essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I stay a night in this resort and the rooms/apartments was like a maze. I never managed to find my unit at 1st try.

The lighting in the room was the only dim light from a bulb attached to a wall light. Need to switch on a bedside table lamp to enhance the brightness which only helps a little. My colleague's room shower was pathetic. It wasn't a shower' more like water dripping continiously.

All the rooms/apartment really needs some serious renovations. Parquet tiles was peeling off the floor.

Secondly, all 3 the eateries' environment in the resort has no air conditioned which means we're dining uncomfortably. The buffet will run out of food and took almost forever to top up if there's a busy crowd. Skip it if you can, as the quality of food was appaling as well.

Prices for the rides in the beach was ridiculously expensive. Totally doesn't worth it.

There's no wifi in the common area and 3G reception was bad.

The service of the staff was slow and undesireable.

Maybe, the only good in this resort was the shuttle bus. Quited a lot of it and they do arrive after a short wait.

There's plenty of resorts in Johor and I do not recommend this resort if you're paying that price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotus Desaru Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Desaru Beach Resort

Address: Lot 1854, Jalan Desaru | Bandar Penawar, Bandar Penawar 81930, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Kota Tinggi District > Bandar Penawar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Desaru Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, AsiaRooms, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lotus Desaru Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Desaru Beach Hotel Kota Tinggi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Desaru Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.