We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect spot.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Turret

Save Saved
You added The Turret to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Turret
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   712 Lake Hayes Arrow Junction Highway (SH6), Lake Hayes, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Lake Hayes B&B and Inns
Lincoln City, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The perfect spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We loved staying at The Turret. We were in the Turret room which has the most amazing view. We were there in September, so there was snow on all the mountains, yet the trees were in bloom on the property. Kim, was the perfect hostess and an amazing cook. We loved Arrowtown which was close and chose to have dinner there both nights. Our room was lovely, antiques and a huge bathroom with tub and shower. We will go back there everytime we are in NZ.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

What an amazing host Kim was. (Her husband and two lovely girls equally warm and welcoming). We had the blessing of staying at The Turret for 3 nights. Our room (we highly recommend "The Turret" which is the top floor) was huge with a sitting room looking out at the hills and her beautifully landscaped yard complete with roses and beebalm.

The breakfast was delicious and ready when we were. We awoke to lovely music and our tea and a host who made us feel we were staying with family. Kim went out of her way to make reservations for us (she is well connected in her community as well as with companies in surrounding areas for day trips) and made brilliant recommendations.

The location was perfect. Close to Arrowtown, where we took a stunning hike, as well as central Queenstown where we departed from for our jet boat tour up the Dart River.

We'll stay there again anytime we're in the area.
Another recommendation is dinner at Amisfeld which is just down the road from The Turret.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We came to NZ for a 3 week honeymoon and spent four of those days at the Turret. We wish we would have stayed longer. It was very good value for money especially compared to some of the other spots we stayed. We stayed in their mid-priced room. It was very clean and comfortable. The Turret has amazing views and the seems to stay there forever. Kim offerred to make us pretty much anything we wanted for breakfast. My favorite was the day we had Bluberry Pancakes and my husbands was the day we had Eggs Benedict. Kim and James recommendations for restaurants, hikes and wineries wer spot on. We did a few touristy things that we really enjoyed but also really liked just spending time hiking, eating and exploring the area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

What can I say, this was a very clean comfortable place to stay with absolutely amazing views. James and Kim were lovely hosts and gave some great recommendations for activities and resaturants. We are not big breakfast people so I contacted them for a no breakfast rate.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Kim and James are the best. They took care of me so well on so many levels that I did not expect. And, they are fun, smart, attentive people. They are also very professional and kind. I will be recommending their B&B to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

This is a very good place to stay! The only downsides are the street in front, even if the house is some strech off the road, no blends in the windows against insects and, as mostly in the south island, less personal contact to the hosts than in the north island. But still good advice on restaurants and sights. The rooms are immaculately clean and luxuriously equipped. We got to stay in the suite even though we booked the regular room for only a small extra fee. The view from the turret suite is absolutely stunning.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

Our stay at the Turret just outside of Queenstown, New Zealand was wonderful. We had traveled a long way from the US and were provided a warm friendly welcome by the owner's James and Kim Lazor upon our arrival. Check in was quick and they were able to answer some of our questions about the area. We had done quite a bit of area research prior to our trip but James and Kim we so knowledgeable about the area, local restaurants and attractions they were able to provide current up to date information on the area. Our room, the America's cup room, was clean, and quiet. One particularly nice amenity of our room is the walk out door to a sitting area overlooking their beautiful maintained gardens and a pristine view of Lake Hayes. The lake has a lovely well defined and quiet path. The price of the accommodations at The Turret were in line or below comparable places to stay in the area. Another great feature is the local bus does stop right out front of the house so transportation to Arrowtown and Queenstown is available and reasonably priced. Our breakfasts (with both a hot and cold choice) were served at a time convenient to our schedule and were delicious. We look forward to a future visit and have highly recommended The Turret to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Turret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Turret

Address: 712 Lake Hayes Arrow Junction Highway (SH6), Lake Hayes, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Lake Hayes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Hayes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Turret 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turret, featured in NZ House and Garden Magazine, is set in an award-winning landscaped garden at Lake Hayes, situated between Arrowtown and Queenstown with panoramic views across the lake to Coronet Peak. Accommodation is comprised of three guestrooms all with their own private bathroom and fabulous views. An open wood burning fire warms the guest lounge and breakfast is served in the guest dining room, which features stunning garden, lake and mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Turret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Turret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.