We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy but very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maagan Kibbutz Holiday Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maagan Kibbutz Holiday Village to your Saves list
Maagan Kibbutz Holiday Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ma'agan 15160, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ma'agan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy but very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here for two nights with our tour group, our one bedroom unit was very clean and quiet and the beach in the compound was right on the Sea of Galilee, we enjoyed the walk on the beach after dinner! I really like their food, not fancy but the salads were very fresh and I would say the best I've had comparing to several 4 stars hotels in Israel. I would like to come back to this place .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    40
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
35
13
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently with a tour group and was disappointed with food, as compared to our stay three years ago. Dining room is apparently being renovated, and the substitute location is crowded and has minimal selection of foods. Rooms are also looking pretty dated. I suspect 80-90% of their business is tour groups so they don't see the need to improve guest experience significantly. Too bad, because with their beautiful location this could be an exceptional place to stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nepal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

stayed here with tour group for 2 nights, setting right by the the lake is beautiful - but given our tours were from early morning til evening, didn't spend much time here, the facilities closed by time we returned from tour and our cabin was on the far side away from the lake.
location far away from anything, one night walked 20 minutes to nearest small group of shops as friend needed medicine from pharmacy
staff not very helpful
accommodation ok, nothing special
food selection very minimal on shabbat, and not great compared to other places we stayed on other night
wifi free in lobby area, no signal in rooms.
probably a good place for families wanting peace and quiet in country setting for kids to run around in, but not great for others

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Had stayed for a night at Ma'agan Holiday Village. Managed by the kibutz next door. had thought this was like a kibutz this, but this is more of a resort on its own. the rooms are like apartments - with a bedroom and a living room with a small kitchenette area. good for long stays. all rooms are on ground level, and you have a small lawn in front of your rooms. enjoy the open space. great swimming pool. also at the banks of the sea. as this is a kibutz concept - the breakfast is not very elaborate, but good. they have a general store within the resort for you to purchase stuff. overall its a nice stay. seemed a bit pricy though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

At first, I was disappointed not to be located in a waterfront chalet along with most of our party, seeing as we had all paid the same price. The robotic receptionist's response was "the hotel is full", but I soon realised this was untrue, as many chalets around me were unoccupied.

Taking an evening walk past the waterfront chalets I suddenly noticed 4 huge rat like creatures sniffing around the chalet doors. When we left 3 days later I showed the receptionists my photographs and asked what was this creature? One receptionist looked and wouldn't reply, the other said "nutria, water rat" and then went very quiet.

Our chalet had an odour - a cross between vomit and strong cleaning fluid. Even with the windows open, this odour which seemed to be on the sheets, clung to my nightdress until I washed it when I got home.

The worst thing for me was the food. Four members of our party ate out at the restaurant down the road after the first night, despite being tired and having paid for an evening meal. The vegetables were either out of a freezer or out of catering tins. Food was tipped into the metal serving trays like feeding pigs from a trough. We had no fresh green vegetables and the salad was cheap - no artichokes, asparagus, stuffed vine leaves, olives as we'd had in other hotels in Israel. The main course was luke warm and greasy, the soup was cold. The dining room was like a college canteen, suitable for backpacking students perhaps.

Had we not been part of a group, I would not have stayed more than one night. I very much got the impression that this badly managed kibbutz is trading wholly on it's great location, taking advantage of the fact that most of their clients are part of group tours - so you can't just check out and go elsewhere without inconveniencing the whole group. Therefore, they are able to feed you as cheaply as possible but charge a commercial rate.

Room Tip: large water rats hang around the waterfront chalets
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

On our tour of Israel, my husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. It was wonderful! Lots of food variety in their cafeteria. Rooms are quiet and relaxing. Very nice grounds to stroll around. Great swimming pool area. The Sea of Galilee was warm and the water clean and clear.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad spot for a room. It would depend more on how close or far away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Although the rooms are equipped with a kettle and microwave but there is a big but! Minimum was put in coffee, tea, sugar Fork and spoon, dish!!! Too bad the location is very good place but the total cultivated in a neglected Breakfast needs improvement

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maagan Kibbutz Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maagan Kibbutz Holiday Village

Address: Ma'agan 15160, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Jordan Valley > Ma'agan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ma'agan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maagan Kibbutz Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maagan Kibbutz Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maagan Holiday Village Hotel Jordan Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maagan Kibbutz Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.