We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bear's Paw

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Bear's Paw to your Saves list
The Bear's Paw
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   School Lane, Warmingham CW11 3QN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Warmingham B&B and Inns
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly and excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We arrived with puppy, and were made to feel welcome. The bedroom was spacious and well furnished. Dinner and breakfast were very good. What distinguishes this hotel is the consistently helpful manner of all the staff. The whole experience at a busy time of year was most pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    72
    15
    8
    7
See reviews for
79
234
8
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We recently held our wedding reception at the Bears Paw on the evening of the 29.12.12 and we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. The Assistant Manager Kayleigh and her team had decorated the room beautifully. Nothing was too much trouble and the service was impeccable. The food was to die for and all our guests commented on how good it tasted. Thanks to head chef Mark and his team.
The rooms are of a High standard and beautifully decorated. A truly comfortable nights stay.
Breakfast the following morning is of a very high standard and the Full English comes highly recommended.
Many thanks to Manager Mike, Ben, Kayleigh and all the team at the Bears Paw for their hospitality and for making Our Wedding Day so memorable.

Room Tip: Room 9 is amazing!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed for the Christmas holiday, arriving Christmas Eve and leaving on 27th. We received a very warm welcome and were shown our rooms.The rooms were comfortable, with an excellent shower over the bath and lots of good Aran Aromatics toiletries. The only annoyance was that the TV was not on a pivot arm so very difficult to watch unless in bed, so we moved the sofa to a better position. My husband was disturbed at night by the smoke detector above the bed that had a very bright flashing light that went off every few seconds, but it did not bother me. Since a major fire four years ago they are very safety conscious, and when my son commented that his room smelled as though someone had been smoking, they took it very seriously and said they would charge the previous occupants for deep cleaning, and offered to move him.

Sadly, as we had booked late (second week in November!) the restaurant was fully booked for Christmas Day, which was a disappointment and it was surprising that the hotel had no availability for guests staying several days. We were however offered a Deli Platter for Christmas Day evening, delivered to our room. This was huge, with cold meats, pickles, salads, cheeses and bread and a nice touch.They were also happy to provide an ice bucket and glasses for our own wine, and we received chocolates and miniatures as a Christmas gift.

Meals were all excellent, starters unusual and varied, and a large selection of main courses that were generous and well presented. We especially enjoyed the Steakstone fillet steak which you cook yourself on a very hot lava tile. The meat was delicious and it was good fun and different! The haddock and chips must have been the biggest ever! At this season you have to expect temporary staff, but our waitresses were helpful and attentive and we had good friendly service, with very little wait.

Breakfast was generous, with fresh fruit, a variety of home made muesli mixes, juices, croissants and pastries laid out. The cooked English breakfast was enormous, with the best Bury black pudding I have tasted, and excellent sausages too. Proper porridge was served too and my husband's smoked haddock and poached eggs was delicious. Coffee refills were promptly brought, and extra toast.

We really enjoyed our stay here, and felt the staff had been very helpful and friendly, the food very good and the atmosphere cosy. We will certainly visit the hotel again.

Room Tip: The church clock chimes on the hour all night so ask for a room at the back if you are a light sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Dined at the Bears Paw on Sunday the 21st December as part of a family of four. We arrived at 8.30pm which was the booking time; the restaurant was busy however most diners were coming to the end of their meals. We struggled to get any servicing staff / management or bar staff to notice our arrival, it took until 8.45pm until we were seated, and no drinks were offered during this time.

Service when seated initially improved food and drinks order were taken within 10 minutes of being seated. Starter and main courses arrived in a timely fashion. Food was very good, in fact almost excellent. I had the Scallops and the Lamb, both dishes were first class.

Service fell down again after the mains had been serviced, by which time the restaurant area we were seated in was empty, no serving staff enquired if the meals were ok and a little more annoying; I had to queue at the bar to get a second drinks order. The 3 bar staff serving appeared to be all serving one customer, and joking about with a large amount of cash which a customer had given them. All 3 counted the cash and then recounted it, laughing and giggling all the time. After about 5 – 7 minutes wait I was taken pity on by an off duty member of staff who took my drinks order and promised to give it to a member of staff when they became free, it arrived about 10 minutes later.

The plates from the main were still on the table a full 30 minutes after we had finished dinning, we received no enquiry from any member of staff. I again had to go searching for a member of staff to take the plates and take our desert order. I was so annoyed at this point that I didn’t order a desert or any coffee, my family was laughing off the appalling service, I on the other hand as the bill payer was extremely agitated.

I was told the deserts were to the same good standard as the starters and mains, I did attempt to make a complaint to our now waitress who informed me that the lack of service often happens in this part of the restaurant? When paying the bill I was asked by another member of staff “was everything ok” I answered that the “food was very good but the service was atrocious” this was meant with total silence and no apology offered.

In summary; a real shame about this place, food was faultless and offered good value for money however the diabolical service totally spoilt the whole experience. I know hotels and restaurant are busy at Christmas and I do make an allowance for this. The Bears Paw however took poor service at Christmas into another dimension; this wasn’t due to busy staff but poor management. I can’t recommend this place to anyone and will not be returning. Staff at the average McDonalds have more of a clue about customer service than those at the Bears Paw and certainly a better work ethic. One to avoid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We have stayed at the Bear's Paw a couple of times and were not disappointed on either occasion.

The rooms are beautifully appointed and very comfortable.

The restaurant is great, the food is all first class and the staff very professional.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We went there for an anniversary dinner recently which coincided with the Christmas festivities and it was very busy - which speaks for itself really in terms of its popularity. We chose mostly from the Christmas menu and were not disappointed. The food was good, the service was quick and efficient and the cost, probably because we ate from the fixed menu, was reasonable. The portions were not overly large, but adequate and nicely cooked and presented.

The surroundings were good as the place was decked out for Christmas and the building inside and out looked attractive.

One criticism is that because we were a couple dining on our own, we felt slightly overwhelmed by the large parties of Christmas diners. It might be a good idea if there could be a section where couples dining alone could be separate from the large parties.

On the whole it was a pleasant dining experience and will probably go back there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Pleasant room, friendly staff, great atmosphere in the restaurant and good food we especially enjoyed the breakfast all in a beautiful location. We very much enjoyed our nights stopover at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bear's Paw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear's Paw

Address: School Lane, Warmingham CW11 3QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Warmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bear's Paw 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th century character inn situated in the picturesque village of Warmingham. Accessible from the M6 and strategically placed between three market towns; Sandbach, Middlewich and Crewe. The luxurious boutique style bedrooms with exquisite decor and furnishings are the ideal haven for a peaceful nights rest. This charming, yet stylish, gastro inn uses only the freshest and most seasonal produce which is locally sourced wherever possible and features six real ales from local micro breweries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Bear's Paw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bear`s Paw Hotel Sandbach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bear's Paw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.