We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2503 S. Locust, Grand Island, NE 68801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Grand Island
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2007

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for one night while traveling on business. I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. I had been told previously that hotel was just so-so. From the outside of the hotel I was a little worried. It appeared to be an older hotel. The lady at the front desk was very friendly. My room was actually very nice. It appears that the hotel was recently renovated. There was a slight upscale feel to the inside of the room. There was a clean feel to my room, and it was spacious for a standard room. There was tile and nice features throughout the room, including free Internet. Overall, I rank this hotel as above average. I paid a very reasonable room rate. I did get a chance to look at the pool area, and it looked very nice. Much nicer than I had expected. I recommend this hotel. I would like to mention a couple of negatives. The breakfast wasn't very good and I don't think the hotel has an elevator, although it is only two floors so it's not that bad.

  • Liked — Value, Renovation
  • Disliked — Breakfast- Room Service
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    22
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
8
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2006

We stayed in six hotels as part of a long road trip we were taking and I would have to say that this was my favourite of them all.

The staff were very friendly, cheerful and helpful.

The room was spacious, clean and the bed was very comfortable. I slept like a log.

Although I didn't take advantage of it, the pool and hot tub both looked very inviting and well maintained.

The bar in the hotel was also a nice place to go and relax and the bartender was also very friendly and conversational.

I think the only minor little gripe I have would be that the room numbering was a bit confusing....but that might be more a reflection of me rather than the hotel !

  • Liked — The room / The staff
  • Disliked — there is nothing not to like about this hotel
  • Tips/Secrets — stay here!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, IL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Grand Island for one night on August 10th on our way to Colorado for a vacation. We were very happy with the hotel. It is a few minutes (less than 10) off of the I-80 exit, but well worth the short drive.

The hotel is either newer or newly renovated, and very clean. The holidome features were great after a long day on the road. Front desk service was courteous, and helpful with restaurant recommendations.

The hotel was also a very good value, as the rate was less than $70.

A very good experience overall.

P.S. If you're looking for a nearby restaurant, try Uncle Ed's Steakhouse. The hotel recommended it, and we enjoyed it. My wife, one of my sons and I had the filet mignon, and it was excellent. My other son had the ribs, which were good as well. The bill was a little higher than what I expected for Grand Island ($100 for dinner for four with two drinks before tip), but I felt it was worth it.

  • Liked — Value
  • Tips/Secrets — Try Uncle Ed's Steakhouse nearby!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2006

Very very clean, Friendly front desk clerks, Good food, Awesome pool area, Holidome which was a big plus, and "Wireless internet" which was a great bonus! Wonderful place to unwind after a long day of driving. Will return, if ever in the area again.
AWESOME!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, TX
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

We've stayed at this hotel back in December 2004. It was nice and friendly with accomodating staff. Nice indoor pool area (from the Holidome days) along with restaurant and nice bar.

We stayed here again in June 2006 and WOW!, major rennovations! New carpeting and updated decor throughout the entire motel. Staff was still painting during our stay. During our recent stay, staff was extremely courteous and always greeted us with a "how are you sir?" or "Can I help you with something?". Our room had an entrance from the outside as well as the inside. The outside entrance made it very easy to unpack and load our vehicle.

Desk clerk gave us free drink coupons to Images, the motel bar which is a hopping place during happy hour! Didn't eat at the restaurant but it looked very nice and busy during operating hours.

Will definitely stay here again when in Grand Island.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2006

We stay here quite a bit for business travel. They have always taken great care of us, and always try to make everything perfect. The rooms have recently been remodeled and I prefer the executive suites (king bed, mini fridge, & desk). This is the cleanest hotel in Grand Island and Sam at the front desk is wonderful! Also, be sure to become a Priority Club member and receive even more perks (milk & warm cookies delivered to your room in the evening). The hotel lounge (Images) is also fun on the weekends!

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown

Address: 2503 S. Locust, Grand Island, NE 68801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nebraska > Grand Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Grand Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Concerts, sporting events, water parks, shopping, and 200 years of history are within 10 minutes of a great hotel guests love in Grand Island, NE. Midtown Holiday Inn Hotel places you minutes from area attractions including Island Oasis Water Park, Stuhr Museum, and the Nebraska Bird Observatory at Crane Meadows. Our hotel is also the central location for guests visiting our local businesses such as Case IH, Chief Industries and Swift. If shopping is what you are looking for Grand Island is Nebraska's third largest retail center. Grand Island is home to Conestoga Mall, as well as many specialty stores and several large national chain stores.Our hotel has 197 beautifully decorated guestrooms, which include 6 suites, each of which is equipped with free high-speed Internet capabilities. 125 Rooms come with microwave/refrigerator units. The hotel has more than 13,500 square feet of meeting and banquet space, which can serve groups from 10-500 people in size. For your enjoyment we have an indoor pool, whirlpool, 5 hole mini-golf course, and pool table. Stop by our Terrace Restaurant, where kids 12 and under eat free for breakfast or dinner. Unwind at Images Lounge, located inside the hotel, with one of their nightly specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown Hotel Grand Island
Grand Island Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.